

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 07:07 AM iTrader: (20) Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 405
DNF$: 718 Location: Colorado Spring
Country: | Warning: I just got an E-mail (text copied below) telling me I must register with ICANN at a website named: www.icannresolve.com with my domain contact info, registrar name, registrar username and password for each domain, and also my domain Security question at my registrar (for each domain I own). I went to the site, and while it looks *somewhat* legit and links to a lot of the Icann.org website, there is no way I'm entering my login info with password for each domain I own on this site... Be warned. Many will likely loose control of their domains due to this, as this must be a scam in my opinion. Email I received from the address icann@icannresolve.com follows below: ----- Dear Domain Account Holder, You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you currently own an active domain name. ICANN is currently upgrading all domains from their registry database. The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier access. The new upgrade is required by the registry. All domain users are expected to submit their domain information manually at http://www.icannresolve.com/ with the required information for ICANN to apply the required updates. The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve basis. You have until July 25, 2008 to submit the required information to avoid service and domain interruption. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, ICANNResolve ICANN.org Resolutions Department ----- What thinkest ye about this? Ever heard of them? Last edited by woeger; 06-24-2008 at 12:00 AM.. |
| | |
| Sponsored Links |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 07:07 AM iTrader: (20) Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 405
DNF$: 718 Location: Colorado Spring
Country: | No image here, just all text from them. They used an E-mail address I only use on my WHOIS records, so they seem to be contacting domain owners/contacts only. Also the E-mail From: text shows ICANN as the source. ICANN better put out a press release concerning this and investigate. Appears someone pulled the site down already and it is just showing a Namecheap.com parked page now... Last edited by woeger; 06-24-2008 at 12:18 AM.. |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 07:07 AM iTrader: (20) Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 405
DNF$: 718 Location: Colorado Spring
Country: | Not likely, but not everyone who owns a great domain (like a generic .COM, 3 character .COM, etc.) is an active Domainer. They surely were hoping to gather/harvest usernames/passwords at various registrars for purposes unknown. I still know many people who allow their ISPs or web designers to be listed as "all the contacts" for their domains. Perhaps some tech contacts/admin may think they have to "give ICANN this info". Maybe they hoped to steal/use prepaid funds at various registrars (like eNom) and possibly take away valuable domains to try and quickly sell them to unwary buyers? This is the first time I have ever received an E-mail like this claiming to be from ICANN... Update: I just read on another domain forum, that a member there said that he contacted Namecheap.com after receiving this same E-mail from them, and that Namecheap seems to have acted on his complaint and has taken down the offending web site/domain. Last edited by woeger; 06-24-2008 at 12:47 AM.. |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Exclusive Senior Member Last Online: Today 10:37 PM iTrader: (240) Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,238
DNF$: 251 Location: Canada
Country: | Yes their site is down now.
__________________ *** List of Top 1 Million U.S. Web Sites (July 2009) *** Exclusive offer for DNForum members is back! |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| www.conversys.in Name: Aloke M. Last Online: 07-01-2009 09:06 AM iTrader: (15) Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 773
DNF$: 4,406 Location: Kolkata
Country: | got the same mail..good to see the site is down .
__________________ Conversys Technologies Private Limited || Redhat Business Partner - Ubuntu Solution Provider || Linux Solution | Open Source Development | Server Administration | Remote Infrastructure Management |
| | |
| | #11 (permalink) | |
| The evil mod Name: Ed Last Online: Today 07:52 PM iTrader: (33) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,591
DNF$: 200 Location: South Florida
Country: | Quote:
Steal domains and try to register many more with the stolen accounts.
__________________ | |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 02-24-2009 01:50 AM iTrader: (18) Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 851
DNF$: 3,163 Location: Los Angeles | FULL MESSAGE WITH HEADERS Delivered-To: <REMOVED FOR POSTING> Received: by 10.82.169.13 with SMTP id r13cs3488bue; Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:51:42 -0700 (PDT) Received: by 10.140.172.19 with SMTP id u19mr14076294rve.31.1214283101166; Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:51:41 -0700 (PDT) Return-Path: <icann@icannresolve.com> Received: from <REMOVED FOR POSTING> ([<IP REMOVED FOR POSTING>]) by mx.google.com with ESMTP id 5si11411009wrh.24.2008.06.23.21.51.40; Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:51:41 -0700 (PDT) Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: <IP REMOVED FOR POSTING> is neither permitted nor denied by domain of icann@icannresolve.com) client-ip=<IP REMOVED FOR POSTING>; Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=neutral (google.com: <IP REMOVED FOR POSTING> is neither permitted nor denied by domain of icann@icannresolve.com) smtp.mail=icann@icannresolve.com Received: from <REMOVED FOR POSTING> (root@localhost) by <REMOVED FOR POSTING> (8.12.10/8.12.10) with ESMTP id m5O4C2oF024048 for <<REMOVED FOR POSTING>>; Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:12:02 -0700 X-ClientAddr: 208.43.69.146 Received: from host.icannresolve.com (omegagalaxy.com [208.43.69.146] (may be forged)) by <REMOVED FOR POSTING> (8.12.10/8.12.10) with ESMTP id m5O4C2Pw024043 for <<REMOVED FOR POSTING>>; Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:12:02 -0700 Received: from [208.43.70.241] (helo=www.icannresolve.com) by host.icannresolve.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from <icann@icannresolve.com>) id 1KB0VH-0001fB-9A for <REMOVED FOR POSTING>; Mon, 23 Jun 2008 23:51:39 -0500 To: <REMOVED FOR POSTING> Subject: ICANN - Domain Upgrade Notice Message-ID: <2dccd670d53caafe543ef34cfe75d7dd@www.icannresolve .com> Date: Tue, 24 Jun 2008 06:22:08 +0200 From: "ICANN" <icann@icannresolve.com> Reply-To: icann@icannresolve.com MIME-Version: 1.0 X-Mailer-LID: 1 X-Mailer-SID: 5 X-Mailer-Sent-By: 1 Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed; charset="UTF-8" Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - host.icannresolve.com X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - <REMOVED FOR POSTING> X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [47 12] / [47 12] X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - icannresolve.com Dear Domain Account Holder, You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you currently own an active domain name. ICANN is currently upgrading all domains from their registry database. The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier access. The new upgrade is required by the registry. All domain users are expected to submit their domain information manually at http://www.icannresolve.com/email/li...D FOR POSTING) with the required information for ICANN to apply the required updates. The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve basis. You have until July 25, 2008 to submit the required information to avoid service and domain interruption. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, ICANNResolve ICANN.org Resolutions Department |
| | |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Monica Last Online: Today 11:07 AM iTrader: (2) Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 577
DNF$: 0 Location: Dublin, Ireland
Country: | Well, it seems that no matter how many times they tell us to (1) never click a link in an email (2) never give anyone our password or personal details, no matter how authoritative they claim to be, there are always people who give scammers their passwords, bank details, whatever and suffer loss as a consequence. Since anyone genuine would never ask for these things, it's a simple matter to just consign any such email to oblivion, however you want to do it.
__________________ My Portfolio |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |