I just recieved 2 messages
Yup, looks like it to me.
When I expanded header, send complaints to abuse@up0.net
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Domain Name and MaxLock Sale! Email from @up0.net
Looks like phishing to me
What do you reckon?
JOES.com.au Graduate of the DNF College
I just recieved 2 messages
Yup, looks like it to me.
When I expanded header, send complaints to abuse@up0.net
just recieved one to the page looks funny to like a copy..
www.SeVendePorELDueno.com |SeRenta.net|CasasBaratas.com|MeEncantanLasFlores. com
LosPlayoffs.com|MeEncantaMexico.com|CristoJesus.or g|MeEncantaLaPizza.com|Clean.biz
Notified Bari (jrzeygirl).
All facebook, LinkedIn, and twitter peeps need to spread the word before they take over paypal accounts and CC's
It's legit. I clicked the link and it took me to the "real" moniker website. If you go to buy maxlock for your account the price is the "sale" price.
I just received the same email but did not log. It seems to be legit, at least I didn't see anything unusual.
I think it's legit. That up0.net address has been used when they announced the domains transition from SnapNames to Moniker.
Why would they use this email address to contact clients, the email looked too fishy to me, I trashed it... up0.net is the kinda domain you would expect to receive spam from or something worse, heck even gmail.com would have been better lol
If their goal was to cause concern or make people ? their email hats off to them...
VirtualT:~> whois up0.net
Whois server Version 2.0
Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.
Domain Name: UP0.NET
Registrar: DOMAINDISCOVER
Whois Server: whois.domaindiscover.com
Referral URL: http://www.domaindiscover.com
Name Server: NS3.UPTILT.COM
Name Server: NS4.UPTILT.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 11-nov-2008
Creation Date: 20-jan-2002
Expiration Date: 20-jan-2011
>>> Last update of whois database: Tue, 28 Apr 2009 09:48:09 UTC <<<
NOTICE: The expiration date displayed in this record is the date the
registrar's sponsorship of the domain name registration in the registry is
currently set to expire. This date does not necessarily reflect the expiration
date of the domain name registrant's agreement with the sponsoring
registrar. Users may consult the sponsoring registrar's Whois database to
view the registrar's reported date of expiration for this registration.
TERMS OF USE: You are not authorized to access or query our Whois
database through the use of electronic processes that are high-volume and
automated except as reasonably necessary to register domain names or
modify existing registrations; the Data in VeriSign Global Registry
Services' ("VeriSign") Whois database is provided by VeriSign for
information purposes only, and to assist persons in obtaining information
about or related to a domain name registration record. VeriSign does not
guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a Whois query, you agree to abide
by the following terms of use: You agree that you may use this Data only
for lawful purposes and that under no circumstances will you use this Data
to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail, telephone,
or facsimile; or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
that apply to VeriSign (or its computer systems). The compilation,
repackaging, dissemination or other use of this Data is expressly
prohibited without the prior written consent of VeriSign. You agree not to
use electronic processes that are automated and high-volume to access or
query the Whois database except as reasonably necessary to register
domain names or modify existing registrations. VeriSign reserves the right
to restrict your access to the Whois database in its sole discretion to ensure
operational stability. VeriSign may restrict or terminate your access to the
Whois database for failure to abide by these terms of use. VeriSign
reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.
The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
Registrars.
This WHOIS database is provided for information purposes only. We do
not guarantee the accuracy of this data. The following uses of this
system are expressly prohibited: (1) use of this system for unlawful
purposes; (2) use of this system to collect information used in the
mass transmission of unsolicited commercial messages in any medium;
(3) use of high volume, automated, electronic processes against this
database. By submitting this query, you agree to abide by this
policy.
Registrant:
LYRIS TECHNOLOGIES, INC
5858 Horton Street
Emeryville, CA 94608
US
Domain Name: UP0.NET
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
LYRIS TECHNOLOGIES, INC
Lyris Domains Registrar
5858 Horton Street
Emeryville, CA 94608
US
(510)844-1514
(510)811-1599 [fax]
rhouck@lyris.com
Domain created on 19-Jan-2002
Domain expires on 19-Jan-2011
Last updated on 10-Nov-2008
Domain servers in listed order:
NS4.UPTILT.COM
NS3.UPTILT.COM
Wow.. I'd hav eto give this phishing attempt 2 stars (out of 5). Not only did they not even bother to TRY to fake the email address, it didn't look too real.
As for the domain, I wonder if that is the real information, faked information (most likely) or a stolen domain? You normally don't see an old domain being used for phishing.
Edit: Nor do you see multiple year registrations (2011).
Edit2: It could also be a virus on the domain owner's computer.
Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.
and it resolves to some type of email marketing company (spam)?
or maybe they have just outsourced their mailing lists to up0.net
Last edited by VirtualT; 04-28-2009 at 05:01 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Seriously, how long would it take to confirm if this is real or fake??? geesh :(
.Buying .ca domains pm with pricing, will reply ..., thx
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . WebSite Developer Wanted!!! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
If in doubt - assume it's fake. If it claims it requires action, close out the email, open up a browser and type in the real sites address (www.moniker.com) or give their customer service a call.
Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.
Now thats crazy. Yeah a lot of the big brands wont risk spamming out from their own domains, but man... make a subdomain or SOMETHING, not those hAxxor domains
Regards,
0bx.net
Mafiaonlinegame.com - Free Facebook Mafia Game !!
Bookmarks