Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: advice needed

  1. #1
    DNF Addict
    seeker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    4,204
    DNF$
    7,643
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,643
    Donate  

    advice needed

    Could anyone point me to decisions regarding successful defenses on domains that contain a TM word as PART of the domain that have been used for either fan sites or communities?
    I run a site (for 11 years now) which is a forum type site that is non profit.
    Although that specific site is not the one in question, I had in 2002 regged a domain to be used as an extension for this site (a sub forum/gallery).
    It has never been parked, monetized or ever been used in bad faith (for sale etc...).
    This is my primary hobby site, and I know it is hard to believe in a domain forum, this was never used to make money, nor was it ever my intention.
    I was contacted by the law firm of this company with a C&D email.
    I was just wondering if there is any precedence that I can quote to defend myself.
    I know there are a lot of sites out there that talk about different brands and their products, but an actual case in which this defense was used would really come in handy.
    I am not interested whatsoever in selling the domain to the company, if they insist I will hand it over.
    But it would be a shame as the domain would really help in my SEO rankings, as well as getting more members for the site.
    The domain in question is archived since 2002 with a default cpanel login page, and since 2005 points to the main site that has been online for 11 years.

    Has anyone ever been able to defend against a C&D if the domain contains a TM word of a big company (an example that is random: Yamahabikes.com, not sure if that is regged, just using an example).

    Any info is very much appreciated.
    In my many years of domaining, and with thousands of names, this is the first C&D I have ever received, and it is ironic that it is for a domain that I got for personal use, in an area that is my primary hobby and to which I have offered much to the community for 11+ years

    Thanks.
    Seek... And you shall Find

  2. #2
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    domaingenius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,238
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    1,811
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,811
    Donate  
    I had a similar letter from an attorneys in USA seeking to get hold of a domain I have which was their trademark with a different country/city name in front of the tm name. They tried several times and I just said I did not accept their contentions and heard no more from them at all. If you want to PM me the name I will then tell you what I think .

    DG

  3. #3
    DNF Addict
    seeker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    4,204
    DNF$
    7,643
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,643
    Donate  
    Thanks for the reply.
    I checked this law firm, and they are legit.
    In their email, they give examples of 4 similar domains that they won, because of ''cyber squatting''. All 4 of these domains where parked with intent to sell, and on 2 of them, they got offers for $50,000, so it makes sense they won these.
    I am in a very different category. Never parked it, never attempted to sell...etc...
    There must be some example of fan sites that are legit and can defend the use, but how to find such references...?
    Seek... And you shall Find

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    domaingenius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,238
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    1,811
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,811
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by seeker View Post
    Thanks for the reply.
    I checked this law firm, and they are legit.
    In their email, they give examples of 4 similar domains that they won, because of ''cyber squatting''. All 4 of these domains where parked with intent to sell, and on 2 of them, they got offers for $50,000, so it makes sense they won these.
    I am in a very different category. Never parked it, never attempted to sell...etc...
    There must be some example of fan sites that are legit and can defend the use, but how to find such references...?
    I would do a search on the WIPO or National Arbitration Forum websites and go through all the decisions until you find one that matches your argument,if there is one. Or do a search on yahoo or google for such result using appropriate words.

    DG

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com