Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: whahaha

  1. #1
    DNF Addict
    mole's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Tonga
    Posts
    6,723
    DNF$
    1,634
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,634
    Donate  

    Talking whahaha

    Nokia wins first .me.uk domain name dispute
    15:40 Thursday 27th June 2002
    Matt Loney


    Claiming Nokia as a nickname might have worked for one registrant, had he not also registered a raft of other brands
    Nokia has won the first .me.uk domain name dispute after the registrant, who claimed that Nokia was his nickname, was found to have registered a raft of other well-known brands.

    The .me.uk domain was launched by .uk registry Nominet in January with the intention of providing domain names for individuals. The outcome of this first case of disputed domain names indicates that even in the .me.uk domain, individuals do not necessarily have free reign to register common brand names in bad faith.

    Not only had Naqi Jawad from East London registered nokia.me.uk on 15 January 2002, but also sony.me.uk, bmw.me.uk, vodafone.me.uk, orange.me.uk and nissan.me.uk among others.

    Nokia had previously sent Jawad a letter, informing him of its rights to the name and asking him to transfer the name, offering to reimburse him any reasonable expenses he may have had when registering the domain name.

    In its complaint to Nominet, which runs the dispute resolution procedure for .me.uk, Nokia claimed the registration of nokia.me.uk, on 15 January 2002, was an Abuse Registration. Philip Roberts, the barrister who adjudicated the dispute procedure, agreed.

    "As Lady Bracknell might have put it," said Roberts, "to have registered one domain name corresponding to the brand name of a major mobile telecommunications company may be regarded as a misfortune; to register two looks like carelessness. To register four -- plus the trade marks of two prominent automobile companies and a major electronics company -- looks very much like abusive registration."

    According to Nokia, Jawad had written a letter claiming that he registered the domain name in question because his nickname is "Nokia," and asked the company to make him an offer. However, Jawad did not assert this in his correspondence with Roberts. Even if he had, it might not have made much difference.

    "I doubt that the Respondent (Naqi) is quite so polynomial as to attract the nicknames 'Vodafone', 'Orange', 'Virgin', 'BMW', 'Nissan' and 'Sony'," said Roberts in his decision. "I infer that this is the most likely reason why the 'nickname' defence was not formally asserted in the Response and I attach little weight to it."

    Given the prominence and renown of the brand names Sony, BMW, Vodafone, Organge, Virgin and Nissan, said Roberts, together with the inherent improbability of all such names being registered innocently, he said he was satisfied on the balance of probabilities that the Respondent was "engaged in a pattern of making abusive registrations."
    If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon

  2. #2
    Gold Lifetime Member
    dotsofdomains's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
    Posts
    387
    DNF$
    2,875
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,875
    Donate  
    Although famous mark holders should prevail in these obvious cases of cyber-squatting, the issue has become whether to "give a damn" about the me-too domains and whether, if you don't, you could be accused later of failing to adequately police your mark. For the mark holders the issue gets even tougher when you go past the literal mark to the misspellings and misleading registrations that are not identical to the mark, but are obviously registerd to play off the mark's good-will.

    My two cents. Will register for food.

  3. #3
    Cool Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,869
    DNF$
    1,293
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,293
    Donate  
    I thought the .me.uk policy said it's purpose is serving domainnames for INDIVIDUALS.So how come Nokia can ask for transferring the name to them - shouldn't it be all they could ask for is deletion of the domain?!

  4. #4
    Guest
    that would make sense beatz, although that would leave it open to the next abusive registrant and nokia would have to incurr fees fighting it yet again.

  5. #5
    Guest
    Originally posted by safesys
    that would make sense beatz, although that would leave it open to the next abusive registrant and nokia would have to incurr fees fighting it yet again.
    they know that feeling all to well

    http://www.nokiagirls.com/

  6. #6
    DNF Addict
    mole's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Tonga
    Posts
    6,723
    DNF$
    1,634
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,634
    Donate  
    I just can't understand why people continue to mickey with well know trademarks. Must be a sadistic streak or something
    If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com