

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 11-07-2009 12:10 PM iTrader: (5) Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,027
DNF$: 148 Location: United Kingdom
Country: | Does without prejudice apply to UDRP ? Here is the position. Somewhile ago I regged what I think is a very good geographic name (not at all; the one I referred to in earlier thread,seriously) . Then I had contact 6 months from someone by Hotmail. I did a check of the senders IP and it came from a large IP lawyers firm in European Country acting for a client. I contacted and basically they offered a mid xxxx amount and said otherwise they would use WIPO. I said xxxx was not accepted and please advise me on what basis their client contended they had IP rights. They came back and said their clients company name was "Their Name and my Domain Name" Ltd . i.e. for example Fred Bloggs London Ltd (London being my domain name ,for example). I said that did not give them a right to the domain name and the domain was being developed for a legit project, as it is and I have partnership with large company pending on it. Went quiet for several months until today I received a call from their in house lawyer (not the european lawyers) saying "lets forget email and can we discuss". He then said could I tell him what I want for the domain so he can get things sorted. I said I did not want to sell but feel free to make offer as once UDRP was threatened it was not possible anyway to talk without prejudice. End of conv. The question is, IS it possible in anyway to get a valid declaration from them that would exclude what we discussed from UDRP ,i.e. like without prejudice ?. Of course although I am developing the site legimitately there is always a price. DG |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | As a rule, no. Some panels will consider settlement discussions to be substantively inadmissible, but not always. http://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/d...2003-0491.html Here, Complainant has not shown that Respondent registered <justbulbs.com> "primarily for the purpose of selling" it back as required under paragraph 4(b)(i). In their reply brief, Complainant says that the Respondent demanded monies in excess of their out-of-pocket expenses during settlement negotiations. (Reply, paragraph 5). Specifically, the Respondent is said to have demanded that Complainant divulge some of its savings resulting from an early settlement, in the return of the administrative fee. This appears to be a creative request, which shows that there was not only a pending legal dispute, but it was initiated in the UDRP forum, where issue was joined between the parties. However, this is not probative of Respondent’s intent upon registering the domain name. Respondent’s demand forms part of a confidential offer to settle the dispute. Respondent only demanded a small amount of returned money, and determined that amount by using a pseudo-disgorgement theory. These facts weaken any inference that Respondent’s initial motive was to resell the domain name. Further, there is no direct indication that Respondent sought to otherwise resell the domain name.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 11-07-2009 12:10 PM iTrader: (5) Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,027
DNF$: 148 Location: United Kingdom
Country: | Quote:
Thank you for that. Hmm, I shall have to be very careful what I say I guess. It is a shame that UDRP does not make a provision for allowing all without prejudice communications to be excluded, then there would be a lot less UDRP's. Also may I ask. IF the party comes to me and says "we will offer you $50,000 for the domain" and I say "yes ok" ,can they then backtrack and issue UDRP and say that I accepted US$50,000 which is in excess etc ?. DG | |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) | ||
| Philadelphia Lawyer | Quote:
http://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/d...2007-1816.html Quote:
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. Last edited by jberryhill; 06-25-2008 at 10:55 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost | ||
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 11-07-2009 12:10 PM iTrader: (5) Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,027
DNF$: 148 Location: United Kingdom
Country: | Quote:
Blimey !. So are you saying John that there is, as appears, no way at all to negotiate the sale of "a" domain without putting oneself at risk of a UDRP ?. Is there a way ?. In my cases there is no conclusive TM unless a geographic llocation can be trademarked ,but still I am reluctant , and yet why should I be barred from negotiating a sale ? DG Just a further point. I guess I would be better off transferring the domain name to a Registrar in my home Country (UK) , would I ?. Then at least, am I correct, litigation could be pursued here in UK ?. Thanks DG Johm, just read that Tristn UDRP you referred to and thanks, very interesting and some neat points that might be useful in mine. DG Last edited by domaingenius; 06-26-2008 at 06:57 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost | |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member | Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) | |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | Quote:
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. | |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 11-07-2009 12:10 PM iTrader: (5) Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,027
DNF$: 148 Location: United Kingdom
Country: | Quote:
DG | |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| The Evil Mod Name: Ed Last Online: Yesterday 09:18 PM iTrader: (36) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,355
DNF$: 63 Location: South Florida
Country: | This is actually quite scare and wouldn't offering to buy it just to use it in a cybersquatting suit be a case of entrapment? If they initiated the dialogue with the intent / appearance of intent to purchase the domain, shouldn't the domain owner be under some protection? Heck, I am willing to bet that even if the price was right Barnes & Noble would be willing to sell books.com and then if they accepted, the other company could initiate a UDRP? (This was only an example, BTW, but what if it was Walden Books?) Most domains have a price tag where the owner would be willing to sell.
__________________ Get a Parked.com account today! What's on Draggar's mind? Find out at http://www.draggar.net I'm always looking for dog breed domains |
| | |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Domain Network Developer Name: Steve Russell Last Online: 11-01-2009 09:49 AM iTrader: (0) Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 176
DNF$: 3,341 Location: Marbella, Spain
Country: | Building on John's comments, what legitimate law firm these days uses gmail? A phone call...you never know where it's coming from or who else is listening in. My test: Mr./Ms. "whoever you are" send me a fax on your letterhead right now. I'll wait. If a European law firm, ask them for their Registration Nº. If USA, look them up in Martindale and Hubble (www.martindale.com). In other words, don't talk turkey if you don't know who's gonna be eating it. Again, see my response to your other post, look at Clause 4a and 4c of the URDP and test the domain, its registration and its use against these "yardsticks" of law. Once you become familiar, it will guide you in future regs. Are you familiar with the WIPO case, know as the "Barcelona decision"? This set the tone for other geo cases. Steve
__________________ Selling separately: VILLAS.EU + ®; VILLAS.ES + ®; VILLAS.INFO + ®; VILLAS.MOBI + ®; VILLAS.ASIA + ®; VILLAS.TEL + ®; VILLAS.PRO + ®; and a whole bunch of other villas-oriented names. |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Dave Zan Last Online: 11-12-2009 09:55 PM iTrader: (1) Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,663
DNF$: 0 Location: Manila | Quote:
![]()
__________________ Vidi, Vici, Veni! | |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| Domain Network Developer Name: Steve Russell Last Online: 11-01-2009 09:49 AM iTrader: (0) Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 176
DNF$: 3,341 Location: Marbella, Spain
Country: | Man, nothing surprises me anymore...... Heck, I'll give him one of my dropping domains and GoDaddy'll give him/her a free email acount...
__________________ Selling separately: VILLAS.EU + ®; VILLAS.ES + ®; VILLAS.INFO + ®; VILLAS.MOBI + ®; VILLAS.ASIA + ®; VILLAS.TEL + ®; VILLAS.PRO + ®; and a whole bunch of other villas-oriented names. Last edited by steveatvillas; 07-02-2008 at 05:12 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |