Register Now for FREE!
03-25-2008, 12:21 PM
#1 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Yesterday 12:43 PM
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 490
DNF$: 272
Location: London
Country:
GTAFORUMS.COM GOES FOR $3.5 mil Nice money if you can get it - grats to the seller
EA GAMES bought it
jpg attached
http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/4971/lettereavx7.jpg
03-25-2008, 12:38 PM
#2 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: 09-21-2008 05:48 AM
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 288
DNF$: 616
Wait a second, didn't EA games offer to buy Take-TWO but Take-TWO declined? What are EA doing buying GTAForums.com if GTA is owned by Rockstar Games (Take-TWO)?
03-25-2008, 12:51 PM
#3 (permalink )
Name: Darren
Last Online: 10-14-2008 02:31 PM
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,739
DNF$: 6,462
Location: Iraq
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by
zymic Wait a second, didn't EA games offer to buy Take-TWO but Take-TWO declined? What are EA doing buying GTAForums.com if GTA is owned by Rockstar Games (Take-TWO)?
They saved a few hundred mil by buying gtaforums.com.
__________________
.::: e-nic.com :::. - semperfidelis.com - stow.org - curfew.net - parlaying.com - shopbooks.com - 775.org - marinecorps.org and more....
03-25-2008, 01:06 PM
#4 (permalink )
Last Online: Today 12:36 AM
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,736
DNF$: 1,470
Location: philadelphia
Country:
Thanks for the heads up RobMac. I just reg'd 2 gta names, if they pay off i'll throw some $ your way.....
03-25-2008, 01:08 PM
#5 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Yesterday 10:50 PM
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,249
DNF$: 0
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:
Why did they go after gtaforums.com and not gtaforum.com?
03-25-2008, 01:12 PM
#6 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 12:32 AM
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,055
DNF$: 43
Location: NY
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by
theinvestor Why did they go after gtaforums.com and not gtaforum.com?
GTAforum.com is a Parked page.
GTAforums.com must be making bank, 180,000+ members...
__________________
Traffic-Conditions.com | DrugTaking.com | File-Compression.com | Misanthropy.net 9 years old | TelevisionForum.net | and more at
Domain Name Store
03-25-2008, 01:12 PM
#7 (permalink )
Web Guru
Name: Dan
Last Online: Yesterday 06:09 AM
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 208
DNF$: 1,929
Location: Connecticut
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by
theinvestor Why did they go after gtaforums.com and not gtaforum.com?
gtaforums.com is an active forum.
03-25-2008, 01:46 PM
#8 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Yesterday 12:43 PM
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 490
DNF$: 272
Location: London
Country:
5k on alexa so its big ( but I am not sure about 3.5mill ) premium price
03-25-2008, 01:56 PM
#9 (permalink )
Acro.net Αdministrator
Last Online: Yesterday 11:38 PM
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,147
DNF$: 15,976
Location: Domainistan
Country:
Luckily, Adam owns DNForums.com
__________________
Acroplex.com • Professional Web & Graphics development
03-25-2008, 02:04 PM
#10 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Yesterday 03:27 PM
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 232
DNF$: 50
Nice. With that kind of alexa even on games/forums sites they'll have been making $100k a year from them at least I recon (check out whole network and the sites alexa). Nice sale still.
Also forums sounds better than forum imho.
__________________ [size="1"]Sean Spurr. Craziness.com WindowsForums.com
03-25-2008, 02:44 PM
#11 (permalink )
PURE SAVAGE
Last Online: Yesterday 06:02 PM
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,534
DNF$: 5,921
Location: kalifornia
Country:
wasn't it trademarked? so why did they pay?
__________________ I failed over and over and over again, that is why I succeed.
03-25-2008, 04:20 PM
#12 (permalink )
DNF Addict
Last Online: 10-14-2008 01:53 PM
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,266
DNF$: 5,224
they didn't pay for the site, they paid for the members
__________________
BobGuzzo.com
domains.
My Countdown Counting down to: Anniversary of leaving my mom's uterus 63 days 0 hours 23 minutes
03-25-2008, 04:27 PM
#13 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Yesterday 12:02 AM
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,609
DNF$: 1
Location: Australia
Country:
Nice sale, but it's hardly based on the value of the domain.
03-25-2008, 04:39 PM
#14 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: Tim Schoon
Last Online: 10-10-2008 11:12 AM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 316
DNF$: 210
Location: Holland
Country:
I bet they just bought it to advertise their own products to 180k GTA gamers..
pretty great targeted visitors
__________________
Pej.com | iDam.com - offers welcome | Advising.com - coming soon
03-25-2008, 04:57 PM
#15 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: 10-03-2008 04:42 PM
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 132
DNF$: 2,154
Location: DNF
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by
robmac
Lol i uploaded that and showed to Ramon, that's where you got the link ey
? But i read on a place that it's fake, they didn't really buy it .
Too bad i can't find the link anymore.
Tho even if they didn't bought it ... nice viral for gtaforums.com LOL ...
http://www.alexa.com/data/details/tr.../gtaforums.com ... nice spike.
03-25-2008, 05:02 PM
#16 (permalink )
Name: Rus
Last Online: Yesterday 11:28 PM
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 864
DNF$: 3,494
Location: Hawaii
Country:
Develop it and they will buy.
03-25-2008, 05:08 PM
#17 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Yesterday 12:43 PM
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 490
DNF$: 272
Location: London
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by
assault Lol i uploaded that and showed to Ramon, that's where you got the link ey
? But i read on a place that it's fake, they didn't really buy it .
Too bad i can't find the link anymore.
Tho even if they didn't bought it ... nice viral for gtaforums.com LOL ...
http://www.alexa.com/data/details/tr.../gtaforums.com ... nice spike.
so you telling us its a fake ( as you saw it somewhere ) or it might be a fake as the sales is posted everywhere?
03-25-2008, 05:12 PM
#18 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: 10-03-2008 04:42 PM
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 132
DNF$: 2,154
Location: DNF
Country:
Quote:
Originally Posted by
robmac so you telling us its a fake ( as you saw it somewhere ) or it might be a fake as the sales is posted everywhere?
I am saying mods created a thread where they were saying they just played and everything is fake ... was about 25 pages long ... can't find it tho . If anyone wants to search for it ... goooo .
03-25-2008, 05:36 PM
#19 (permalink )
Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Yesterday 12:02 AM
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,609
DNF$: 1
Location: Australia
Country:
I had a feeling this was BS... sounded too far fetched but it wasnt April fools day.
03-25-2008, 10:49 PM
#20 (permalink )
Bodis.com
Name: Matt
Last Online: Yesterday 10:47 PM
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 854
DNF$: 433
Location: New York
Read their letter. It is full of grammatical errors:
"Per our discussion of the last two weeks"
The entire letter doesn't even make sense. They've been discussing last 2 weeks and the letter is about what? "Expressing our interest"??
"We urge you to contact us as soon as possible"?
And seriously. Why would EA buy a website like that for 3.5 million? With 3.5 million they can do a lot better advertising on Adwords or something rather than buying a trademark domain name which can get them into tons of legal trouble, especially if they'd advertise their own products/services.
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Display Modes Linear Mode
Posting Rules
All times are GMT -4. The time now is
12:36 AM .
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com