

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) | |||
|
Country: | Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol Well I own the domains bca.net and bca.info This past week as I shopped these domains around I ran across a bump. I received an email from one of the companies/organizations I emailed, the British Cheerleading Association chair person stating I was in posession of " their " trademark ( bca ). At first I was shocked, here is his exact email. First email... Quote:
I replied his threat was some what laughable and many 60 plus compaines/organixations use BCA in their title or short form...his reply second email... Quote:
I again stated I see no reason or ground which he has to sue. Infact I am not abusing the term or using it for cheerleading and consider the number of companies which use BCA how is it " HIS " name? Infact why not go after the dot com, info, us, org. etc. ? Third and last emial..he sent. Quote:
To which I replied I would counter sue and still see no basis for his attitude. Personally I think he just see's $$$$$. Infact my reply the first time ended by saying " I see you are not interested, thanks any way. " Yet he persued. Its almost as he has no reply for my questions, just straight forward " its mine ". What grounds does he have? When was BCA registered for them? Considering I have not abused the name ( last 8 years been used for a courier service ) nor used for anything associated with cheerleading, should I take this serious and counter sue or..... | |||
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Lose your shoes! Name: Daniel Last Online: Today 09:46 PM iTrader: (24) Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 409
DNF$: 8,573 Location: Boston
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol Did a quick search at the USPTO website. I found no evidence of a live registered trademark for the term "BCA" that has anything to do with a cheerleading organization. So you're safe from American cheerleaders, anyway... Is there a website for British trademark registrations? Go team go... |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
|
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol They are in the UK. http://www.cheerleading.org.uk/ I was trying through basic search here on UK TM's and got nothing for BCA either, but remember its just a basic search/ So... |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| DNF Regular Last Online: Today 08:52 PM iTrader: (36) Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 709
DNF$: 2,469 Location: DomainNameWire.com | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol Well, the guy obviously doesn't know what he's talking about anyone. Nominet will have nothing to do with your domain names. |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict Name: Doug Last Online: 11-19-2009 06:09 PM iTrader: (175) Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,886
DNF$: 68,548 Location: Florida
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol Trade Mark is actually Trademark. I would check the validity of the email.
__________________ Domain Research Tool - Save $125!! Discounted DNF$ For Sale - Pimp RPG Game Alphabetize.org |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) | |
|
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol I assume he is serious. Infact I know for a fact it is their founder/chair person. He ended each email with the following. I think legally I cannot and have no plan to use ity for the purpose of cheerleading, which is fine. But when someone believe unrealistic things and does send a letter, should you even bother replying or countering? Should I call my reg company and warn them? Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict Name: Doug Last Online: 11-19-2009 06:09 PM iTrader: (175) Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,886
DNF$: 68,548 Location: Florida
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol I'd sit back and wait for them to send you something in the mail. You should develop the names with a small site that has something to do with other than cheerleading.
__________________ Domain Research Tool - Save $125!! Discounted DNF$ For Sale - Pimp RPG Game Alphabetize.org |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol A trademark doesn't equal a domain; web content used on the domain has to relative to the TM for it to be an issue, and even then it's a tough call when it comes to 3-letter names. Also, .net and .info are global TLDs, this is a UK based organisation. They don't even own BCA.org.uk I know what I'd like to say to these jokers but it isn't repeatable here ![]() - Rob Last edited by Leading Names; 11-13-2005 at 06:39 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost |
| | |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 04-22-2006 01:23 PM iTrader: (21) Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
DNF$: 2,935 Location: Florida | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol ignore any contact from them, you will only need to reply if you receive mail from wipo/udrp, in which you will get to make your statements then. It will cost them 1,000usd to file in the first place. You should be fine, just go on with your everyday process. |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Bloody lovely Last Online: Yesterday 08:07 PM iTrader: (394) Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,903
DNF$: 4,071 Location: USA
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol Ignore him, till you get that notice in the mail.
__________________ ![]() DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source Acroplex - Web & Graphics Acro.net - My Blog |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) | |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol Quote:
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. | |
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| Alleged Cybersquatter Last Online: Today 10:51 PM iTrader: (15) Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,787
DNF$: 2,407 Location: Toronto, ON
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol First thing: STOP talking to this guy, you are only supplying him with inventory for any future action. Actually, WHENEVER someone threatens or even hints at anything (WIPO or legal), stop right there. If he is just bluffing, you are wasting your time; if he is for real, you should wait for his formal notice (such as a cease and desist letter or court summons) and talk to your lawyer instead. Good luck.
__________________ SELLING - chinatradeblog.com ($1,000), chinatradeforum.com ($1,000), sinotown.com (US$500) SOLD 2009 - jinggangshan.com (US$4,000), lujiazui.com (US$3,000), jinqiao.com (US$3,000) |
| | |
| | #16 (permalink) |
|
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol Just curious but what would they ask me to cease doing? I do not make money off cheerleading ppc. And I do not use the domain to abuse the british cheerleading association at all. Does this letter more so ask for domain transfer? If so I would hit the ceiling. |
| | |
| | #17 (permalink) |
| Last Online: Today 10:28 PM iTrader: (86) Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,480
DNF$: 3,142 Location: San Diego, CA
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol There is only one right thing to do. I know you thought of it, Go ahead, you have to do it. Post that cheerleader porn. |
| | |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict Last Online: 03-03-2009 10:05 AM iTrader: (1) Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 6,721
DNF$: 978 Location: Tonga
Country: | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol Reverse cyberjacking is getting increasingly common today as a strategy to get nice domain names cheap. Nonetheless, the fact that you attempted selling the domain to the party in question puts you in a bit of a ackward position, especially when you quoted them $x,XXX or some kind of price that incentivises legal action as maybe a cheaper means of acquisition. Just sit back, and wait to see if this thug from the bad part of London places his bluff, or is just full of it.
__________________ If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon |
| | |
| | #20 (permalink) | |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | Re: Being threatened by a cheerleader...lol Quote:
Standard speech #342: Welcome to the legal issues forum. Here members discuss legal issues. I enjoy these discussions, and I keep the forum on a browser tab in order to provide pithy, and once in a while informative, comments from time to time. As stated often here, I reserve the right to be sarcastic, and that is my "fee" for invoking the presence of this particular demon here. One informative comment I frequently make is that lawyers are encouraged by the ethics code to devote at least some of their time to the public good by, for example, educating the public about the law. Did I say "'Welcome to the legal issues forum' already? Another thing the ethics code provides is that specific legal advice is subject to rules of confidentiality, and is privileged against discovery. That second part means that, even though you might say a number of damaging things to your lawyer while consulting in confidence, nothing you say to your lawyer in private could be used against you. Of course, anything you say to your lawyer in public, for example on an internet message board, would ever be considered confidential. For a lawyer to encourage people to talk about their specific actual legal problems on an internet message board would be a bad thing for that lawyer to do. That lawyer might be considered to be inducing people to harm themselves by saying things, or saying things in a way, that might actually harm those people, since their words would be used against them by a motivated opponent. That lawyer would not be a good lawyer.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. | |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |