It looks like that is a scam. You are actually typing in your IP address in that place. It seems that these are hackers emailing you and trying to get into your ocmputer
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Received this email today, didn't know is it true or not?
POKER.COM HAS BEEN HIJACKED (visit www.thepokerclub.com for the full story
or email support.com)
Dear Poker.com Player,
We regret to inform you that the URL "www.poker.com" has been hijacked
illegally. The poker.com cardroom has a legal contract from the owner of the
domain to use the URL through the year 2098, however it has been redirected
today. We do not yet know whether it is with the assistance of the domain
owner or whether it has been pirated through other means. We are taking
immediate steps to recover what is rightfully ours.
In the meantime, you may find yourself unable to connect to the cardroom
through the software due to the software"s use of the url. This can be
overcome by following these instructions:
Go to: Crogram Filespoker.com (you can access this folder through
windows explorer or "My Computer") and open the file pokerclient.ini.
At the top of the file you will see the following paragraphs:
-------------------
[Upgrader]
Version=1.6.3
Hostname=pokera.poker.com
[server]
Address=pokera.poker.com
Port=6600
-------------------
In both instances, replace "pokera.poker.com" with 200.46.10.131 as shown
below. Save the file and close it. You will now be able to connect to the
game.
-------------------
[Upgrader]
Version=1.6.3
Hostname=200.46.10.131
[Server]
Address=200.46.10.131
Port=6600
We apologize for this inconvenience and invite you to visit
www.thepokerclub.com for updates on the hijacking and our efforts to recover
the URL.
Sincerely,
The Poker.com Cardroom Staff.
MAP.TO
Short URL service for maps only.
It looks like that is a scam. You are actually typing in your IP address in that place. It seems that these are hackers emailing you and trying to get into your ocmputer
Why would someone rent a domain right through to 2098?..
RMF
It seems to be true, poker.com now is using darkblue affiliate program referred to aztecrichescasino.com.
I can't believe who would RENT a domain to build their business? Now just a click away, your business has disappeared so SOON.
I think a serious business should OWN its domain, if you want a premium domain which has been registered by other people, then buy it or give it up, never RENT it.![]()
Last edited by yesonline; 12-09-2002 at 06:15 PM.
MAP.TO
Short URL service for maps only.
this domain was hijacked, which makes it irrelevant whether they owned or rented the domain.
Not really, look thisOriginally posted by draqon
this domain was hijacked, which makes it irrelevant whether they owned or rented the domain.
"This is simply a contractual matter between the cardroom and the owner of the website which the cardroom has leased. "
" THE Poker.com URL HAS BEEN ILLEGALLY REDIRECTED
We regret to inform you that the URL ‘www.poker.com’ has been redirected illegally. The poker.com cardroom has a legal contract from the owner of the domain to use the URL through the year 2098, however it has been redirected today. We do not yet know whether it is with the assistance of the domain owner or whether it has been pirated through other means. We are taking immediate steps to recover what is rightfully ours.
"
It seems not to be the kind of hijack we thought?
If it is a hijack, it is a big DEAL now![]()
Last edited by yesonline; 12-09-2002 at 07:49 PM.
MAP.TO
Short URL service for maps only.
News released by poker.com INC.(not poker.com)
The question is, was it a REAL hijack(stolen by a domain thief)? Or just a legal issue between poker.com INC and the owner of poker.comIf it is a hijack, I can't see why the stealer has made a new well-designed poker.com?
http://www.thepokerclub.com/newsrelease.asp
Vancouver, Canada, December 9th, 2002 – Poker.com Inc. (OTCBB: PKER) announced today that the company has been the victim of a form of technological piracy.
During the course of regular business operations on Friday, December 6th, 2002, the Poker.com domain was hijacked and re-directed without the consent or knowledge of the company.
In accordance with an agreement signed on July 16th, 1999, Poker.com Inc. obtained the worldwide rights to the internet domain known as www.poker.com which included a period of validity until the year 2098.
MAP.TO
Short URL service for maps only.
Yeah, looks like an internal wrangle.
BTW yesonline, sedo highlights eCasino.com as a 25k sale - were you the buyer or seller? It's a very nice gambling name![]()
Kudos to you yesonlineOriginally posted by yesonline
Buyer:razz:All the best with your venture
![]()
Originally posted by fizz
Kudos to you yesonlineAll the best with your venture
![]()
Thank you very much![]()
MAP.TO
Short URL service for maps only.
Hi yesonline.
Very nice purchasing for your business. I believe.
All the best to you : )
Universal Media
info@um.com
Originally posted by toho
Hi yesonline.
Very nice purchasing for your business. I believe.
All the best to you : )
Thank you very much![]()
MAP.TO
Short URL service for maps only.
Yesonline I have one question, did You sell eCasino.com for $25K in sedo? If yes congratulations,
Zero Accomplisher and .mobi millionaire
Originally posted by stuff
he just said he bought it!
Yesonline I have one question, did You sell eCasino.com for $25K in sedo? If yes congratulations,
Sorry I didn`t see this post.
Zero Accomplisher and .mobi millionaire
Did they pay lease fee for the month?![]()
IMO, it's not hijack because the owner do the redirect himself.
It's just he's breaking the contract.![]()
Unlimited Domain Hosting - $20/mo
Dedicated Server - $99/mo
Bookmarks