Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2008, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Mario
Last Online: Yesterday 06:13 AM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
DNF$: 110
Location: Italy
Country:


AustralianStyle.com.au

Im facing an issue.
I registered some domains through WEBORTEL.COM, a reseller of AUSTRALIANSTYLE.COM.AU / DOMAINCENTRAL.COM.AU.

I payed all my domains, and one day I discovered that a lot of them had been cancelled, using the expedient of the money-back period (5 days).

My account was cancelled, and my domains pointed to the domaincentral parking system.

All this without any advice, by anyone.

When I asked about this to the support system of domaincentral they told me that I did wrong to trust in this reseller (?) and if I wanted back my domains I had to pay again..

My questions are:

- is not an accredited registrar responsible for the acting of their resellers?
a simple customer as I am HOW can know details about a reseller of a big company?

- law is protecting me? is not an ABUSE to change nameservers for my domains without any permission nor advice? and to close my account and using my domains for their own money-related purposes ?

Thanks in advance for your help!
M
hola987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 06-29-2008, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
domaingenius's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 11:07 AM
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,027
DNF$: 148
Location: United Kingdom
Country:


When did this occur ?. I see Webortel.com is on sedo.com servers and parked at moment
and appears only to have been regged in March 2008.

As for legal side of it, yes I guess you could probably try to hold the Registrar responsible
for resellers, but at end of day any Court action would be lenthy and expensive
and you may lose out.

DG
domaingenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Mario
Last Online: Yesterday 06:13 AM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
DNF$: 110
Location: Italy
Country:


Thanks dg..
It happened on 13-july. Few days later, the website had been parked at sedo.

So, it seems that registrars can make everything through resellers, isn't it?
No more responsibility.
If they want, they can make a reseller account, people believe that they can register domains, and then close their account and ask again for money

I even sent the complainant forms through the ICANN, as for today no answers..
hola987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
domaingenius's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 11:07 AM
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,027
DNF$: 148
Location: United Kingdom
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by hola987 View Post
Thanks dg..
It happened on 13-july. Few days later, the website had been parked at sedo.

So, it seems that registrars can make everything through resellers, isn't it?
No more responsibility.
If they want, they can make a reseller account, people believe that they can register domains, and then close their account and ask again for money

I even sent the complainant forms through the ICANN, as for today no answers..
To be honest best forget and move on. I think the website was set up to
deliberately entice people and you will simply waste time and money chasing them.

DG

This is the owner of both those .com.ae domains you mention;
Domain Name: NICKBOLTON.COM

Registrant:
Australian Style Pty Ltd
Nick Bolton (nick@bolton.id.au)
1/50 Fitzroy St
St. Kilda West
null,3182
AU
Tel. +61.386867711

Now have to prove he is connected to the WEBORTEL.COM

DG

Just so I do not make any mistakes. I do not know what this Nick Bolton guy has done anything wrong, all I am posting are details and you can make of those what you will. It is possible AUSTRALIANSTYLE.COM.AU / DOMAINCENTRAL.COM.AU (both of which Nick Bolton owns) simply appointed Webortel.com as a reseller, but then they would have all their contact details and if bona fide would help you.

DG

Last edited by domaingenius; 06-30-2008 at 02:53 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
domaingenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 11:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 08-16-2008 09:23 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 20
DNF$: 37
Location: Australia


Australian Style have always done the right thing by me, I reccomend you call them and speak to their support staff directly, I am sure they can help shed some light on the matter.
WadeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com