Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Gold Lifetime Member
    devolution's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Angelina Jolie's House
    Posts
    605
    DNF$
    398
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    398
    Donate  

    Red face SCAM: European Domain Registry

    It's enough to drive you mad!!

    I've just received two letters this morning from 'European Domain Registry'.
    It looks like they are harvesting OpenSRS Whois for domains that are expiring in a few months, and tricking people into renewing their domains with them.

    This isn't new, but it's the first time I've seen a BRITISH based company doing this.
    In fact, in the UK, this sort of unsolicited communication is against the law, especially as it tricks gullible people into thinking they will have to renew their domain with these crooks.

  2. #2
    Guest
    Report it to your local trading standards office.

    They'd fined companies for this sort of thing in the past.

  3. #3
    Gold Lifetime Member
    devolution's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Angelina Jolie's House
    Posts
    605
    DNF$
    398
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    398
    Donate  

    Smile

    You know, I thought of that just after finishing reading the letter, but then I realised that they aren't going to have many (or anybody) that understands domain names at Trading Standards.

    Originally posted by safesys
    Report it to your local trading standards office.

    They'd fined companies for this sort of thing in the past.

  4. #4
    Guest
    They may not understand domain names, but they sure understand crooked marketing

  5. #5
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Whois-Search's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,123
    DNF$
    1,296
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,296
    Donate  
    Yes I have had a Letter from www.droe.com today as well
    Last edited by Whois-Search; 07-12-2002 at 07:09 PM.

  6. #6
    Guest
    Those of you in the UK, PLEASE respond to these by contacting your law enforcement agencies. These guys are really annoying.

    I don't mind competition, but ads that prey on people's ignorance really burn me.

    -t

  7. #7
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Whois-Search's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,123
    DNF$
    1,296
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,296
    Donate  
    Better still droe.com is registered with Enom

    Everyone contact enom ( like I have just done )

    and tell them to FREEZE the domain

  8. #8
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Whois-Search's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,123
    DNF$
    1,296
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,296
    Donate  
    Michelle Grisim, Client Services - Enom says :

    "I'm sending this to our director of compliance to look into..."

  9. #9
    Guest
    This has been reported to eNom more than once. If you have a relationship with them, reporting it again would not be a bad thing.

    I'm not so sure they will find anything wrong with this however, as other resellers of their have been doing similar things through many complaints.

    These letters are not illegal - at least not in the US - since they do contain language that says that the letter is not a bill. They are misleading however.

    -t

  10. #10
    blueberrydomain
    Guest

    I also received...

    ... this letter from droe.com.

    All I can say is that it is fraud. They want me to fill in the creditcard-number and there is not a word of registrar-transfer. (the domain is not at Enom today)

    For a beginner it looks like an invoice and I think many reacts to it as they have to pay even if it says in bold "this notice is not a bill"

    /Blueberry

  11. #11

  12. #12
    Jedi Master
    Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,138
    DNF$
    49,926
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    49,926
    Donate  
    Comically enough, I received two snail mails from these clowns today. They wanted me to transfer two names that are up for renewal in October. Their is a lot WRONG with their wording. it si comical. They try to get you to renew at $25 per year. To quote them:

    ". . . This allows you to register or renew your domain name at a lower price than most other Registrars. . . "

    At $25? HowFunny(.com - I sold howfunny.com

    I can only think of **TWO** registrars that charge more - NotWorkSolutions and Register.com.

    Anyway, I emailed them back (support@droa.com) and laughed in their face. heh heh.

    -Bob
    . . .

  13. #13
    Guest
    Originally posted by Bob

    ...
    I can only think of **TWO** registrars that charge more - NotWorkSolutions and Register.com.

    ...
    -Bob
    @ Bob for "NotWorkSolutions"

  14. #14
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Whois-Search's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,123
    DNF$
    1,296
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,296
    Donate  
    LOL too funny guys

    DROE are even more stupid for sueing Tucows

    http://comingsoon.tucows.com/.court_case//index.html

  15. #15
    Gold Lifetime Member
    devolution's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Angelina Jolie's House
    Posts
    605
    DNF$
    398
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    398
    Donate  
    Here is a scan of one of the letters I received (uploaded for posterity):

    http://www.synuk.com/a/x/droecon.jpg

  16. #16
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    play's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sunny Californi
    Posts
    73
    DNF$
    321
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    321
    Donate  

    Domain Registry of America

    droa.com

    Does the same

    Power to Devolution..
    P L A Y

  17. #17
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Whois-Search's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,123
    DNF$
    1,296
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,296
    Donate  
    My Local Trading Standards Office have asked me to send the letter and I have done.

    > Dear Andrew
    >
    > Thanks for this information - very interesting!
    >
    > I would still be grateful if you would fax a copy of the letter to me. I
    > can then refer the matter to the
    > Office of Fair Trading who deal with allegations of frauds emanating from
    > abroad.
    >
    > Thanks again
    >
    > > > Ian Howarth
    > > > Senior Trading Standards Officer

Similar Threads

  1. premium .BIZ - as low as $20 each
    By HeavyLifting in forum Domains for Sale (Domain Sales) - Fixed Prices Above $100
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2003, 03:40 PM
  2. .US Registry Locks my Domain
    By Frontline in forum Gold Cafe
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-07-2003, 03:50 PM
  3. 30%-50% discount on hosting plans, or free domain name with Flohost
    By in forum Website Development and Design Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-12-2002, 03:09 AM
  4. Registrar Thread
    By in forum General Domain Name Discussion
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 04-30-2002, 08:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com