Interesting.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I was scanning sedo.com this morning and here is what i found
http://wab.com/WAB.COM is now the property of the United States government.
The domain and web site were surrendered to U.S. law enforcement pursuant to a federal prosecution and felony plea agreement for conspiracy to violate criminal copyright laws. Antonio Del Santos, a.k.a "AloneTrio" pled guilty in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia on January 25, 2008, to conspiring with others to violate federal copyright laws by illegally releasing copyrighted code illegally circumvent built-in security protections and allow individuals to run "homebrew" software on game consoles, such as the Sony PSP and Nintendo Wii. Del Santos and his co-conspirators used www.wab.com as the exclusive outlet to provide copyrighted code to individuals. As a result, the WAB website is now the property of the United States government. Individuals involved in this conduct face up to five years in federal prison and a fine of $500,000 for each count charged.
Piracy is the unauthorized, willful reproduction or distribution of copyrighted material, such as software, movies, music, and games. People who distribute pirated works over the Internet via IRC, FTP sites, web sites, or file-sharing networks, and people who download or reproduce pirated works are risking criminal prosecution. Piracy is a crime even when the works are distributed over the Internet for free or where the conduct does not involve monetary gain, such as the trading of pirated products for other pirated products.
The Department of Justice and federal law enforcement will continue to investigate and prosecute individuals and groups that violate the federal criminal copyright laws at home and abroad. For more information on these and other federal anti-piracy investigations, visit www.cybercrime.gov.
https://sedo.com/search/details.php4...d=&language=us
Interesting.
Even more interesting is that the whois info still shows the old registrant info.
OMG why use such a valuble name for this? STUPID!
http://filext.com/file-extension/WAB
http://www.wab.edu/
www.wab.org
there are 4.9M results in google for the letters. I would think there is more value then that.
Anyway, it is too bad that they lost the domain name.
I would rather care about the 5 years in prison in their position...
Sababa my friend
Great 3 letter domain
Domaining to the max.
watch its going to end up on sedo's auction soon
http://www.sedo.com/auction/auction_...ed=&partnerid=
http://www.sedo.com/auction/auction_...ed=&partnerid=
I think WAB.com is better then these two, and they are both above 10K
I would really not use a name like that for doing something that the US could arrest me for and take it away... If I was to do what they were doing, I would do it offshore.
Two things you would not expect with a US Government owned domain:
1. Whois shows the original owner as the registrant
2. Domain resolves to 88.191.33.33 which is a French ip address:
Isn't this story just a hoax to spotlight the domain?inetnum: 88.191.3.0 - 88.191.248.255
netname: FR-DEDIBOX
descr: Dedibox SAS
descr: Customers
descr: Paris, France
Two more very unlikely facts:
The page at wab.com contains the following code:
3. The src URL does not contain a javascript, but what it does is alerting the visitor that www.cybercrime.gov tries to use an Akamai certificate, and also shows the cybercrime.gov site in the browsers status bar suggesting we are connecting to an official government website while in fact we are not.Code:<script type="text/javascript" src="https://www.cybercrime.gov/"></script>
4. Searching for "wab.com" or "wab" on http://www.cybercrime.gov/ does return no results.
Last edited by mvl; 02-08-2008 at 02:36 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
You know, I think this is a joke... the name is still in the control of this "AloneTrio" and the host IP is in French too.
http://whois.domaintools.com/88.191.33.33
http://www.dedibox.fr/
I did not see your post before my post above, but I was thinking the same...
Last edited by Mr. Deleted; 02-08-2008 at 02:48 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Since it's now owned by the government, let's wait for it to be dropped next year or thereafter.
Personal Blog | Dyuc.com - 230$ | Byux.com - 390$ | JQR.org - taking offers
very interesting
If that's fake, then why would he do that? to get us to discuss about it here?![]()
Visit my blog
But why would they host the ste on a dedicated server in Frence?
http://88.191.33.33
![]()
Bookmarks