Did you ask them if they can refound you for this special case? I didn't pre-register .mobi names with them but it is what i would do.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I preregged a mobi domain yesterday with moniker (a NNN), I was surprised that it all went so smoothly actually.
On further investigation yesterday, I was browsing the main mobi tld website and noticed the whois function, low and behold, it looks like the domain that moniker was so happy to tell me was available yesterday, had already been registered under the trademark sunrise (a NNN would you believe) by a chinese company on august 15th.
Even though moniker states on the prereg page that if it is not successful, the funds will be added to my moniker account funds, IMO it is still unacceptable to accept registrations for domains that are clearly already registered able to be confirmed by a simple whois check.
Did you ask them if they can refound you for this special case? I didn't pre-register .mobi names with them but it is what i would do.
not a scam..they will gladly refund your money..had that happen to me one in hundredsactually i found out it was .mobi's whois that was really broken
I put about 8 .mobis on my list to register (did it through GoDaddy).
They were available, which for some i was surprised with.
How did you search to find that a certain domain is already taken through a trademark for .mobi?
Thankms
Just found it...
Many probably already knew this.. but for those like me that didnt
![]()
http://pc.mtld.mobi/whois/index.php
Folks - the .mobi registry has been down since Friday. There is no availability checks so in order to allow pre-regsitration reservations, you must show all names as being available. Land Rush has not started yet so 99% of the domain are still unknown.
If you use common sense, you know that most trademarks will be protected and not available so do not try to register them.
If they are taken, you will get your money back. Certainly not a scam folks
Monte Cahn, Founder / President, Moniker.com & SnapNames.com
Monte@cahn.net
O - 954-984-8445
Skype - montecahn
I believe this is the case elsewhere too. If you want to know if something has already been taken simply check the following link to the .mobi whois directly as posted in other threads too:
http://pc.mtld.mobi/whois/index.php
In my opinion, anything worth pre-registering like movies.mobi, hotels.mobi, etc.. have all been reserved by the registry as a premium name anyway. Those will probably be the only type of .mobi names worth anything, imo. Best of luck.
Why would they ever try to scam anyone? They have a very good reputation. Having used them for Escrow I would say that Moniker are 100% reliable and trustworthy. If you pay for a name that has already been registered you will certainly get a refund.
'Those who stand for nothing fall for anything' - Alexander Hamilton in 1978
Although it is a 'refund', the point seems to be that you still have to use it for future purchases.
Hence there is no incentive to show if a name is already reserved, or has been pre-registered by someone else first..
Last edited by xero; 09-25-2006 at 06:50 PM.
Moniker and scam should never be in the same sentance. Moniker in my opinion is one of THE most honest registers of all. They have fantastic support, if you are ever in question, just email them; I usually get a reply within minutes.
Fair enough comment, actually they are my favourite registrar too! :wubpink:
maybe scam was a bit harsh I apologize (im straight up, I call things as I see it), however I was annoyed at seemingly being "tricked" into registering a domain that wasn't actually available, and in doing so basically topping up my account funds.
Also the whois at mobi was working fine when I checked it...
Under these circumstances, I would hope that you'd be granted a refund to your charge card. Most appropriate imo. Along these lines I pre-reg'd a .mobi with a company that touted "full refund" in their .mobi details page. Only after my card was charged did a notice pop-up stating that an unsuccessful registration would result in my money going into "my account" at the registrar. That's dishonest and poor business. This was not Moniker who at least made their arrangement clear up front before the customer commited their money.
PremiumDomains.biz BLOG | PremiumDomains.US | Memphis.info | Miami.biz | DETROIT.US
Moniker is posting refunds to credit cards even though we stated our policy that we would post to the account. The .mobi registry actually changed its policy on refunds and credits back to registrars...this is not the case for .com, net, org, info, biz, us.
Moniker also did very well in the land rush...capturing 15% of all pre-reg orders put through our system. This is considered very good considering there were more than 120 registrars competing for names
Monte Cahn, Founder / President, Moniker.com & SnapNames.com
Monte@cahn.net
O - 954-984-8445
Skype - montecahn
I saw that, well done
JJH.EU - DAA.MOBI - KOA.EU ... Make offer ...
Hey, all companies have draw backs especially during the launch of a ext but Moniker is the best and most secure place to have a name at. If there's ever any trouble I know Monty would be willing to handle it peronally. Was there an issue? Yes. Was it a scam? NO. Don't be so quick to use that word with one of the most reputable and support orientated companies in the domain industry.
we are actually posting credit back to the method of payment you used...so if by cc then back to cc, if by account funds, then back to account funds
Monte Cahn, Founder / President, Moniker.com & SnapNames.com
Monte@cahn.net
O - 954-984-8445
Skype - montecahn
I see it now in my "Account Transactions" dated yesterday
thanks ,
jim
Note:My posted Sales Prices are valid for 3 Days only
Most my domains listed for sale are available at sedo.com
Bookmarks