It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

DNforum.com - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals
 
Register Now!
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered to our forums. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:  
Birthday:       I agree to forum rules 

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Legal Issues
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2008, 12:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:05 PM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 538
DNF$: 148
Location: United Kingdom
Country:


Advice needed re DRS

A friend of mine has just been served a DRS (this is the .co.uk procedure).
The domain is along the lines "TREWEF.co.uk" . There are 2 complainants, one having rights in "TRE" and other having rights in "WEf" . They say they are in process of merging and company will be called TRE-WEf (note with the hyphen). (note also the lower case f that makes it disctinctive.

I have a parking page for the planned new company site called " tangible Residis ergo welter ergo fallis" .

How best to proceed and defend against this illegitimate attempt to take my only domain name ?.

DG
domaingenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-05-2008, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
fab
 
fab's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 03:31 AM
iTrader: (26)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,357
DNF$: 4
Location: Elad
Country:


One thing I don't understand is, at the top you say the bottom, your only domain.

Have you consulted a lawyer?
fab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:05 PM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 538
DNF$: 148
Location: United Kingdom
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by fab View Post
One thing I don't understand is, at the top you say the bottom, your only domain.

Have you consulted a lawyer?
Hmm, well maybe a few more than 1. Nope no lawyers as theyre all too expensive.

DG
domaingenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 04:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
fab
 
fab's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 03:31 AM
iTrader: (26)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,357
DNF$: 4
Location: Elad
Country:


How much do you think this domain is worth? Like if it's not worth all that much, than why are you so worried?
fab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 05:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:05 PM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 538
DNF$: 148
Location: United Kingdom
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by fab View Post
How much do you think this domain is worth? Like if it's not worth all that much, than why are you so worried?
Im not too worried, just if I win the DRS then it is worth much more than before the DRS.

DG
domaingenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 10:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
DNQuest.com's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-23-2008 04:35 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,100
DNF$: 4,735
Location: Columbia, MD


It seems a certain someone heard of a possible merger of 2 companies, registered a domain and is creating some sort of fake site to try to establish rights in hopes of winning a DRS and sell it to the new "company" for lots of money. ( I bet I'm close on this )

Anyway, creating a real developed site could help you in the long run. It will help further that a business was already established using the name you mentioned (what ever that is) prior to registration of the domain. This means you had rights at the time of registration and not trying to pull a fast one.

BTW- Your original post says "a friend" and then you say "...if I win the DRS..." consistancy helps too
__________________
Track emails that you send, PM me to find out how....
DNQuest.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:05 PM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 538
DNF$: 148
Location: United Kingdom
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by DNQuest.com View Post
It seems a certain someone heard of a possible merger of 2 companies, registered a domain and is creating some sort of fake site to try to establish rights in hopes of winning a DRS and sell it to the new "company" for lots of money. ( I bet I'm close on this )

Anyway, creating a real developed site could help you in the long run. It will help further that a business was already established using the name you mentioned (what ever that is) prior to registration of the domain. This means you had rights at the time of registration and not trying to pull a fast one.

BTW- Your original post says "a friend" and then you say "...if I win the DRS..." consistancy helps too
Lol, close I guess !. Yes got to watch such slips !. I know someone who probably resides on here also ,sold the .coms x 2 to them !

DG
domaingenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 AM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com

Learn Domains
Promote Domains
Research Domains
Buy Domains
Resell Domains
Park Domains
Sell Domains
Build Domains
Host Domains
Trademark Domains
Domain Domains
manage Domains
Appraise Domains