Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2005, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Dave Zan
Last Online: 11-12-2009 09:55 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,663
DNF$: 0
Location: Manila


adraianaventis.com UDRP

http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2004-0977.html

It's been quite some time since I saw a UDRP where the respondent won even
though s/he didn't reply to the challenge.

Fortunately for the respondent, the panelist took time to research extensively
and found quite a few interesting things:

Quote:
It follows that a finding in favour of the Complainants in connection with the tests of paragraphs 4(a)(i) and (ii), is likely to result in a finding that the domain name at issue was registered in bad faith, and the Panel so finds.

The test of paragraph 4(a)(iii) is a dual one, and the Panel must also be satisfied that the domain name at issue has been used in bad faith.

The Panel accessed the domain name at issue, and found that the web site was billed as the “Official website of Adraiana Ventis”, “Adraiana Ventis – Pornstar Extraordinaire”, described as “a former teen webcam model from Tampa”.

The website contains several endorsements: “Congratulations to Adraiana Ventis for winning the AVN Best Newbie and critics’ award”, “Adraiana also won the CAVR Star of the Year Award.”

There is a website, “www.avnawards.com,” which refers to the “AVN Awards for excellence in adult movies”. There is a website, “www.cavr.com” (cavr apparently being the initials of “Cyberspace Adult Video Reviews”), which appears to be a comprehensive porn website.

Browsing the name Adraiana Ventis or adrianaventis on a browser such as Google results in many websites relating to the pornographic content promised in the “www.adraianaventis.com” website.

It is the Panel’s conclusion that the domain name at issue is used for the purposes of a working pornographic website, as opposed to a website prepared for the purposes of these proceedings.

Given the name and reputation of Adraiana Ventis, the domain name, in all probability was not registered to take advantage of any confusion with Complainants’ marks. Therefore, the domain name was not registered or used in bad faith.

In view of the above, the Panel concludes that the Complainants are not likely to have their name/trade mark tarnished by such use, and, accordingly, decides that the domain name at issue is not being used in bad faith.

The Panel notes, in particular, that the Complainants have not complained of any approach by the owners of the domain name to them with a view to selling them the domain name.
I didn't know there was a group dedicated to "excellence in adult movies". But
then again, I guess it shouldn't be surprising. :-D
__________________
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Dave Zan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 03-03-2005, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 02:57 AM
iTrader: (394)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,904
DNF$: 4,079
Location: USA
Country:




Re: adraianaventis.com UDRP

maybe the panelists received Adraiana's services :-D
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
My Countdown Counting down to: Snapnames rebate hitting my mailbox
78 days 14 hours 24 minutes
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Bishop
 
namestrands's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-16-2009 03:42 PM
iTrader: (117)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,954
DNF$: 2,515
Location: UK
Country:


Re: adraianaventis.com UDRP

Quote:
Originally Posted by RADiSTAR
maybe the panelists received Adraiana's services :-D
Lol... amusement aside.. that was a fair ruling, I therefore tip my hat to the right and honorable panelist.. job well done.

namestrands is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ari Goldberger Wins Mexico.com UDRP Proceeding Duke Domain Name Legal Issues 15 08-12-2004 12:52 AM
UDRP - Gallup Poll vs New Mexico hiOsilver Domain Name Legal Issues 25 03-27-2004 02:04 AM
withdrawn UDRP - WIPO sucks !!! DaddyHalbucks Domain Name Legal Issues 19 03-10-2003 09:55 PM
I expect to receive C&D and possible UDRP - advice needed!! tonyk2000 Domain Name Legal Issues 6 02-14-2003 03:27 PM
UDRP Settled Fearless Domain Name Legal Issues 7 10-30-2002 06:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com