Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2009, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
emark's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-20-2009 07:43 PM
iTrader: (14)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 279
DNF$: 15
Location: Here


This email came today

Dear Sir/Madam 2009-8-25

We are a internet service (software development, website design and development, wifi network works to promote the protection of brands, search engine optimization, etc.) company in China,

Several days ago we received a formal application submited by 'this guy' who wanted to use the keyword "my domain name" to register the Internet Brand and with

suffix .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.

After our initial checking through Internet, we found that the keyword "my domain name" to be applied for registration is same as your keyword. Accordingly, before we finish his registration, we would like to get your final decision about this, whether you mind his registration, if you believe his registration would affect your bussiness and produce conflict, then we could give your priority to register them, as the keyword is first used by your company. However, if you do not think so, please advise of that and then we will finish his registration.

For proceeding the next step, Please contact us by Fax,Telephone or Email as soon as possible. Under the circumstance of no your reply during the next 5 working days, we will consider you to give it up and finish his registration.

Yours sincerely

xxxxxx

Checking Department
Tel: xx xxx xxxxxxxx
Fax: xx xxx xxxxxxxx
Email: somebody at some domain
Website:www.xxxxxxx.com..
Mail No.:

I don't think it would be a problem for me. Owning those extensions does not interest me. I own the .com, .net, and .org. What do you guys and guyettes think.
__________________
Rick
SeniorComments.com, SeniorPublication.com, SeniorLeisure.comm, BoletosJuego.com, ConciertoGratis.com, PelotasDePlaya.com, MiBoletoGratis.com, PiezasDeAutomoviles.com
emark is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 08-25-2009, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 08:07 PM
iTrader: (394)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,903
DNF$: 4,071
Location: USA
Country:




Spam. Ignore. Don't respond.
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
My Countdown Counting down to: Snapnames rebate hitting my mailbox
80 days 21 hours 33 minutes
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
mvl
 
mvl's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 04:29 PM
iTrader: (18)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 910
DNF$: 520
Location: Netherlands
Country:


It's probably a scam. The story is made up only to make you nervous and register domains with them that you normally would not register.
mvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Yesterday 08:09 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,330
DNF$: 331
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

Spam / scam. What kind of registrar would tell you someone else tried to register a domain similar to yours and then try to sell it to you?
draggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
bigboydog_0's Avatar
 
Name: gv
Last Online: Yesterday 05:44 PM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 608
DNF$: 10,290
Location: kansas city
Country:

Send a message via Skype™ to bigboydog_0

spamo
__________________
www.Sevendeporeldueno.com |Contract4Deed.net|HomesbyOwner.net|NationalWideMo rtgage.com|MortgageFirstSource.com|
bigboydog_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Exclusive Member
 
simon's Avatar
 
Name: Simon
Last Online: Yesterday 05:11 PM
iTrader: (67)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,057
DNF$: 220
Location: Heard & McDonald Islands
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to simon Send a message via MSN to simon Send a message via Yahoo to simon

i also received couple of them
__________________
On Buying Spree| Generics and Typos| Mostly .COM | High Multiple paid | Pm me the names |
simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Missing in action
 
sdsinc's Avatar
 
Name: Kate
Last Online: Yesterday 06:42 PM
iTrader: (41)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,667
DNF$: 28,093
Location: .cz
Country:


They just want you to purchase your name in .cn - from them preferably.
__________________
VeryOldNames.com
sdsinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
jinglepoint's Avatar
 
Name: AK
Last Online: 11-08-2009 05:04 PM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
DNF$: 410
Location: NH
Country:

Send a message via Yahoo to jinglepoint

It has spam written all over!

I love these emails that start with Dear Sir/madam ... I am XXXX. I have been monitoring Mr.kim kwan kho 's accounts and as u know he is waiting at pearley gates to enter heaven, I think you are appropriate to hold the money, please give me your details and I'll transfer your account the XXXXXXXXXXXX (that'ld be enough to feed whole Africa and India.)

I want to reply these people, bring the check to me, I'll pay you to and fro charges.
Just don't do it, because damn they are gonna bombard my email with spam from then on :p
__________________
Advise given is based on personal experience or something I read or heard somewhere. Don't come after me, if it doesn't work for you. I ACCEPT DONATED DNF$!!!
jinglepoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Yesterday 08:09 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,330
DNF$: 331
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinglepoint View Post
I love these emails that start with Dear Sir/madam ...
My favorite are the ones that begin "Dear valued customer". If I'm so valued - how come you don't even know my name?
draggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 05:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
emark's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-20-2009 07:43 PM
iTrader: (14)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 279
DNF$: 15
Location: Here


Thanks for the replies. You're all correct. I googled their domain (wifinantong dot com) and the results shown reflected the same thing. SPAM!

The extensions mentioned in the email didn't interest me, although I had considered offering the .net and/or .org for sale to them. It's good to have access to forum members who know what they're talking about.

I'm currently in negotiations for another of my domains. The "make another sale" possibility had my blood boiling for a while.

man, man, man it never ceases does it?
__________________
Rick
SeniorComments.com, SeniorPublication.com, SeniorLeisure.comm, BoletosJuego.com, ConciertoGratis.com, PelotasDePlaya.com, MiBoletoGratis.com, PiezasDeAutomoviles.com
emark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 07:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
 
dvdrip's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-20-2009 09:06 PM
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,651
DNF$: 13,895
Location: Athens Greece
Country:


Spam. I have hundreds of them.
__________________
www.bluepixel.gr I like .info!
Now accepting .gr domain registrations from any foreign company or individual. Contact me for details.
dvdrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 07:47 AM   #12 (permalink)
DomainFolio.org
 
talas's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 04:53 AM
iTrader: (8)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 151
DNF$: 50

Send a message via ICQ to talas Send a message via MSN to talas

Upon to the content, it is some strange.

I am curious that:

1. the man who wrote the email is not a domainer.

or

2. the man who wrote the email is hiding his identification of being a domainer.
__________________
DomainFolio.org is my domain portfolio, Welcome!
talas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 08:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
denny007's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 09:49 AM
iTrader: (40)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,445
DNF$: 10,356
Country:


They target end-users, companies etc. Would be smart if they would not spam domainers...I get like 100 a month of this crap, they keep changing their email to another domain so kilfilter works for a while before they change it again
__________________
I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
ThankYouDHL.com
denny007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com