Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Industry Leaders > Domain Registrars > Enom.com
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2009, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:15 AM
iTrader: (15)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 451
DNF$: 20


Can Enom Reseller Steal My Domains??????

Hi-

I took an offer here at DNF from a member offering a 'free' Enom reseller account. I have had it for a couple of months with no problems however now when I try to login to my account the password has been changed - and so has the security question.

It is possible I simply forgot the password and the reseller created the security question when he made my account - however it is not helping matters that he is not responding to my emails or PM's (even though I see he has logged onto DNF!) - and I am starting to get worried, as one of the domains is for a live site that is very important to me.

So can an Enom reseller simply steal somebodys domains? What can be done if he tries to pull something shady? I called Enom for help getting access to my account and they said they can't do anything about it - and were very evasive when I asked them what could be done if this reseller stole my domains - they would not give me a direct answer.............

Thanks!
__________________
Buying domains with traffic and revenue. Also buying quality .com poker domains.
PokerPie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 04-16-2009, 10:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
iSpoof.com
 
biggedon's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 07:42 AM
iTrader: (112)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,000
DNF$: 51,477
Location: 96.net


a parent account can only view the domains in sub-accounts.

they cannot edit any of your profile information.

they can however, send you the login and password info, just by clicking a link for that particular sub-account.


i suggest you go back and try to find any past emails from enom to find your login info
__________________
worldiptv.com * svc.net * belisted.com * mobi.us.com * sop.net
* qfm.net * upyo.com * vioz.com *
Need A SedoPro Account PM Me
biggedon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:15 AM
iTrader: (15)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 451
DNF$: 20


But he is the one who setup my account. He sent me the username and password. He set the security question.

I do not know the answer to the security question and it is not something I would ever choose as a security question. Maybe I forgot my password - but I had it saved on my computer and the saved password is not working...

He also is not replying to my ****ing PM's or emails which is not helping..............
__________________
Buying domains with traffic and revenue. Also buying quality .com poker domains.
PokerPie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dances With Dogs
 
Doc Com's Avatar
 
Name: info [@] gerry.mobi
Last Online: Today 02:03 AM
iTrader: (73)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,306
DNF$: 25,529
Country:



Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerPie View Post
Hi-

I took an offer here at DNF from a member offering a 'free' Enom reseller account. I have had it for a couple of months with no problems however now when I try to login to my account the password has been changed - and so has the security question.

It is possible I simply forgot the password and the reseller created the security question when he made my account - however it is not helping matters that he is not responding to my emails or PM's (even though I see he has logged onto DNF!) - and I am starting to get worried, as one of the domains is for a live site that is very important to me.

So can an Enom reseller simply steal somebodys domains? What can be done if he tries to pull something shady? I called Enom for help getting access to my account and they said they can't do anything about it - and were very evasive when I asked them what could be done if this reseller stole my domains - they would not give me a direct answer.............

Thanks!
Yes, they can and have.

I lost three LLN.com's.

I had never used or heard of eNom years ago.

Seller set up an account for me.

There was this bizarre tiered structure.

Anyways, when I went to transfer the names out, the auth code had to come from the person who set the account up for me.

He never responded to any email or requests from the gaining registrar.

This was perhaps 6-8 years ago.

Only recently did I start accepting a name to an eNom account. And again I had issues. They were placing names into expired rather than transfer in a timely manner. I had started another thread on this. The first girl I talked to at eNom told me they could not transfer as they were now expired. I had to renew them with eNom at $29.95 each, is what she told me. After speaking with someone at the gaining registrar (enom delayed transfer by nearly 2 weeks) I had the names in my account in less than 24 hours. A total of 19 including the 9 that this girl told me I could not transfer.

I hate eNom.
__________________



Conservative With A Conscience

Doc Com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fiscal Conservative
 
Raider's Avatar
 
Name: RG
Last Online: 10-31-2009 01:56 AM
iTrader: (13)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 20,092
Location: California
Country:


If this is a "Reseller" account and not "Retail", the answer is NO, they can not change your password settings... They CAN however do it on a "Retail" account.

Which do you have?
Raider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:15 AM
iTrader: (15)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 451
DNF$: 20


The WHOIS is private for these domains - I sent an email to the privacy email address listed for these domains - AND I DID NOT RECEIVE IT!!

I AM PRETTY SURE THIS GUY HAS STOLEN MY DOMAINS

WHAT DO I DO????????
__________________
Buying domains with traffic and revenue. Also buying quality .com poker domains.
PokerPie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 09:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Dances With Dogs
 
Doc Com's Avatar
 
Name: info [@] gerry.mobi
Last Online: Today 02:03 AM
iTrader: (73)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,306
DNF$: 25,529
Country:



Call enom, but don't expect much help.

In my case, I think I lost about 40 bucks each on those domains.

I never got the domains.
__________________



Conservative With A Conscience

Doc Com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Fiscal Conservative
 
Raider's Avatar
 
Name: RG
Last Online: 10-31-2009 01:56 AM
iTrader: (13)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 20,092
Location: California
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerPie View Post
The WHOIS is private for these domains - I sent an email to the privacy email address listed for these domains - AND I DID NOT RECEIVE IT!!

I AM PRETTY SURE THIS GUY HAS STOLEN MY DOMAINS

WHAT DO I DO????????
If your reseller entered your account via their own account, Enom should have a record of it. Again, was your account "Retail" or "Reseller"?
Raider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 01:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:15 AM
iTrader: (15)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 451
DNF$: 20


phew

false alarm. he got back to my email and pm and i have access to my account - everything is fine.

i will be pushing these domains very soon though.................


thanks for the advice everybody


edit: well when i try to login it says 'your account has been disabled' so we'll see what happens - hopefully its just a glitch and it does not take him 5 days to respond.....
__________________
Buying domains with traffic and revenue. Also buying quality .com poker domains.

Last edited by PokerPie; 04-17-2009 at 01:11 AM..
PokerPie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com