It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

DNforum.com - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals
 
Register Now!
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered to our forums. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:  
Birthday:       I agree to forum rules 

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Legal Issues
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2002, 05:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
HLK
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 10-22-2007 03:00 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 268
DNF$: 1,955
Location: Atlanta, Ga.


C&D for AutoAgent.com

After almost one year of me owning AutoAgent.com, Stoneage Corporation sends me a C&D.

They claim "common law rights" to the term "Auto Agent"
because they offered a servce by that name in the past.

The truth is that they can't stand the fact that they
let their registration lapse so they want it trasferred to them.

Meanwhile, I have developed the site and have big plans for it.

Stoneage is resorting to this is very sad indeed.

They do not have a trademark on it and while they don't have
a lot to stand on legally, I hate dealing with this stuff.

As someone once told me "you have to have thick skin to be in this biz".

You sure do...
HLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-02-2002, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Last Online: Yesterday 07:27 PM
iTrader: (7)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 744
DNF$: 4,113
Location: Italy
Country:


Hi, just ignore that email.
Sheva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2002, 03:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Silverwire
Guest
 
Last Online: 12-31-1969 07:00 PM
Posts: n/a
DNF$: 0 [Check]


Just forward the e-mail to your LegalAgent(tm).
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2002, 06:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
conkermaniac
Guest
 
Last Online: 12-31-1969 07:00 PM
Posts: n/a
DNF$: 0 [Check]


Hi,

Yeah, I agree. It's a total pain, but you might be able to make some money if they file a lawsuit, since the seem to have no ground on which to sue.

I would just ignore it, and if they persist, you should forward it to your agent/lawyer/etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2002, 10:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 12-01-2005 11:02 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 224
DNF$: 1,216
Location: Davie, Fl


I disagree. Ignoring it will not make it go away. I would recommend that you have legal counsel respond that you have developed the domain into a working web site and that you have no intention of transfering it or selling it to them. That leaves you in a much stronger position if they DO bring an action against you.
__________________
Howard Neu, Esq.
HOWARD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2002, 07:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 09-20-2008 06:50 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 17
DNF$: 77


It is important to reply to C&D letters

It is better to reply to C&D letters instead of ignoring them. UDRP decisions have held that a reply is helpful in establishing a claim of legitimacy. Here is a quote from a decision that I won regarding Chantellebra.com:

It is not enough blithely to say that he did not need to reply.
A timely and reasoned reply to a ‘cease and desist’ letter is
always helpful in establishing a defence of legitimacy.

Hope this helps

Stephen H. Sturgeon, Esquire
DomainEsq.com
LawyerSturgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 08:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 02-11-2004 01:21 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 170
DNF$: 242


The name is generic for an "agent for auto sales." You should respond, but explain that the word is commonly used by many parties, including you, and you have rights and legitimate interests in the name. If you do a Google search, you'll see about 2,000 sites containing "Auto Agent." There are also a large number of domain names containing "Auto Agent." StoneAge registered AutoAgent.biz, but has not developed a site. A German owns AutoAgent.info and AutoAgent.net, .org and .us are available for anyone to register.

StoneAge can threaten, but they can't hope to win a UDRP against you if they can't satisfy all three parts. They dropped the name, have no trademark registration, you registered it and are making a legitimate use. It seems clear they've got no case against you. Send them a strong response, but you should have an attorney review it or assist with the prep before you send it. Sometimes a strong response in cases like this can make the problem go away.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Being the evil C&D guy :) Steen Legal Issues 4 07-04-2003 12:32 PM
Dear Domey Weighs In On C&D Letters Duke Advertising and Related Offers 0 06-08-2003 09:46 PM
Threatened with C&D, help! randomo Legal Issues 13 05-23-2003 11:49 PM
MY first C&D Too!!! (from AOL) TheBansche Legal Issues 11 02-28-2003 09:10 PM
I expect to receive C&D and possible UDRP - advice needed!! tonyk2000 Legal Issues 6 02-14-2003 03:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 AM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com

Learn Domains
Promote Domains
Research Domains
Buy Domains
Resell Domains
Park Domains
Sell Domains
Build Domains
Host Domains
Trademark Domains
Domain Domains
manage Domains
Appraise Domains