I agree, it was a pathetic decision.
I hope the Respondent appeals in real court.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!
I agree, it was a pathetic decision.
I hope the Respondent appeals in real court.
George Kirikos
Home Page
One main problem here is that both engaged in the same line of business at
relatively near times.
Hmmm…
And they say their proof of common-law usage is this:BlackSingles.com, the Complainant’s predecessor in title, is the proprietor of Georgia State service mark registration number S19790 dated February 22, 2002 BLACKSINGLES (word and design) with a claimed date of first use in Georgia of August 1, 1998.
Then the majority believes:The Complainant also contends that it has common law rights in respect of the name BlackSingles.com. It produces by way of supporting evidence press articles making reference to the Complainant and its founder from US national and local publications dating back to February 2000.
It’s like I can tell the panel, “I started doing business in such on Feb. 1999,As will be seen below, while the majority of Panelists are ready to accept on the balance of probabilities that by August 1999 (the date that the Respondent registered the Domain Name and some six months prior to the first of the exhibited journal articles) the Complainant had acquired a goodwill under the name sufficient to constitute common law rights in respect of the name, it is true that there is no direct evidence before the Panel to that effect.
and here’s a promotional article dated August 1999 proving it!” But I actually
engaged in such 2 days prior to that article and just told the publisher about
it shortly. (although I guess that’s for a court to decide…)
Is it reasonable to assume the business may have established itself 6 months
prior to that article or even to assume such in the first place? I wouldn’t think
so without direct proof like the dissenting panelist.
Was it a printed journal telling people about it? If so, did that journal send any
publication to Canada-based users that time?
I tend to agree with the panelists on this part, though:
Uh, do they actually meant the respondent's site, not the complianant's?When they are forwarded, as they are currently, to the Black Singles Connection site, the predominant name they see is ‘Black Singles’, the word ‘Connection’ appearing in much smaller letters. Visitors intending to visit the Complainant’s site are most unlikely to be alerted to their mistake.
However, do visitors really care if they’re going to either domain if they have
the same intent to look for dates anyway? Then again, the complainant does
“care” since they've claimed common-law usage.
But this phrase is the one I like best: :-D
You win some, you lose some. Good job anyway, John.Respondent mounts a major attack on the validity of those registrations
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Thank you.You win some, you lose some. Good job anyway, John.
Nothing is certain in any disputed matter. I agree that the UDRP was mis-applied here. The part that struck me as odd was the majority's characterization of the Respondent's legitimate interest claim to be "weak". It is a long-settled issue that the "no legitimate rights" prong of the UDRP refers to an absence of rights - not a balance of strength, but an utter absence. By characterizing the Respondent's claim as "weaK", and not non-existent, the majority practically admits they are not applying the Policy correctly.
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
You're welcome, John. Hang in there!Originally Posted by jberryhill
Now that sounds terribly familiar. A panelist commented something like that inOriginally Posted by jberryhill
CircleID:
http://www.circleid.com/article/1152_0_1_0_C/
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Could you give us an idea of the cost associated with hiring him - and the value - if you don't mind could you point us to any specifc urdp cases?Originally Posted by DotComGod
costs:
berryhills costs are actually very very reasonable for a lawyer of his skill level.
value:
well he wins virtually all his udrps, so nuff said. (yeah i realize im ignoring your request for specific udrps but im way too lazy to go digging those up)
This is still one of my favorites:
idiotsguide.com
http://www.arb-forum.com/domains/decisions/95559.htm
I particularly liked it because the Complainant's attorney was tremendously rude in pre-dispute correspondence.
This one was also a lot of fun. The Complainant's attorney was the Complainant's principal's brother, and I think he was working for free:
thenerds.com
http://www.arb-forum.com/domains/decisions/155179.htm
This one got surprisingly out of control, in terms of volume of material submitted during the dispute, but you'd never guess from the decision what a mud wrestling match it was:
cityofsalinas.com
http://www.arb-forum.com/domains/decisions/97076.htm
But the hands-down winner in the "you wouldn't believe the exhibits" department, was this gem:
hotmomnextdoor.com
http://www.arb-forum.com/domains/decisions/479579.htm
Now, if only the hot mom next door was a black single, then maybe...
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
Bookmarks