Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Gold Forums > Domain Registration Discussion
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2009, 09:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
denny007's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 07:00 AM
iTrader: (40)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,445
DNF$: 10,356
Country:


What scam is this ? Someone creating new Moniker accounts with Enom data

On friday 6.2. 2009 I got automated emails from Moniker about two new Moniker accounts has been created. These two accounts used names, addresses and emails IDENTICAL with credentials I use at my two Enom accounts. One larger domainer confirmed me same happened to him. I asked Moniker - they know nothing about it (originally I thought Moniker is preparing to sell on Namejet).

Anyone else got same happened to him ? What scam it might be ?
__________________
I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
ThankYouDHL.com
denny007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 02-09-2009, 09:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:17 PM
iTrader: (394)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,903
DNF$: 4,071
Location: USA
Country:




Thanks for the heads-up. Definitely they're up to no good.
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
My Countdown Counting down to: Snapnames rebate hitting my mailbox
79 days 6 hours 56 minutes
Acro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Success Is My Only Option
 
Carter's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-21-2009 06:25 AM
iTrader: (43)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,231
DNF$: 27,103
Location: Italy
Country:


Never heard a scam like this.
It's the new frontier of scammers??
Oh s...
Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 09:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
denny007's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 07:00 AM
iTrader: (40)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,445
DNF$: 10,356
Country:


Quote:
Never heard a scam like this.
Well thats the thing I have no idea why would someone do that..
__________________
I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
ThankYouDHL.com
denny007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 10:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
TheBest.com
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Name: George Kirikos
Last Online: Today 02:56 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,206
DNF$: 866
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:


Some kind of identity theft scheme, perhaps, where people pretend to be you to buy domains, scam the seller, and tarnish your name instead of their own.
__________________
George Kirikos
Home Page
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
denny007's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 07:00 AM
iTrader: (40)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,445
DNF$: 10,356
Country:


Quote:
Some kind of identity theft scheme, perhaps, where people pretend to be you to buy domains, scam the seller, and tarnish your name instead of their own.
Well one of the accounts were for Mr. "Deleting Domain" from Zimbabwe...my Enom rubbish bin...so either those scammers are retarded or this is not it...
__________________
I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
ThankYouDHL.com
denny007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 12:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Dances With Dogs
 
Doc Com's Avatar
 
Name: info [@] gerry.mobi
Last Online: Today 04:53 PM
iTrader: (73)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,305
DNF$: 25,525
Country:



I was just unable to log into my moniker account and later had to confirm via email my log-in details.

Last week NameDrive got hit.

Something does appear to be going on at Moniker.
__________________



Conservative With A Conscience

Doc Com is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 01:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
DNF Regular
 
MonikerMan's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-04-2009 12:16 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 651
DNF$: 2,706
Location: Lauderdale By The Sea, FL

Send a message via ICQ to MonikerMan

it is possible to have anyone create an account in anyone's name if they have the info.

Denny, we have canceled the accounts and disabled them.
__________________
Monte Cahn, Founder / President, Moniker.com & SnapNames.com
Monte@Moniker.com
O - 954-984-8445
MonikerMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 01:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
denny007's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 07:00 AM
iTrader: (40)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,445
DNF$: 10,356
Country:


Quote:
it is possible to have anyone create an account in anyone's name if they have the info.
Denny, we have canceled the accounts and disabled them.
I know about one more person who got this happened, I am looking for more. The point here is to try to figure out what is this all about. It's a mystery.
__________________
I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
ThankYouDHL.com
denny007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 01:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
cleverlyslick's Avatar
 
Name: Ariel
Last Online: Today 03:43 PM
iTrader: (17)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 768
DNF$: 385
Location: New York


all this scamming is getting outta hand.where's the domain police when you need em!!!
cleverlyslick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 02:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Dances With Dogs
 
Doc Com's Avatar
 
Name: info [@] gerry.mobi
Last Online: Today 04:53 PM
iTrader: (73)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,305
DNF$: 25,525
Country:



Quote:
Originally Posted by cleverlyslick View Post
all this scamming is getting outta hand.where's the domain police when you need em!!!
Mexico City
__________________



Conservative With A Conscience

Doc Com is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com