Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2007, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Whois-Search's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-19-2009 05:04 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,123
DNF$: 1,157
Country:


Angry AboutUs.org Whois Abuse

Ray King (founder of Snapnames) seems to have started aboutus.org back in August 2006:

AboutUs: A Wiki About Every Website

However I've just noticed this:

Quote:
The company has partnerships with a number of domain registrars in the works to put links to each site’s AboutUs page at the top of WhoIs info, in exchange for a badge linked back to that registrar.
So when you search for a domain at say enom.com you get:

Whois Search - Domain name whois

Quote:
=-=-=-=
Visit AboutUs.org for more information about enom.com
AboutUs: enom.com
Which i'm sure is against the ICANN rules?

Also if you check my "about us" page which I did not create:

Whois-Search.com - AboutUs

It shows my old whois details which I know can only now be found on Alexa:

Related Info for: whois-search.com/

Which seems to be where they get most of their details from:

SonSpring | AboutUs.org - a Sham

Quote:
It rips most of its info straight from Alexa
So I suggest people edit their "about us" page and even their details on Alexa. Also i'm going to add a nice scraper to get rid of "Visit AboutUs.org for more information about" and complain to ICANN.

Whois-Search is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 01-22-2007, 06:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Omniscient
 
labrocca's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-18-2009 10:07 PM
iTrader: (45)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,487
DNF$: 1,519
Location: NYC

Send a message via AIM to labrocca

Re: AboutUs.org Whois Abuse

Exactly where is the abuse? And what ICANN rule do you think they are breaking? WHOIS has requirements for minimal information. Doubtful that giving EXTRA information is against any rules.
__________________
Join today my Support Forums. Otherwise try my viewing my portfolio.
labrocca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 07:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Dan Anderson
Last Online: 10-12-2009 05:44 PM
iTrader: (42)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,100
DNF$: 1,064
Location: .ma.us
Country:

Send a message via AIM to droplister Send a message via MSN to droplister Send a message via Skype™ to droplister

Re: AboutUs.org Whois Abuse

Its public information so... meh. It's a rather useless site imo
__________________
droplister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Whois-Search's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-19-2009 05:04 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,123
DNF$: 1,157
Country:


Re: AboutUs.org Whois Abuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by labrocca View Post
Exactly where is the abuse? And what ICANN rule do you think they are breaking? WHOIS has requirements for minimal information. Doubtful that giving EXTRA information is against any rules.
On this page ICANN list what should be in a Whois record:

http://www.icann.org/announcements/advisory-10may02.htm

No where does it say "an advert for aboutus.org"

Whois-Search is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Account Terminated
 
domain newbie's Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-19-2008 12:08 PM
iTrader: (22)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,891
DNF$: 12,700
Location: my home is where my bank account is
Country:


Re: AboutUs.org Whois Abuse

aboutus.org is complete useless, you also can edit any info for any site there i.e.

http://www.aboutus.org/Enom.com#eNom...2C_dns_hosting
domain newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 08:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Dave Zan
Last Online: 11-12-2009 09:55 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,663
DNF$: 0
Location: Manila


Re: AboutUs.org Whois Abuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whois-Search View Post
On this page ICANN list what should be in a Whois record:

http://www.icann.org/announcements/advisory-10may02.htm

No where does it say "an advert for aboutus.org"

You might want to note the first paragraph's first sentence of that link:

Quote:
The purpose of this advisory is to assist ICANN-accredited registrars in understanding their obligations under ICANN's Registrar Accreditation Agreement (RAA) regarding the accuracy of Whois data.
Then check the ICANN-accredited registrar list and see if aboutus.org is listed
there.
__________________
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Dave Zan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 09:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
DNF Addict
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-14-2009 07:38 PM
iTrader: (115)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,694
DNF$: 5,360
Location: New Jersey
Country:


Re: AboutUs.org Whois Abuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whois-Search View Post
On this page ICANN list what should be in a Whois record:

http://www.icann.org/announcements/advisory-10may02.htm

No where does it say "an advert for aboutus.org"


Godaddy truncates its port 53 results. I have filed many complaints about that with ICANN but they never do anything or respond.
__________________
Trademarks.org - trademark information
Keyword Factory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 11:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Philadelphia Lawyer
 
jberryhill's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2009 01:17 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,987
DNF$: 6,350

Send a message via ICQ to jberryhill

Re: AboutUs.org Whois Abuse

http://www.aboutus.org/AboutUs:Concerns

Quote:
On this page ICANN list what should be in a Whois record:

http://www.icann.org/announcements/advisory-10may02.htm

No where does it say "an advert for aboutus.org"
That advisory lists what should be "in" a whois record. It does not state that anything else is prohibited and should be "out" of a whois record.

Sample question for cognitive calibration, please answer yes or no:

If I ask you to bring three cookies to my party and you bring four cookies, did you do what I asked?
__________________
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
jberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blogs impact on domain market gogeorge Gold Cafe 8 03-19-2005 05:24 PM
68 .infos - $15-$25 samscripts Domains for Sale (Domain Sales) - Fixed Prices Above $100 5 02-13-2004 05:55 AM
two domains names (3 characters) taz Domain Name Appraisal Discussion 6 01-21-2003 07:37 PM
Whois Abuse? deist Domain Name News 17 09-04-2002 01:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com