the rat bastards TC..
this goes in my RatTrapper
4sure
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Delivery-date: Tue, 30 Apr 2002 20:33:23 -0400
FROM: alert@godaddy.com
SUBJECT: Scam Warning! Please read.
Dear Valued Go Daddy customer,
Tuesday morning, alert Go Daddy customers notified me that another
scammer is after your personal information. Our legal team is already
working with the FBI to take any and all appropriate action.
In the meantime, I want to make sure you're informed and protected. Here
are the details of the scam:
Someone is sending emails to our recent .US domain registrants. The emails
are disguised as coming from " sales@godaddy.com ". This is a legitimate Go
Daddy email address, but these emails are not coming from us.
The scammer's email instructs recipients to divulge - via fax - their Go
Daddy account login, user name and password; their Social Security
Number; and proof of address. The pretence provided is that this
information is needed to verify eligibility for the .US domain. Again, the
scammers are requesting this information be sent to a fax number in
Nevada.
I want you to know two things: First, Go Daddy would never ask for this
information, in any form, period. We'd never ask for your Social Security
number. And we never ask you to fax or mail us your personal information.
Second, the scammers did not get your email contact information from Go
Daddy. Scam artists constantly probe the "Whois" database, the central
repository of ownership information for all domain name owners. (You can
think of the Whois database as being the Internet equivalent of your local
County Recorder's office. Real estate ownership information is required by
law to be public; it's the same with domain name ownership
I won't speculate as to the intent of these scammers, but it can't be
good. So please: If you receive one of the emails I've described above (or
any other communication that makes you suspicious in the future) please do
not respond to them! Instead, forward them to the special address I've set
up: alert@godaddy.com
Your best protection against scammers is awareness. So please stay on
guard, and if you receive any communication that strikes you as
suspicious, forward it to alert@godaddy.com
Sincerely,
Bob Parsons
President,
Go Daddy Software, Inc.
http://www.godaddy.com/
the rat bastards TC..
this goes in my RatTrapper
4sure
Thanks TimeChange
You're welcome.
GoDaddy is the biggest of the "smaller" Registrars, that's why they target its customers with all sorts of scams.
It always amazes me the lengths and hard work crooks will put into a scam to swindle a few bucks from honest folk. Wouldn't it be easier to just get a job? Jeez!
GetAJob.comOriginally posted by mike
It always amazes me the lengths and hard work crooks will put into a scam to swindle a few bucks from honest folk. Wouldn't it be easier to just get a job? Jeez!
what cha think?
Short answer: no.Originally posted by mike
Wouldn't it be easier to just get a job? Jeez!
Long answer: took me 5 months to get a new job.
i don't own
GetAJob.com
just ****N with ya..
know WHY??
Bookmarks