DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2002, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 08-04-2006 03:28 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 405
DNF$: 5

Send a message via AIM to trent2275

ebayersthatsuck.com

Lawsuit from ebay?

What do you think about this site?

www.ebayersthatsuck.com
trent2275 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 11-07-2002, 07:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
lux
DNF Regular
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 02:41 PM
iTrader: (12)
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 581
DNF$: 3,635
Location: .us


Have you gotten an email from eBay yet? I think they automatically send them out to anyone who registers anything with eBay in it.
lux is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Tippy's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:26 AM
iTrader: (47)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,863
DNF$: 261
Location: Montreal


I am sure you will get a letter, your site even has an eBay look/feel to it. They bugged me for just registering a Domain with "Bay" in it.

Mike
__________________
.COMs FOR SALE : DomainGal 247Bucks SelfClips Camdids FemModels LinkFolder VidReviews Kracking DNPimp Uncenzored GroupOwned VidEditing OOies also... Maps.st / Investors.ws Dieting.ws House.ws
Tippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 02:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Philadelphia Lawyer
 
jberryhill's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2009 01:17 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,987
DNF$: 6,350

Send a message via ICQ to jberryhill

As noted above, I also believe that eBay uses an automated enforcement mechanism for anything that has "ebay" in it. For example, I have seen c&d letters for domain names which have an incidental appearance of the "ebay" string in it.

If you register wolvesarebayingatthefullmoon.com, it is probable that you will receive an automatically generated letter from eBay.

Your biggest liability would appear to be defamation claims from the eBayers that are in your database. Since I did not find eBay ID jbb302 in there, then you are fine as far as I am concerned.

As usual, the answer to "Can they sue me?" is yes. Anyone can sue you for anything at all. It is not a very satisfying answer, though. The question you really want answered is "Would they win?". That answer can depend on the answer to "How much would you pay to find out?"
__________________
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
jberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 10:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
rotax785
Guest
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 12-31-1969 07:00 PM
Posts: n/a
DNF$: 0 [Check]


ebayersthatsuck.com

i own te site and have had no problem with ebay.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2003, 11:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
DNF Member
 
dataware's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-16-2009 12:41 PM
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 468
DNF$: 4,847
Location: HOME
Country:


Thumbs down Hey Rotax

I just took a look at your site....

As a personal opinion.... It is out of line.... Out of context.... Too close for comfort....

You could at least have been more original in your design amd colors.

Thanks for reading,

Lorenzo
__________________
Names make a difference
dataware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2003, 07:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
rotax785
Guest
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 12-31-1969 07:00 PM
Posts: n/a
DNF$: 0 [Check]


my site

your missing the point the look and feel was ment to be the same...people love it
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2003, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
DNF Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Jason
Last Online: 04-07-2009 05:39 PM
iTrader: (17)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 337
DNF$: 1,471
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Country:


They can't get it taken down. It is considered freespeach. That is why their are so many companynamesucks.com sites up for various companies. I can see why they would take down like an auction site of something similar to their name because it would confuse people but they can't stop freespeach,....... .... ... ... i think.
weeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2003, 03:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
DNF Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Jason
Last Online: 04-07-2009 05:39 PM
iTrader: (17)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 337
DNF$: 1,471
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Country:


http://www.ebayersthatsuck.com/lettersfromebay.htm
weeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2003, 05:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
DNF Member
 
dataware's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-16-2009 12:41 PM
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 468
DNF$: 4,847
Location: HOME
Country:


Thumbs down How would you feel....

OK OK OK freedom of speech is OK... I have nothing against Freedom or Speech...

BUT I DO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH plagiarism....


How would you feel if someone copied a site that looks and feels like your very own.

They copy color, text, and formula....

That is not freedom of speech...

The site or name may have the correct intention and I don't dispute that at all.

My opinion remains.....

Too close for comfort on a "look and feel"

Lorenzo
__________________
Names make a difference
dataware is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EbayersThatSuck.com trent2275 Domain Name Appraisal Discussion 9 01-02-2003 10:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com