If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I received a WhoisGuard renewal notice today from Namecheap for a domain that I don't own (forum52.com). Logged into my Namecheap account and found a total of eleven domains in my account (with Whoisguard subscriptions, but not enabled) out of which only three were mine. Not sure how the other eight domains were added to my account. The eight domains in question are:
badcreditloansin.com
chromehype.com
datingcha.com
forum52.com
forumcvt.com
loansnomoney.com
singlecarhaulers.com
volunteersource.org
Did a google search for some of the domain names and sure enough they turned up in one or more of the major domain forums including this one
http://www.dnforum.com/f283/mafiacon...ad-374248.html
Checked the other posts for the user "democrat" and came across this thread.
http://www.dnforum.com/f417/user-dem...ad-379598.html
I've sent a mail to Namecheap's customer support regarding this issue and have asked them to remove the domains from my account.
First time anything like this has happened to me and I'd really appreciate it if any of you'll who have had an issue like this crop up, let me know if there's anything further that I need to do? Has anyone come across a list of stolen names which has the above domains included?
Thanks in advance for any help.
It's democrat's domain?
OnceI
All bid/offer valid for 24 hours. All offer valid for domains expiring in at least six month.
Yes. All these are Patty Similien's domains. She probably pushed them to your account to cause problems.
WTF??? If she really did that, that's incredible. Can you do just push a name into somebody else account without them knowing about it and especially without approving it? Man, that's jacked!
With most registrars all you need is their username, no incoming authorization is needed. As far as I know, only GoDaddy offers the option to turn down an incoming push.
I've only given out my Namecheap details to one user for a domain push and that user is very reputable.
Namecheap only requires a username for a domain push, so I guess it must have been a trial and error job with multiple users on this forum and I was the lucky onecause I have the same username on the forum and on Namecheap. Time to change that I think.
Can't edit my post above, but a quick update. Raised a support ticket to Namecheap's support and the domains along with their WhoisGuard were removed from my account in less than 24 hours![]()
Last edited by Vikz; 08-20-2009 at 03:18 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
jesus!
wtf
surely they should have sent you email confirmation???
how did they push
this ex member, democrat needs to be taken down. it has ripped off too many dnf members and is laughing about it
i suggest those who have lost real money absolutely go to authorities and keep everyone informed if the police/whoever are doing their job in pursuing
i think we need one dedicated thread to pursue this, and even i will stop the jerking around. enough is enough
just my opinion
That's why the Patty Similien threads need to be reopened. There is so much more to be added on a daily basis.
Now that I think about it, only the sending acct owner gets notified when a domain is pushed. Not the receiving domain owner.
Namecheap does not need any approval for the domains to come in. It just goes in if the person tranfering knows the a little bit of details.
Amazing eh. I know yah like the rest above GoDaddy is the only registrar which you need approval to let the domains in.
OnceI
All bid/offer valid for 24 hours. All offer valid for domains expiring in at least six month.
I would quickly change passwords for NameCheap and domain email accounts. Do you know the dates when they were moved to your account?
Record and snapshot everything for potential legal action.
Last edited by BidNo; 08-21-2009 at 05:40 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Link to the sedo account screenshot from Patty Similien's photobucket. It shows these domains, zoom in to 100%
the question is why your account
have you done any business with 'democrat'?
I haven't done any business with 'democrat'. I did send her a PM with a domain in response to her domain wanted thread here
http://www.dnforum.com/f16/looking-a...ad-377877.html
Sent one domain name on 29-July-2009 and she responded that it wasn't what she was looking for and that was the end of it. That domain name I sent isn't even hosted at Namecheap.
Acro,
Moniker also protects against with their their security code feature....
cdnify.com - fresa.org (strawberry) - autismcharity.com
can it just be a mistake, maybe your username is similar to someone else's? What can she practically get from this?!
Visit my blog
Bookmarks