

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| Reason thread was closed:
ok
|
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Fiscal Conservative Name: RG Last Online: 10-31-2009 01:56 AM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 20,092 Location: California
Country: | Demand Letter - What to do? I received a demand letter by email from a Canadian legal assistant who works for the company that supposedly holds a TM to a domain I have. They included two TM numbers I cant find in Tess or anywhere else. They included both the singular and plural versions of the name in the demand letter, I own the singular and Buydomains owns the plural, so I'm certain they received a demand letter as well. The domain has been using a Parked page for at last 2 years, which I recently took down. It had an inquire link but no For Sale link. Buydomains on the other hand, has the plural noted for sale on the web page. It's a domain I paid over 2K at auction and I'm not willing to let it go unless I really have to. What do you suggest I do at this point?.... Thanks. |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| iSpoof.com Last Online: Yesterday 08:26 AM iTrader: (112) Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10,916
DNF$: 51,153 Location: 96.net | you can always trash it and act like spam filter got it. ![]() did they send you any "certified or registered" snail mail also?
__________________ worldiptv.com * svc.net * belisted.com * mobi.us.com * sop.net * qfm.net * upyo.com * vioz.com * Need A SedoPro Account PM Me |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Fiscal Conservative Name: RG Last Online: 10-31-2009 01:56 AM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 20,092 Location: California
Country: | The letter which is in PDF format, indicated they sent one registered mail, but I haven't checked my P.O. Box yet. |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Bloody lovely Last Online: Yesterday 11:19 PM iTrader: (393) Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,758
DNF$: 3,507 Location: USA
Country: | If you feel that you've been making fair use of the domain and that their claim is unsubstantiated, you might benefit from a legal response. Let me know if you need a recommendation of an IP attorney.
__________________ ![]() DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source Acroplex - Web & Graphics Acro.net - My Blog |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| CrossLogix.com Last Online: Today 12:16 AM iTrader: (65) Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,238
DNF$: 2,167 Location: Matthews, NC. U | You will receive certified snail mail if it's legit. Did parked page show ad/ads related to TM in question? I think that's most important thing.
__________________ ![]() Domain Names For Sale |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Account Terminated Name: Patty Last Online: 09-10-2009 04:45 AM iTrader: (4) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 818
DNF$: 1,483 Location: Seattle
Country: | I am thinking smoke and mirrors. They are trying to scare you into submission. Hold the name tightly or go sell it and let it be the next person's issue ![]() |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Bloody lovely Last Online: Yesterday 11:19 PM iTrader: (393) Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,758
DNF$: 3,507 Location: USA
Country: | By the way, you don't have to accept certified mail. You can always refuse it, it gets returned.
__________________ ![]() DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source Acroplex - Web & Graphics Acro.net - My Blog |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) | ||
| Fiscal Conservative Name: RG Last Online: 10-31-2009 01:56 AM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 20,092 Location: California
Country: | Quote:
Not knowing what the TM is, It's hard to know if the results infringed... Does anyone know where I can lookup a TM for Canada? Quote:
I dont do that. Last edited by Raider; 06-03-2009 at 06:18 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost | ||
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) | |
| Fiscal Conservative Name: RG Last Online: 10-31-2009 01:56 AM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 20,092 Location: California
Country: | Quote: I'm sending you a PM with the domain and link to the TM... Thanks | |
| | |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Bloody lovely Last Online: Yesterday 11:19 PM iTrader: (393) Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,758
DNF$: 3,507 Location: USA
Country: | It call comes down to use. Even if a mark is registered in one country or another, that alone does not give the tm holder universal rights over the term or the .com.
__________________ ![]() DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source Acroplex - Web & Graphics Acro.net - My Blog |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Name: Justin Godfrey Last Online: Yesterday 10:20 PM iTrader: (360) Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7,431
DNF$: 2,861 Location: Sheboygan, WI
Country: | A demand letter is just that...a demand...I've had my lawyer send demand letters to people and they just ignore it..If I were you I would ignore it until you receive an actual notice from WIPO/UDRP. |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) | |
| Fiscal Conservative Name: RG Last Online: 10-31-2009 01:56 AM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 20,092 Location: California
Country: | Quote:
Also, After looking at the TradeMark data... The name is the plural version, not the singular that I have. Last edited by Raider; 06-03-2009 at 07:19 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost | |
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| David | If you tell them you are willing to go to court if necessary as a pro-se they may go away because I feel the goal is often to make you give up due to your anticipated legal expenses and once they hear you are not hiring an attorney they may go away as they do not desire one-sided costly legal fees. |
| | |
| | #16 (permalink) | |
| Last Online: Yesterday 04:14 PM iTrader: (26) Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,394
DNF$: 194 Location: Elad
Country: | Quote:
If you need legal advice, I would recommend Brett Lewis' law office. Melissa Apfelbaum did some work for me there. | |
| | |
| | #17 (permalink) | |
| Fiscal Conservative Name: RG Last Online: 10-31-2009 01:56 AM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 20,092 Location: California
Country: | Quote:
I've received quite a lot of help from members via PM, and I greatly appreciate all the advice given here as well. Thank you. ![]() | |
| | |
| | #18 (permalink) | |
| Last Online: Yesterday 04:14 PM iTrader: (26) Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,394
DNF$: 194 Location: Elad
Country: | Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #19 (permalink) | |
| Gold Lifetime Member | Quote:
1) Contrary to what you state, I get the feeling you know the parking-page results included results that probably infringed on their trademark. Claiming ignorance won't be a successful defense. You probably already know that. 2) Lumping yourself in with BuyDomains appears to be meant to give yourself as much credibility here as BuyDomains has. Don't do it, because you probably have more true virtue than BuyDomains, even if your infringing in this case. 3) Refusing certified mail or Fed-Ex delivery doesn't help you. Those methods also are meant for the sender to be able to prove in court or elsewhere that they sent it, not merely that you received it. 4) Seems odd you'd spend $2k on a domain, then hang it on a bunch of results that might infringe on someone's mark without first checking it out thoroughly. I only mention this due to the fact that you've touted yourself, in previous threads, of being very intelligent. 5) Call John Berryhill. If you PM me I'll give you more info. | |
| | |
| | #20 (permalink) |
| Name: Dale Hubbard Last Online: 11-07-2009 12:09 PM iTrader: (45) Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,868
DNF$: 5,845 Location: Exeter, England
Country: | Do (5) Eva.
__________________ UK Drop Catching Services: Dropsystem.co.uk New! Canada TBR Drop Catching: Dropping.ca New! QUALITY MiniSites: NOTsoMINI.com |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |