If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!The Domain was a 5L and i was scanning word + charectar Lists so like LLLL + C , domains like that
When I search for a domain and it is available , I register it then and there without any delay.
URLtrader
Genetics.us, Genome.us, Nanotech.us, CosmeticSurgeon.us
OrthopaedicSurgeon.com, ElectronicsEngineering.com,
HollywoodTimes.com, TechnologyTimes.com are on sale.
I've always promoted Moniker. without a referral link, in my sig and in many chats/forums. I'll do that for places I use and respect above all others. A friend of mine in DNF and local to my house in Ottawa told me a couple of years ago it happend to him as well there. I considered it to be a coincidence since it's the only time I've heard of it and I use them for all my whois and domain availability exploring and it hasnt happend to me.
Hearing it again, and with all the changes going on at Moniker I really would like to know their take on this. I have 684 domains at Moniker now and would still keep them there even if they harvested our searches, but need to know my searches are secure to continue using that nice reg box.
Jack
Oversee registers many times more domain names than most anyone. If they were registering lookups similar to NSI, the majority of what you searched for that was available, they would have taken.
Why do you think they singled out this one name? The fact is they didn't. Statistically this sort of thing will continue to happen on rare occasions.
Why?
Last edited by Hope; 06-12-2008 at 06:06 PM.
at least we know the collective intelligence of the community is high enough for registrars to pay for lots of domains that their customers are searching for. kudo's for us.
on 23rd i saw softwaredevelopment.com available for registration n now its showing registered in 1997........is that possible?
i'd like to believe that
i am one of monikers biggest fans and have xxxx domains there. i had real concerns when the domainers friend moniker that monte built up was sold on.
i dont like oversee and some of their practices already
i just read on np a domainer searched for 15 on moniker and 10 have been took/tasted whatever.
i'm reading more and more this type of stuff. if we cant trust moniker, then we can trust none
about time a rep turned up to answer some concerns imo![]()
where's the rep? I would like them to confirm/deny speculation. I love moniker and have always championed them...
FOR SALE NOW: W-U.com $6k
Happened with 15 other domains here:
http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-...es-me-off.html
Mods: If I'm not mean to link there (even though it's beneficial to the thread), then edit it out and replace the link with "the other domain forum"
Ok i have got an udpate i wasn't able to post because i was busy with friends and family , but o checked the same domain i think yesterday or the day before yesterday and it was dropped by moniker and was available again ! its obvious they were tasting it
i use moniker bulk checked every day, it probably is a coincidence
It's important to know where these people are getting the domains they are checking! 9 times out of 10, they are seeing them in a "list of domains". It's also to note, that the reason for the list, is most likely a Pending Delete list or recently expired etc.
Remember, there are 6 BILLION people in this world. More and more are moving into domaining daily. When there are companies tasting 50K + by themself in one day, plus the many many other people tasting etc, a lot of domains are registered. If ICANN would put a stop to tasting, there would be a lot more domains for the hand regger's out there......
www.DotWeekly.com <--My Blog
Why?
Last edited by Hope; 06-12-2008 at 06:07 PM.
Monte, come in Monte...
Wow things are getting shadier by the minute over at Moniker.
Does anyone have an account rep that actually responds to their email inquiries in a timely manner? If so I would like to know who so I can switch mine.
i have already addressed this rubbish on namepros...same post. Moniker does NOT share look up data with anyone...some registrars do. we do not...we also do not share look up info or availability checks with Oversee or any other individual or organization. its private and its always been private information.
If you looked up the domains on another registrar and tried to register the domains at Moniker, its possible that that other registrar shared the look up data to various bots and systems.
Thats it!
Monte Cahn, Founder / President, Moniker.com & SnapNames.com
Monte@cahn.net
O - 954-984-8445
Skype - montecahn
Bookmarks