I just checked and it's true, way too funny.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Does anybody notice that if you have the .com domains with enom and the .info ones were available, then congrats that enom just registered the .info on your behavior but you can not see them in your enom account so far(and no charge for now, maybe they are under the free policy of .info).
Try to check the whois of some of the .info version domains which you own the .com ones.
MAP.TO
Short URL service for maps only.
I just checked and it's true, way too funny.
all registered via Sponsoring Registrar: Sipence, Inc. (R280-LRMS)
could be enom sister company and want's to increase their total number of domains at webhosting.info ? :-D
KuwaitNET Internet Services - www.KuwaitNET.net
Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - C.E.O.
Kuwait's First Hosting Services Provider since 1997, an ICANN accredited Registrar
Are you sure? It seems difficult to believe they would do such a drastic thing without permission to do so? Just checked several of my Enom com's and not true, the info's are not reg'd at all by me or anyone else for that matter.
You are not lucky maybe :-DOriginally Posted by RealNames
Anyway, most of those .info are worthless imo or they would have been registered long time ago.
MAP.TO
Short URL service for maps only.
only .com's i've just checked around 20 all .info's were taken but the rest weren't
seems they pick the nice ones only![]()
KuwaitNET Internet Services - www.KuwaitNET.net
Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - C.E.O.
Kuwait's First Hosting Services Provider since 1997, an ICANN accredited Registrar
EXACTLY! Without the registrant's permission, that registration is probably ILLEGAL. I can see a class action lawsuit coming.Originally Posted by RealNames
By the way, for those who are lucky enough to get this "bonus", don't be so happy: it's like having some unknown fund deposited to your bank account, which is seriously NOT GOOD. I suggest you complain to ICANN right away.
Profoundly influenced by #Bauhaus, @Nameslave unrepentantly embraces #Minimalism in his #multimedia portfolio. His early works include an experimental adaptation of Chekhov’s Cherry Orchard inspired at least partly by Robert Fripp. His totally irrelevant M.Ed. dissertation examines Organizational Culture and Change Management.
It doesnt look like they did this with mine?
Also, If you have thousands of names, it takes too much time to check.
How/when, were they thinking of notifying you?
Also, what if you have a name that has private identity in the .com version, will they reg the .info and let the whole world see it, thereby potentially blowing the cover on the .com version?
I dont mind as long as i know whats going on.
Seek... And you shall Find
They regged 90 % of mine also.
Funny,a few domains that I wanted to be reserved are not, and a few "mistakes" are.
I am looking forward for an explanation, as this very interesting.
It appears to me that they sorted my list of dot coms in alpha order , checked which were available in .info, and then reg'd ( using my details) every 5th available name including the first
Then the 2nd and every 5th until they reached 40 names registered
Why?
JOES.com.au Graduate of the DNF College
anyweb, can you see these domains in your enom account??
Seek... And you shall Find
NoOriginally Posted by seeker
JOES.com.au Graduate of the DNF College
One problem I see is that these names will be charged for at next renewal, and it will take extra effort to weed out any unwanted "free" names.
What's the point of enom registering .INFO under you when you can't manage the name?![]()
If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon
Still do not think Enom would do this. It also sounds illegal to reg names for someone else and big potential liability on Enom. i.e. pending WIPO case and they use the new registration of the .info name after the dot com dispute started as evidence or even file a new case to get the info also.
I would need to see actual examples to believe it.
example
131314.com
JOES.com.au Graduate of the DNF College
Not sure what you mean but would need your real name to check the com and info Whois. It is always possible that number name belongs to someone else or may have been actually reg'd by the owner.Originally Posted by anyweb
Plus with some extensions like US for some odd reason many long number names show in Whois as being reg'd when they really are not. Not sure if that is a bug or why that happens, has been going on since US started in 2002. Perhaps that also happens with .info?
I guess when Joe (anyweb) said that he didn't register 131314.info, we have to trust that he didn't. You are asking for an example, right?Originally Posted by RealNames
Profoundly influenced by #Bauhaus, @Nameslave unrepentantly embraces #Minimalism in his #multimedia portfolio. His early works include an experimental adaptation of Chekhov’s Cherry Orchard inspired at least partly by Robert Fripp. His totally irrelevant M.Ed. dissertation examines Organizational Culture and Change Management.
Thank you NS. Your trust is appreciatedOriginally Posted by nameslave
My whois info, like many DNF members', is real and easily verifiable.
The next one on the list of .infos registered in my name by someone else ( the experts say enom did it ) is bleufish.com
The Sponsoring Registrar of these new .infos is is: Sipence, Inc.
JOES.com.au Graduate of the DNF College
This is really bizarre. They did it to me too. I own anxietymedicines.com and now suddenly (as of 9/28) I officially own anxietymedicines.info also. Of course I didn't ask for it and gave nobody permission to buy if for me. I would think that enom could get in big trouble for this. In some ways it is a nice gesture on their part - but they are also over-stepping their authority.
If it's my domain, give me some control over it.
Bookmarks