Got one from Domain Registry of Canada (DROC) this week. No self addressed envelope included so I didn't mail their unsolicated crap back to them.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE![REMOVED BY DEVOLUTION - YOU DON'T DESERVE MY KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERTISE]
Last edited by devolution; 08-22-2003 at 06:06 AM.
Got one from Domain Registry of Canada (DROC) this week. No self addressed envelope included so I didn't mail their unsolicated crap back to them.
Domain Support Group (not sure if its the same firm as Domain Registry of America/Canada or not) called me on the phone asking for my fax number. They refused to say exactly why they wanted it other than important legal news re the possible loss of my domain.
A few days after I gave my fax number got an official looking fax from them claiming unless I reg'd my name with them in a different extension I may lose my dot-com name due to a possible Wipo complaint.
What BS, bordering on fraud. It's amazing they would go to the expense of calling and sending faxes.
P.S. As an interesting side note, they must have got my phone number from Whois so why did they call for my fax number when my fax number was on Whois anyway? What idiots.
Last edited by trader; 01-14-2003 at 11:23 AM.
Never thought of that but that makes sense. Thanks.Originally posted by BigFart Not idiots at all.
By calling they know they have a live body on the other end that may be concerned about losing their name. Closing ratio must be very high when they talk to you first and you give them personal info. Also, it is illegal to send unsolicited faxes. They got your permission.
You are right, it must work often for them to go to such lengths.
Domain Registry of America. I just threw away three or four of their letters. Ya, They are total scammy scumm. I wonder how many honest and naive people have fallen for their crap. Seasoned domainers aren't fooled but busy business people who had the name regged by their webmaster for them might be fooled. I hope someone pulls the plug on their scam!
If there is anywhere to sign a complaint let me know.
Think
AKA: C.T. Kirkpatrick
Sending unsolicted automated message to a fax machine is illegal in the United States
http://www.the-dma.org/library/guide...ingfaxes.shtml
You can obtain up to $500 damages for each violation.![]()
Damn thats hardcore -- beats out ppl sending similar emails to your whois email addy.
Put a blank sheet of paper inside the return envelope, slap a 1 cent stamp on each, and make them pay postage due!
If they are not operating a scam, the constant letters are certainly harassment. Why not fight back?
That seems a good plan. Tit for tat.Originally posted by DotComCowboy
Put a blank sheet of paper inside the return envelope, slap a 1 cent stamp on each, and make them pay postage due!
If they are not operating a scam, the constant letters are certainly harassment. Why not fight back?![]()
Genetics.us, Genome.us, Nanotech.us, CosmeticSurgeon.us
CellularPayments.com, ElectronicsEngineering.com,
HollywoodTimes.com, TechnologyTimes.com are on sale.
I got 2 from DROA today
I got another 4 today. }:<
I'm getting sick of ASA/CAPs excuses about 'they're sorting them out'. Yeah right.
I can't see why they haven't fined them, since they specifically have broken their previous orders to stop sending this crap out on multiple occasions.
Time for a class action folks?
Originally posted by Whois-Search
I got 2 from DROA today
2 for me today - both return envelopes were already sealed so I assume they've given up anyway (I didn't even own the names!). Posted both back without stamps.
I posted them back without stamps and with a copy of this inside :
"ASA slams 'intimidating' Domain Registry of Europe mailshots
By Tim Richardson
The advertising watchdog has ordered the Domain Registry of Europe (DROE) to stop issuing mail shots that "look like bills".
In a ruling published today against the domain registry outfit, the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) upheld complaints that the mailings "misleadingly exaggerated the importance and status of the content".
It also said that the content of the letters was "distressing and intimidating to recipients".
The direct mailings in question featured an image of the European Union flag next to the words "Domain Registry of Europe" and "IMPORTANT NOTICE".
Said the letters: "We understand that your domain name XXXX expires on XXXX. We recommend you renew your domain name at least 30 days prior to its expiration to avoid any 'Registrar Lock'.
"Should your current registrar lock your domain name you will be unable to renew your domain name at what are likely to be the new lower prices offered by our firm. Renew today to avoid being forced to pay higher prices.
Failure to renew your Domain name...may result in a loss of your online identity, which may make it difficult for your customers and friends to locate you on the Web...Deregulation of Domain name registration now allows the consumer the choice of their registrar...You are under no obligation to pay the amounts stated below, unless you accept this offer...This notice is not a bill, rather an easy means of payment should you decide to register or renew your domain(s) with us."
The ASA was unconvinced by the defence put forward by the DROE and ordered the company to withdraw the mailing.
Anyone who receives further misleading direct mailings from the DROE should contact the ASA.
In August The Register reported that the ASA was investigating the DROE over concerns that their mail shots "looked like bills".
DROA IS NEXT !"
4 more this week for me also. These were from dotregister domains, 3 of the names I havent owned in awhile also
I had 3 last week.. One domain I did not own
What morons.
-Bob
. . .
I got one a couple weeks ago. It had several domains listed in it. I guess their trying to cut back on how many letters they send.
After I check it out, it goes into my paper shredder for some slicing and dicing.
RMF
Got a few from DROA... they even send it outside the US ( Netherlands ) ...
I keep getting them in batches of 4 or say every 2-3 months, sometimes more often that that. Each time I throw them away. They must definitely be scouring the OpenSRS whois database. I got one or two FAX "warnings" about losing extra extensions.
~ Nexus
FreeWho.com - Free Internet Tools!
I never get one :(
I feel left out = (
Get an eNom resellers account free and instantly,click here - Automated Signup!
I'm feeling sorry for you nowOriginally posted by devildude8989
I never get one :(
I feel left out = (![]()
Nah .. it saves you time so you won't have to but those letters / faxes in your trash bin![]()
Bookmarks