

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #41 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 07:25 AM iTrader: (21) Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,070
DNF$: 1,397 Location: Hillsboro, OR
Country: | Quote: ![]()
__________________ Titan Icons | |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #42 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Brad Last Online: 02-11-2009 09:02 AM iTrader: (91) Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 841
DNF$: 188 Location: Philly
Country: | I find the panel's reasoning w.r.t. display advertising particularly disturbing; they are, in effect, arguing that ads create confusion in the mind of the consumer, but the targeting of those ads is under the control of the advertiser in the new Adwords and Yahoo interfaces... |
| | |
| | #43 (permalink) | |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | Quote:
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. | |
| | |
| | #44 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Chris Desouza Last Online: 09-30-2009 01:29 PM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 711
DNF$: 782 Location: New York
Country: | Why in such cases, the penalty is transfer of property? If the dispute is over ads related to keywords related to TM holder, a warning or even a possible fine will suffice. In this case, laying claim to ownership of domain is reverse hijacking. |
| | |
| | #45 (permalink) |
| The Bishop Last Online: 09-16-2009 03:42 PM iTrader: (117) Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,954
DNF$: 2,515 Location: UK
Country: | I think the case was well argued, the decision however was wrong. The panel seemed prejudice to the secondary domain industry, ignoring the key facts of the case and arguments and finding favour by bias and assumption.
__________________ Parked.com - The Valet Domain Parking That Pays |
| | |
| | #46 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member | Absolutely Bloody Ridiculous Somebody please answer this for me: If a generic word such as this can be "infringing" then ICANN has no valid grounds for introducing more extensions galore. Does that mean that no-one can own chillibeans.web? Does Live.web automatically go to Microsoft and does apple.web go to Mr. Ipod?Now this is going to get plain ugly. It seems that all future names already have a pre-designated owner. "This is my trademark. You can't have it. I want to step on everyone's toes because I am a 800 pound gorilla. You are infriging on my intellectual property." ICANN seems to only want to line their pockets. On one end they want to increase competition. On the other, the want to side with the 800 pound gorilla corps. The are pulling a parodox. Domainers are seen as the scum of the earth in many of the wipo cases that I read. What gives? |
| | |
| | #47 (permalink) |
| Internet Real Estate Last Online: 11-04-2009 05:27 AM iTrader: (2) Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 895
DNF$: 580 Location: USA
Country: | You can thank the chronic TM infringers for the bad reputation. Guilt by association.
__________________ PremiumDomains.biz BLOG | ColoradoSpringsApartments.com | Manhattan.mobi | California.biz | DETROIT.US |
| | |
| | #48 (permalink) |
| Last Online: Today 08:09 AM iTrader: (10) Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,640
DNF$: 13,855 Location: Athens Greece
Country: | It's not only domainers that get abused by UDRP. It's also small business users and other personal domain owners. No one is safe as it is. You can own a.com and still lose. Ridiculous. And all those crappy lawyers saying to clients: offer $1500 for xxxx.com or we will just go to UDRP and get the domain. I will start suing all the complainants. I will do it from now on.
__________________ www.bluepixel.gr I like .info! Now accepting .gr domain registrations from any foreign company or individual. Contact me for details. |
| | |
| | #49 (permalink) |
| DNF Member Name: Sean Last Online: 10-12-2009 12:50 PM iTrader: (21) Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 196
DNF$: 7,437 Location: Frankenmuth, Michigan | I'd probably type Chili Beans as Chilli Beans, several people would. Never heard of the sunglass company before, but I'd love me some Chili Beans for my Chili - Get in my Belly. Bogus, it would be different if it were ChilliSunglasses, Frank should keep his domain. |
| | |
| | #50 (permalink) |
|
Country: | I have no doubt Mr.Berryhill would win 99% of all cases on a level playing field. Thing is i also know Frank has wheelbarrows full of cash if need be, but I am right in thinking for this to get appealed it has to go to real court? i.e potential telphone number leagl bills? also does the loser pick up the ticket? ![]() Good luck Frank either way |
| | |
| | #51 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 01:07 AM iTrader: (1) Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 897
DNF$: 1,177 Location: Mexico
Country: | It was a tough case and sounds a bit "unfair" but.... why do we play the fool? That name was clearly monetizating with the traffic related to the Chilli Beans brand, not the chili, nor the beans, but the Chilli Beans brand.... the traffic source clearly show it. That was what the Panel saw. And chili, the food, is as I wrote it, with one "l", not two. However, an interesting note is that searching for Chilli Beans on Google returns a mix of sites half talking about food and half about the brand.... :( |
| | |
| | #52 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 11-05-2009 06:46 PM iTrader: (9) Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 630
DNF$: 191 Location: Switzerland | To help protect ones self from such attacks, it is always better to place yourself on higher ground, rather than lurch yourself above the misty waters of parking. Especially if your domain is profiting (or even coming close) from another entity's brand. Developing is not necessarily the only option. Creating a simple static page with a nice logo (ex. www.bmg.info ) will immediatly take you out of those waters that can suddently become stormy at unpredictable times. Of course, issues could still be raised - but the 'bad faith profit' allegations can never be used against you.
__________________ For sale for the 1st time: DVDDrive.com & DVDDrives.com - PM offers |
| | |
| | #53 (permalink) | ||||
| The Evil Mod Name: Ed Last Online: Yesterday 07:05 PM iTrader: (36) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,117
DNF$: 101 Location: South Florida
Country: | Quote:
![]() Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________ Get a Parked.com account today! What's on Draggar's mind? Find out at http://www.draggar.net I'm always looking for dog breed domains | ||||
| | |
| | #54 (permalink) | |
| Last Online: Today 08:09 AM iTrader: (10) Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,640
DNF$: 13,855 Location: Athens Greece
Country: | Quote:
Probably nothing. The worst it would happen is that microsoft will ask to remove the ads or maybe sue for damages. They can't come and take your whole business with an out of court arbitration process. Damages will probably be pennies compared to the value of the magazine.
__________________ www.bluepixel.gr I like .info! Now accepting .gr domain registrations from any foreign company or individual. Contact me for details. | |
| | |
| | #55 (permalink) | ||
| The Evil Mod Name: Ed Last Online: Yesterday 07:05 PM iTrader: (36) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,117
DNF$: 101 Location: South Florida
Country: | Quote:
Quote:
Our politicians are favoring to large corporations (and WIPO panelists are politicians, IMO). They'll favor large corporations like Microsoft, Target, Dell, but in the same act, screw over small businesses without even having a fraction of a thought (which, BTW, small businesses are the backbone of our economy, not large corporations). Also, WIPO panelists seem to be more likely to side with complainant since they are the ones paying (don't bite the hand that feeds you) and owning multiple domains (a.k.a. domainer) is usually viewed as bad faith by them right off the bat.
__________________ Get a Parked.com account today! What's on Draggar's mind? Find out at http://www.draggar.net I'm always looking for dog breed domains | ||
| | |
| | #56 (permalink) |
| Last Online: Today 08:09 AM iTrader: (10) Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,640
DNF$: 13,855 Location: Athens Greece
Country: | I was talking about a magazine. Not a domain.
__________________ www.bluepixel.gr I like .info! Now accepting .gr domain registrations from any foreign company or individual. Contact me for details. |
| | |
| | #57 (permalink) |
|
Country: | Frank, you're a working class lad done good, i respect you for it. Theres every chance you will keep the name. Lets face it, even our Queen over here in England is officially a reverse hijacker, even with all her cash ![]() http://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/d...2002-0754.html enjoy ![]() |
| | |
| | #58 (permalink) | |
| The Evil Mod Name: Ed Last Online: Yesterday 07:05 PM iTrader: (36) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,117
DNF$: 101 Location: South Florida
Country: | Nice find, Predator. Quote:
__________________ Get a Parked.com account today! What's on Draggar's mind? Find out at http://www.draggar.net I'm always looking for dog breed domains | |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |