Really ... I dont believe it !
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Last edited by Gregcyber; 03-28-2008 at 06:52 PM.
Really ... I dont believe it !
yes, absolutely shocking that for the last 5-6 years registrars & resellers have been injecting ad banners, pages & sales text in Whois information.
How dare they try to monetize information in their own databases that we are trying to view.
Sure they dare to. It's their database they are paying costs for to do what all
they see fit.
Go Daddy and Network Solutions have been showing ads in their WHOIS search
results for as long as I can remember. If you think you own that data, better
read your agreement.
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
I think he was being sarcastic, Dave.
BackAlley.com Backhole.com BlackAfricans.com BrownWomen.com Breathers.com & More!
If you have to explain what your domain name means, give up, it's a crappy name!
Everyone is being sarcastic Dave... minus you and thread starter .
Ads are lifeblood of internet ... most domainers know that .... its what pays us !
I read "Who-is has aids" ..![]()
erm, Dave, you simply rephrased my post and you missed the sarcasm.
On a serious note:
People tend to forget they don't actually own their domains, they just pay for the privilege of using them.
If a registrar or registry gets a wild hair, either one can delete your domain by claiming it didn't fit their TOS guidelines. You wouldn't have any recourse in the matter either. Yeah, that information chills me too.
hehe, if you actually slept a little, you wouldn't misread stuff like that. I'll bet it woke you up though.![]()
Last edited by AustinWeb; 03-29-2008 at 09:26 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
This is not the normal banner ad you see on the top of a Who-is.
The data base is GoDaddy's and yes I always see GD ads on top.
What I was talking about is how a registrar puts a banner on another's Who-is info.
I must of searched 3k whois records the last 12 months and never seen this type of ad.had to say something.
here it is if you display in text rather than HTML:
http://network-tools.com/default.asp...ptPrinters.com
Network-Tools.com - Network Tools since 1998
yup i seen them too from BuyDomains.com ! i mean what the hell how can they ? btw i wont mind knowing the way to inject them myself too lol
I guess you missed the Aboutus.org spam.
Bookmarks