Very interesting. That person had some solid sales in their portfolio, so one wouldn't think at first that it's a fake bid.
Definitely one to watch closely, as that would be their biggest sale ever, higher than engineering.org.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Very interesting. That person had some solid sales in their portfolio, so one wouldn't think at first that it's a fake bid.
Definitely one to watch closely, as that would be their biggest sale ever, higher than engineering.org.
George Kirikos
Home Page
reserve of $2,500... only two bids... second bid over $400,000...
does this make sense or is it fishy?
maybe someone has a big plan for the development for that name
OK, let's think about this. I believe the reserve is $2,500...
"What is the Reserve price? This amount is the lowest winning bid the Seller will accept for the domain name. The Seller establishes this figure when he or she lists a domain name for auction."
So the first bid would not be (much) higher than the reserve?
If the first bid is around $2,500 and there are only two bids... would anyone bid over $400,000 to follow up a bid of $2,500? I guess they *might*, but I sure would not...![]()
I do not want to jump to conclusions here, but it looks odd to me.
DomeBase: exactly, that's why caution is needed on this, as it is very odd.
It could be a case where the reserve was erroneous, and a private deal was struck directly between buyer and seller (and they're choosing to settle the transaction through Afternic).
If it is reported in the next URLY Indicator, then it should be legit.If not, they should kill the bidder's account...
George Kirikos
Home Page
Not a snowball's chance in you-know-where is this a legit bid.
Half a million dollars would buy you buddy.com and bud.com, with friend.com and pal.com thrown in for good measure.
Miles
Actually, since eBuddy.com is owned by Ultsearch, that high bid might have just been to get Afternic's attention, to remove the name from the seller's portfolio.
George Kirikos
Home Page
It would be more reasonable to assume that a party with the resources of 400,000., would have their attorney contact the owner directly and present an offer. Generally, the seller would be requested to sign a confidentiality agreement. I would trust absolutely nothing on Afternic, the company itself nor the individuals selling and bidding.
Hey - you've just slandered most of the people on DNF!!! :embarrassOriginally posted by StockPilot
.... I would trust absolutely nothing on Afternic, the company itself nor the individuals selling and bidding.
I did a private deal on Afternic, which did not show up for public viewing. I tend to agree about the strong smell of fish...Originally posted by GeorgeK
DomeBase: exactly, that's why caution is needed on this, as it is very odd.
It could be a case where the reserve was erroneous, and a private deal was struck directly between buyer and seller (and they're choosing to settle the transaction through Afternic).
If it is reported in the next URLY Indicator, then it should be legit.If not, they should kill the bidder's account...
quack![]()
This is a trap. If they think they are smart and someone will fall into it, they are mistaken. Anyone with even an IQ of 80 should be able to see through the game. And the same guy has purchased Only.us for $56,000 :--
http://www.afternic.com/index.cfm?a=...listid=2622934
Something is wrong somewhere or this guy has tonnes of $$$.
Genetics.us, Genome.us, Nanotech.us, CosmeticSurgeon.us
CellularPayments.com, ElectronicsEngineering.com,
HollywoodTimes.com, TechnologyTimes.com are on sale.
hahaha, I didn't know Ults sold any of their names.
If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon
I am not aware of the earth is rotating!Originally posted by mole
hahaha, I didn't know Ults sold any of their names.
Hey goh, I know I asked many times before, but what is the best way for me to get in touch with Ults if I am interested in buying, and what kind of entry price does he entertain?Originally posted by goh
I am not aware of the earth is rotating!
Thx.net.
If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon
Hiya.net mole, knowing the earth is rotating, does not mean know how it got rotated! :razz:
Actually, since eBuddy.com is owned by Ultsearch, that high bid might have just been to get Afternic's attention, to remove the name from the seller's portfolio.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Muuu .. hhhaa ... haaa ..
![]()
hmm...sounds like a case of mad cow diseaseOriginally posted by AMERICAR
Muuu .. hhhaa ... haaa ..
![]()
If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon
If you believe them you are mad ...
![]()
well
since the most probale mispell ebudy.com can be regged right now it would make you wonder why someone who had 400k wouldnt have cleaned up around a name he was going to bring so much attention to.
i am gonna bid on some of my names on an listed by others and then take phone off the hook
goh are you sure about that earth moving thing i missed most of school
ty
sean
Bookmarks