Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name News
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2002, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
TrafficMonsterRRR's Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-27-2009 01:26 AM
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,415
DNF$: 2,340
Location: nevaeH emaN niamoD


Bogus Email Message Sent To AT&T Customers

SourceRNewswire
--------------------------
I feel for the owner of the domain name!
-------------------original text follows-----------------------------
Advisory: Bogus Email Message Sent To AT&T Customers
BEDMINSTER, N.J., Dec. 6 /PRNewswire/ -- This evening AT&T became aware of a fraudulent email scam involving a bogus email message sent to AT&T customers. The email address includes "att-global.com," and the email message itself states that AT&T needs certain information from customers in order to verify billing records. This message is unauthorized and should be disregarded. The requested information includes items such as social security number, credit card numbers, birth dates, mother's maiden name (a key password verification question) and "driver's licence" (spelled incorrectly).

AT&T Security has traced the fraudulent messages to an international email address known for this type of fraud, and has shut it down. However, customers should be aware that the bogus operation could resurface elsewhere. If any AT&T customer receives an email message that has "att-global.com" in the address and requests verification of billing data, they should not respond with any information whatsoever. Instead, they should forward the fraudulent email message to AT&T Security at security@att.com. AT&T has notified the proper authorities and they are in the process of investigating.

Logo: http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/19991018/ATT
__________________
Wholesale Domain reg. http://www.flynames.com -Free eNom Reseller Acc w/ $8.99 Retail:24hrNames.com --- $7.50 Reseller Acc www.NamesRus.net
TrafficMonsterRRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 12-26-2002, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-27-2009 03:38 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 756
DNF$: 1,232
Location: Madison, WI

Send a message via AIM to namedropper Send a message via Yahoo to namedropper

Assuming the message really came from att-global.com and wasn't forged, it's very likely that the person who registered the name did so with false info and a stolen credit card. The people trying to scam clueless AOL users out of their passwords using similar sounding domain names do that.
__________________
Dan Norder
Werewolves.com, Inklings.com, OtherWoman.com and more
namedropper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2003, 12:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-13-2009 03:36 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 590
DNF$: 105
Location: Boca Raton, FL

Send a message via ICQ to dtobias

As I always say, if big corporations didn't use huge assortments of domain names with silly variations on their corporate name for marketing-gimmick purposes, such scams would be less effective... if the only true AT&T sites were in att.com (and its subdomains), and the same for AOL sites in aol.com, Ebay sites in ebay.com, etc., then there'd be less "mileage" in scamming through the use of "ebay-support.com" and so on... users can plausibly think that such domains are legitimate because many similar ones are actually used by the corporations involved.
dtobias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
sheepster
Guest
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 12-31-1969 07:00 PM
Posts: n/a
DNF$: 0 [Check]


very well said dtobias
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to edit your email confirmation to customers system0 Domain Registration Discussion 2 02-15-2004 12:38 PM
Beware Of Paypal Orders From Email Addresses From Another.com And Rock.com ??? ComScout.com Gold Cafe 24 02-01-2004 12:39 PM
Bogus Email Message Sent To AT&T Customers TrafficMonsterRRR Gold Cafe 0 12-07-2002 08:31 PM
Stop Spam Secrets Episode VII mole Gold Cafe 7 12-01-2002 08:15 AM
Alternative Actions for Remaining Bogus Sunrise .INFO Registrations DomeBase Domain Registration Discussion 11 11-15-2002 03:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com