

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #41 (permalink) |
| Senior Exclusive Member Last Online: Today 07:10 AM iTrader: (46) Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,737
DNF$: 1,239 Location: www
Country: | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? true, I agree with your intuitive ideas but how would you enforce this upon registrars. In my opinion the success of such a policy can only be guranteed if only it originates from a powerful over arching body like ICANN which I am inclined to think would not be willing to get dragged into it anytime soon!!!
__________________ Always buying .COM revenue type-ins. PM me! |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #42 (permalink) | |
| DNF Addict Last Online: 10-26-2009 12:14 PM iTrader: (148) Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,799
DNF$: 2,624 Location: Geneva, Switz. | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? Quote:
__________________ Most my domains have expired or been stolen. | |
| | |
| | #43 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 05:38 PM iTrader: (34) Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,574
DNF$: 922 Location: A-Team Fool!
Country: | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? all I can say is 30,000,000 new names a month are registered. If you dont buyem fast someone else will. |
| | |
| | #44 (permalink) |
| Name: Andrew Last Online: Today 05:39 PM iTrader: (104) Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,821
DNF$: 558 Location: Canada
Country: | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? Scary thought, hopefully where i search is ok!
__________________ Alternative Energy / Green / Eco Domain Sale! |
| | |
| | #45 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Dave Zan Last Online: 11-12-2009 09:55 PM iTrader: (1) Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,663
DNF$: 0 Location: Manila | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? A registrar's CEO confirmed at least one web-based site that's "clean": www.iwhois.com I use this myself since it shows both registrar and registry data, especially for .com. So far so good, none of the available names I've seen are taken soon after.
__________________ Vidi, Vici, Veni! |
| | |
| | #46 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Steve Last Online: 10-08-2009 10:14 AM iTrader: (1) Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 373
DNF$: 85 Location: United Kingdom | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? Adding noise to a whois lookup is a very good idea... Wouldnt having a whois search behind a encryption do the same job? like you do when you enter credit card details on a site? If so then maybe this is the way forward.
__________________ Lets keep the internet legal and fun! |
| | |
| | #47 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Daniel Last Online: 09-08-2009 09:26 AM iTrader: (23) Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,657
DNF$: 2,568 Location: NoWayOut
Country: | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? I use whois.sc they have a great service, someone here heard something about them?
__________________ Baby Wipes Israel Maps "It´s better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than open it and remove all doubt" Mark Twain |
| | |
| | #49 (permalink) |
| Domain Buyer Name: Hal Last Online: 11-18-2009 11:20 AM iTrader: (57) Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,730
DNF$: 120,139 Location: Las Vegas, USA
Country: | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? There could be a trojan on your PC. It is probably NOT the registrar's fault. |
| | |
| | #51 (permalink) |
| Name: Dale Hubbard Last Online: Today 04:07 PM iTrader: (45) Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,876
DNF$: 5,873 Location: Exeter, UK
Country: | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? I did post a safe way to do this earlier in the thread.
__________________ UK Drop Catching Services: Dropsystem.co.uk New! Canada TBR Drop Catching: Dropping.ca New! QUALITY MiniSites: NOTsoMINI.com |
| | |
| | #52 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 04-10-2007 04:52 AM iTrader: (1) Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 440
DNF$: 703 Location: USA
Country: | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches?
__________________ rules of DNforum google.com/support/webmasters/bin/answer.py?answer=35769 searchmarketing.yahoo.com/srchsb/sse_gl.php |
| | |
| | #53 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Paul Rogers Last Online: 11-17-2009 11:15 PM iTrader: (10) Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,251
DNF$: 0 Location: UK
Country: | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? Or Type in the domain, if its available add it to your cart and checkout asap.
__________________ Get your first month free at hostgator |
| | |
| | #55 (permalink) |
| DNF Member Name: Alexander Last Online: 11-15-2009 09:13 AM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 325
DNF$: 783 Location: Russia | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? Another story: "Whois Hijacking My Domain Research?": http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1895,1991365,00.asp
__________________ www.avensen.com -- domain name search software |
| | |
| | #56 (permalink) | |
| DNF Member Name: Alexander Last Online: 11-15-2009 09:13 AM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 325
DNF$: 783 Location: Russia | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? Even officials from GoDaddy acknowledge that WHOIS queries from their site are being monitored by someone at the higher level of the domain WHOIS system! http://www.icann.org/meetings/marrak...dn-27jun06.htm Quote:
__________________ www.avensen.com -- domain name search software | |
| | |
| | #57 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? Quote: Hi, This is part of the problem. Companies like DomainTools and most Registrars don't believe Domain Spying is possible. They believe it is just coincidence. And they are so wrong. I remember reading of a woman who searched for a domain name for her business. It was something very specific like SallysOptical.com. The name was available. Two days later when she went to register the name, it was gone. And not regged by anyone named Sally or an Optician. Fortunately,the domains usually become available again within or just after 5 days. But the problem is most non-domainers don't know that. Happy Domaining but beware the because my feet are killing me today!Last edited by tricolorro; 09-02-2006 at 05:35 PM.. Reason: addition | |
| | |
| | #58 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? Quote:
Hey Dave, The only drawback is you can only search one domain at a time. Have some popcorn. Happy Domaining but beware the Patrick | |
| | |
| | #59 (permalink) |
| Gold Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 03:06 PM iTrader: (0) Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 34
DNF$: 2,433 Location: Mongolia | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? I'm having suspicions about domaintools, either them or my register . I doubt it's anyone there, someone probably is intercepting the searches. Not everything free I search for is regged of course, but if it has an ovt number it will usually get picked up a day latter ( and usually dropped). Too many domains are getting regged at the same time for it to be a coincidence . Being regged almost always by the same crew . |
| | |
| | #60 (permalink) |
| Dances With Dogs Name: info [@] gerry.mobi Last Online: Today 10:09 PM iTrader: (73) Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,306
DNF$: 25,529
Country: | Re: Is someone monitoring my domain searches? I'll have to look and see if I can find it, but there was an article published regarding this very thing. The author of the article used a website that was actually redirecting the information entered. To prove his point and make his case, he entered his full name. The result was it was available. Within a couple of minutes, he re-entered the exact same information and it had been registered. There is no coincidence to this. And I actually found a site doing this very thing the other night. There are not too many registrars or registration services that reg .us.com extensions. I am working on two projects that may require this. When I was exploring some optional wording (having entered the same letters in varying positions) all three times the domain name was available. When I finally selected the domain, it was regged. As well as the second. As well as the third. This is not a coincidence. It is my understanding that the redirected domain is registered and tested for traffic and usually dropped in a few days if there is no traffic. I didn't think it would be such a topic on this forum but I immediately thought about the article I referenced at the beginning of my comments. So, along with trying to find the article, I'll look back in my history and see if I can recover the bogus service and post it as a DO NOT USE example. |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Mega Liquidation | StreetPunk.net, AdSpaceDeals.com, MySpaceTips.com and More! | FuseFX | Domains for Sale (Domain Sales) - Fixed Prices Above $100 | 4 | 12-02-2005 10:01 PM |
| Mega Liquidation | CarsDiscussion.com, TheStyleSite.com, RateThemNow.com and other. | FuseFX | Developed Websites for Sale | 0 | 12-02-2005 06:05 AM |
| entreprenuer.info - many .info's (cheap! | pilky | Domains for Sale (Domain Sales) - Fixed Prices Above $100 | 15 | 07-21-2005 01:55 PM |
| Excel help Needed | DotComGod | Coding/Programming/Languages | 4 | 03-03-2005 10:26 AM |