Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: domain scammer?

  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    allanh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    507
    DNF$
    2,616
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,616
    Donate  

    domain scammer?

    hi, I have received an email from a guy making an offer on a domain I listed on sedo.

    I did a search of his name on google and found this:

    http://www.root.no/forum/index.php?s...=8218&view=new

    Can someone translate what this post says? It seems to have mentioned the word "scammer"?:greenconfused:
    For all City Hunter info - CityHunter.com
    Tawain domainers -TaiwanDomainers.com
    My Osaka city portal -
    Osaka.com





  2. #2
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    909
    DNF$
    5,673
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,673
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    Seems like scamm. Can u pleae cut and paste the mailadressand signatur from the sender??

    -Ove

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    allanh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    507
    DNF$
    2,616
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,616
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    at this stage, I can't confirm that whether this is a scam offer or not. Therefore I won't publish his email address until someone can translate the link.

    I think the language is in Thai.

    Once there is enough evidence, I will post his email
    For all City Hunter info - CityHunter.com
    Tawain domainers -TaiwanDomainers.com
    My Osaka city portal -
    Osaka.com





  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    DNjet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,033
    DNF$
    196
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    196
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    its the old appraisal scam .

  5. #5
    www.LOL.biz
    Bender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    .ro
    Posts
    1,912
    DNF$
    6,242
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,242
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    Quote Originally Posted by allanh View Post
    I think the language is in Thai.
    on .no domain?
    NO, I don't think so
    this is a common scam,the same guy pretended to work for "Opera software" and dind't changed the text much....just do a search here for "appraisal scam"

  6. #6
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    allanh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    507
    DNF$
    2,616
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,616
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    i see. What happens if I ask him to transact via escrow ?
    There is no way to scam that way.
    For all City Hunter info - CityHunter.com
    Tawain domainers -TaiwanDomainers.com
    My Osaka city portal -
    Osaka.com





  7. #7
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    909
    DNF$
    5,673
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,673
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    Fro the link u posted its norwegian. Im from Norway an read it. What i can see at that link its real scam. U can do a search har at DNF for skallebank.com
    And u will se that its scam.
    If u dont want to post it u maybe pm me the address an i`l se

  8. #8
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    allanh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    507
    DNF$
    2,616
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,616
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    ok, this is the email address: boss@sinnsyk.com

    Hello,

    Please let me know a quote in US dollars or Euros for the name mentioned in the subject of this email. We saw it listed for sale.

    Our company develops software (mainly client-server systems).

    If you offer more domains for sale with good reselling potential please email us your list. We are going to resell domains later to generate additional income since this is not our main business.

    Looking forward to do business with you.

    Regards,
    Anthony Waldner
    President
    SNN Systems
    Software Solutions

    ================================================== ==========================
    NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged
    information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
    viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
    unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
    message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
    and deleting it from your computer.

    ================================================== =========================
    For all City Hunter info - CityHunter.com
    Tawain domainers -TaiwanDomainers.com
    My Osaka city portal -
    Osaka.com





  9. #9
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    DNjet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,033
    DNF$
    196
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    196
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    Quote Originally Posted by allanh View Post
    i see. What happens if I ask him to transact via escrow ?
    There is no way to scam that way.

    the scam is, he is trying to get you to buy an appraisal from a certain appraisal site, which the money for that goes into his pocket.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    allanh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    507
    DNF$
    2,616
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,616
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    Quote Originally Posted by DNjet View Post
    he is trying to get you to buy an appraisal from a certain appraisal site, which the money for that goes into his pocket.

    lol.. in that case he is wasting his time


    there is no way I am going to spend money before selling a domain
    For all City Hunter info - CityHunter.com
    Tawain domainers -TaiwanDomainers.com
    My Osaka city portal -
    Osaka.com





  11. #11
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    909
    DNF$
    5,673
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,673
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    That Scam:
    Just ignore the mail. That the same as skallebank.com and operaen.com
    They are al reg at:
    Registrant:
    Webhuset AS (WEBHUSET251)
    Mollendalsbakken 9

  12. #12
    Senior Exclusive Member
    Ian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    www
    Posts
    1,750
    DNF$
    2,196
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,196
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    I agree. Just ignore the scammer. There are chances the same email has been sent too many times.
    Always buying .COM revenue type-ins. PM me!

  13. #13
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    allanh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    507
    DNF$
    2,616
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,616
    Donate  

    Re: domain scammer?

    just for light entertainment, I did reply to his email (before posting here) asking what his offer would be.

    Here is his reply:
    ========
    I need to know the lowest price you can accept.

    What is your price range: $10,000 or $15,000 or even higher?

    Please send it to me via email as soon as possible.
    For all City Hunter info - CityHunter.com
    Tawain domainers -TaiwanDomainers.com
    My Osaka city portal -
    Osaka.com





Similar Threads

  1. FREE COPY of PPC Domain Manager to first 2 people..
    By cyphix in forum Advertising and Related Offers
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-15-2007, 03:23 PM
  2. Replies: 42
    Last Post: 03-19-2007, 12:27 AM
  3. the first domain name auction of China in August 18,Beijing
    By BloodSpider in forum Domain Name News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-31-2006, 08:24 PM
  4. Expired Domain Name Diamonds in the Rough...
    By ExYahoo in forum Domain Beginners and Newbies
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2004, 05:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com