Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2003, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
strongvis's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-09-2009 09:47 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 533
DNF$: 1,852


Attempted Theft of Domains

Heres the name of a guy who tried stealing all my domains by obtaining my old email address and trying to transfer the domains from namescout.com

josephsahib@yahoo.com

Joseph Sahib
197 E. Brooklyn Ave
Lansing, MI
48909
810-788-8181

Just a little friendly tidbit of info
strongvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 03-01-2003, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
ObtainADomain's Avatar
 
Name: Chris
Last Online: 02-17-2007 06:31 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 109
DNF$: 146
Location: Here and there
Country:


How did you stop him from succeeding?
ObtainADomain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
strongvis's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-09-2009 09:47 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 533
DNF$: 1,852


namescout locked down the account and i switched the passwords as soon as I saw something was up.
strongvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 06:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Account Terminated
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-05-2003 10:23 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,605
DNF$: 2,708


That's why one should not use free email addresses for contacts.
timechange.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 07:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
strongvis's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-09-2009 09:47 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 533
DNF$: 1,852


i didnt timechange. I had registered this set of domains and used an old email address and mistakenly let the domain name drop before I changed the contact info. That's how the theives got access to my account.

Stupid on their part for not changing the passwords too. They changed all the other contact info on the domains.
strongvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 09:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-09-2008 07:29 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 344
DNF$: 459


Have you called the guy?

I can't believe a guy smart enough to find your names, find that the contact email address you had listed was on a domain that expired, he registered that domain and attempted to transfer domains.

Just think, he could have transferred them away, kept the name servers the same so you wouldn't have known it, just let some time pass and then move them again or just sell them.

You got lucky.
-WC-
WildCard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 10:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Nexus's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 02:09 PM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,492
DNF$: 48
Location: Boston, MA


Good for you strongvis. Wildcard is right, lucky! Sometimes these guys are just playing games to see if they CAN, meanwhile deciding if they want to go through with it.

On that topic, here's something I'd like to shine a spotlight on, you guys tell me if this smells right. I was looking to snap the name DOMAINMALL.COM as the current registrant at the time had let it expired. The name officially expired on 17-Oct-2002.

I called Verisign to see what was up (basically to rattle the cage) and they told me to cool my heels. As far as they were concerned, "internally" the address would expire a year from now ( 17-Oct-2003 ). This "internal" date was of course the automatic renewal date expired names are set to and not an official "renewal" from the registrant. If you go to Internic's whois, its the date set there, but not in the whois.

Undaunted, I snapped it, and forgot about it. SnapName's dutifully set me this notice about it having "expired":
Quote:
SnapNames has detected that the registration for the domain
name:
domainmall.com
has expired.
I use Watch My Domains Professional, and had recorded the whois record at the time for my records.
Quote:
DENNINGTON SALES AND MARKETING LTD (DOMAINMALL-DOM)
43 Elizabeth Avenue
NASSAU, BAHAMAS -
BS

Domain Name: DOMAINMALL.COM

Administrative Contact:
DENNINGTON SALES AND MARKETING LTD (DS2952-ORG) dennington@mail.nu
DENNINGTON SALES AND MARKETING LTD
43 Elizabeth Avenue
NASSAU, BAHAMAS -
BS
INT+46 73 6124348 fax: INT+1 208 730 4669
Technical Contact:
Vegasys, Registry (VR651-ORG) registry@VEGASYS.NET
IIG AB
Box 5274
Karlstad
SE
+46 54 15 63 00
Fax- +46 54 15 70 90

Record expires on 17-Oct-2002.
Record created on 16-Oct-1996.
Database last updated on 7-Feb-2003 21:41:09 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS-01.CARAMBOLE.COM 213.180.68.130
NS-02.CARAMBOLE.COM 213.180.68.131
NS-03.CARAMBOLE.COM 213.180.65.27
NS-04.CARAMBOLE.COM 213.180.65.28
At one point, I was switching my SnapNames around, and while I had my snap "off" of DomainMall.com, someone else snapped it. Ouch. My mistake, but I decided I'd contact the current registrant to see what was up with the name and make an offer. No response. In fact "dennington@mail.nu" bounced back to me!

Quote:
----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<dennington@mail.nu>
----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to sitemail2.everyone.net.:
>>> RCPT To:<dennington@mail.nu>
Interesting that mail.nu was run through Everyone.net's service.

I kept watching it though, and recently, something strange happened. Without being renewed or otherwise altered, all the REGISTRANT and contact information changed!

Quote:
Bo Redin (DOMAINMALL-DOM)
Box 80
Borlange
SE

Domain Name: DOMAINMALL.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Bo Redin (YSRNLPHJUO) botorstenredin@yahoo.com
Bo Redin
Box 80
Borlange
SE
+46-70-5920100

Record expires on 17-Oct-2002.
Record created on 16-Oct-1996.
Database last updated on 1-Mar-2003 22:07:44 EST.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS-01.CARAMBOLE.COM 213.180.68.130
NS-02.CARAMBOLE.COM 213.180.68.131
NS-03.CARAMBOLE.COM 213.180.65.27
NS-04.CARAMBOLE.COM 213.180.65.28
Might be perfectly legit, but given the combination of circumstances I'm suspicious (if the Everyone.net Mail.ru runner is not scrupulous, I'm sure they could have arranged something.) DomainMall.com is registered through Network Solutions. If I were the owner, rather than just change all my information (for whatever reason, sale, whatever) the FIRST thing I'd do is RENEW the thing.

Well, here's me posting these findings somewhere at least. Dennington Sales and Marketing LTD apparently runs a website called DateNews.com. The contact information there worked, but they've either chosen to ignore me, or no one is reading their mail.

I feel like Fox Mulder now. Hmph.

~ Nexus
__________________
FreeWho.com - Free Internet Tools!
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
strongvis's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-09-2009 09:47 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 533
DNF$: 1,852


Yeah i got real lucky guys that's why I'm posting. this guy obviously learned from his mistakes and is bound to screw the next vicitim MUCH worse.
strongvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2003, 12:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-13-2009 03:36 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 590
DNF$: 105
Location: Boca Raton, FL

Send a message via ICQ to dtobias

The lesson for everybody is... always be sure to keep the contact info in your domain records up to date!
dtobias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2003, 01:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User - Must Upgrade To Post
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 07-01-2003 04:56 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 153
DNF$: 197


is that guy John Biondio stealing names again?
cluelessdomainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2003, 06:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 08-31-2007 01:35 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,140
DNF$: 3,049
Location: Wisconsin


why dont you tell us, you're the one with a friend who seems to know all about it.

Quote:
Originally posted by cluelessdomainer
is that guy John Biondio stealing names again?
draqon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 12:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
Account Terminated
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 06-05-2003 10:23 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,605
DNF$: 2,708


That was an old thread but nevertheless very interesting
timechange.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com