Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2009, 02:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 08-14-2009 07:39 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
DNF$: 10
Location: Orlando, Fl


Domain Appraisal Scam via mass e-mail

Long time domainer, first time post here at DNF... Tried this at news section, no post as of yet, so maybe more it's more apropo here...

Hey all.

Since I just joined as a Platinum member, thought I'd provide something in my first post instead of asking a question etc.

So here goes... a warning:

Some of you may have seen this e-mail SCAM going around last few days...You get an e-mail from someone like G...Lopez@gmail etc, claiming they want to buy one of your domains for 65% of market price.

All you have to do is provide them with an appraisal from one of the two "leading" firms they will accept appraisals from, which they list as:

FlyRating.com
Sedo.com

Now, of course, most domainers have heard of Sedo, and their appraisals. But, hey- people are anxious to sell that domain, so they start looking into appraisals at both... and would'nt you know it. The appraisals at the industry "leader" flyrating.com happen to be a few bucks cheaper.

You want the sale, but hey- let's save a few bucks and go with FlyRating right? BEEEEEEEP (that was a loud alarm buzzer you just heard)...

OK, here is my OPINION only folks (wink):

Flyrating, you guys are completely fulla hooey- and again, only an OPINION here that of course FLYRATING is responsible (or one of their associates) for sending these e-mails. How many thousands of folks are being duped into a so called "appraisal" right now? Who knows. Maybe some newbs who never heard of either company will actually buy an "appraisal" from Flysh*t.com.

Contacted SEDO- they say this is going around like crazy right now and they are offering refunds to anyone who requests an appraisal for domains from them because of these e-mails.

Of course, that's what I would expect from a reputable, actual industry leader like SEDO with an ALEXA rank of 2,578 and 35,690 incoming links... as opposed to FlyCra*p with their 1,053,721 rating and NO, ZERO, NADA incoming links.

This is a bait and switch scam in a different dress folks- a little bit of truth using a reputable company name as a fly in the ointment. DON'T blow your money on an appraisal you don't currently need from a reputable firm. And whatever you do... I certainly would'nt buy one from these other shmucks. I'd be surprised if you actually got an appraisal back at all- or one that's actually worth anything.

A little background on this "industry leader". Here's some partial records from WHOIS (records obscured for posting reasons- check WHOIS if needed):

DNS:
ns1.ezydomain.com
ns2.ezydomain.com

Created: 2009-05-27 02:01:07
Expires: 2010-05-27 02:01:07
Last Modified: 2009-05-27 01:52:22

Registrant Contact:
xxxxxxx Sdn Bhd
xxxxxxx Outlook Sdn Bhd (xxxxxx@whoisprotection.cc)
xxxxxxxx (East Wing) Berjaya Times Square, No.1, Jalan Imbi
Kuala Lumpur, xxxxx, Malaysia xxxxx

P: +603.2149xxxx F: +603.2143xxxx

(same admin, billing etc)

Oh hey- they are based outta Malaysia. Hmmm... but there site is in English, and seems like it's from US, UK, right?... Hmmm.....

OH, and hey- this industry leader registered their domain on MAY 27, 2009- wow... they became an industry leader REALLY quickly.

Oh yeah, BTW- the original e-mailer never gets back to anyone- so, you get a nice shiny appraisal, from a company with a nice shiny FLASH website, and there is no domain sale of course.

BEWARE!

Hope this helps a few folks out there...
maestro1d is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 06-29-2009, 02:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
DNF Regular
 
snicksnack's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-02-2009 10:53 PM
iTrader: (27)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,140
DNF$: 5,954
Location: China
Country:


I think there are at least 5-10 new appraisal scam websites every week. Still must be working for them, otherwise they would start popping up left and right
__________________


.CM domains Euro 70 per year
snicksnack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-06-2009 12:03 AM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 139
DNF$: 873
Location: USA


I get the same email,

hehe
__________________
Buying LLL.coms or NNN.coms. PM me with Price.
sweetboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 08-14-2009 07:39 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
DNF$: 10
Location: Orlando, Fl


Appraisal Scams

Quote:
Originally Posted by snicksnack View Post
I think there are at least 5-10 new appraisal scam websites every week. Still must be working for them, otherwise they would start popping up left and right

Yeah, I hear ya SnickSnack. I thought as much- I get a lot of Phishing attempts- first time I have seen one of these appraisal scam e-mails. Bozos.

You're right- they must be raking it in though.
maestro1d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Yesterday 07:05 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,117
DNF$: 101
Location: South Florida
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by snicksnack View Post
I think there are at least 5-10 new appraisal scam websites every week. Still must be working for them, otherwise they would start popping up left and right
You're quite the optimist. (I'd think it is more than that) but you are right - it is probably still working for them since they keep on coming out - I'm willing to bet a lot of them are the same people just changing their tune every now and then to make them look like a different entity.
draggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 08-14-2009 07:39 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
DNF$: 10
Location: Orlando, Fl


Quote:
Originally Posted by draggar View Post
You're quite the optimist. (I'd think it is more than that) but you are right - it is probably still working for them since they keep on coming out - I'm willing to bet a lot of them are the same people just changing their tune every now and then to make them look like a different entity.
Hey Draggar. Thanks for chiming in.

Just checked out your blog, left ya a DIGG post. You are now at 2 Diggs for your Blog. I know, I know... party time. That's how I roll.

Totally agree with your sentiments, BTW on finance-politics, people skills and tech.

Talk again soon

-D
maestro1d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com