Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    111media's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    223
    DNF$
    806
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    806
    Donate  

    EMAIL with Profanity

    I am curious. I have been getting email with profanity in it from a website called www.michaelmoore.com and am wondering if I have to continue to just accept this email or do I have options to try and get this profanity stopped?

    The profanity is essentially 'F-you A-hole', but I have edited it for the forum.

    I am receiving the email on my www.republicans.cc black hole. This is a site that I do not advertise and do not update. It is basically just for sale.

    Thank you for any help or advice you can provide.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    White Rock, BC
    Posts
    4,892
    DNF$
    2,043
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,043
    Donate  

    Re: EMAIL with Profanity

    Block the sender?

    Get an eNom resellers account free and instantly,
    click here - Automated Signup!

  3. #3
    DNF Addict
    Domagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wyomissing, PA
    Posts
    1,420
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    8,562
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    8,562
    Donate  

    Re: EMAIL with Profanity

    Setup an autoresponder on the domain with an appropriate reply LOL!

    Ron
    Domagon - Website Management and Domain Name Sales

  4. #4
    Philadelphia Lawyer
    jberryhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,020
    DNF$
    6,642
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,642
    Donate  

    Re: EMAIL with Profanity

    This is a site that I do not advertise and do not update. It is basically just for sale.
    ...especially with the "new and improved" traffic figures.

    Look up "Joe Job".
    John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
    John-AT-johnberryhill.com
    Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.

  5. #5
    DNF Regular
    Peace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UNICEF.org
    Posts
    665
    DNF$
    2,512
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,512
    Donate  

    Re: EMAIL with Profanity

    Quote Originally Posted by 111media
    I am curious. I have been getting email with profanity in it from a website called www.michaelmoore.com
    I dont think it is really from that website...As John mentioned it may be a "Joe Job"

    Quote Originally Posted by 111media
    I am receiving the email on my www.republicans.cc black hole. This is a site that I do not advertise and do not update. It is basically just for sale.
    Your website makes a political statement...not just for sale as you have mentioned...that may be the reason they (who ever they are) targeted you.
    Last edited by Peace; 10-15-2004 at 09:21 AM.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    111media's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    223
    DNF$
    806
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    806
    Donate  

    Re: EMAIL with Profanity

    Quote Originally Posted by marketscript
    I dont think it is really from that website...As John mentioned it may be a "Joe Job"

    Your website makes a political statement...not just for sale as you have mentioned...that may be the reason they (who ever they are) targeted you.
    Yes, it does make a political statement, but I am not advertising the site to anyone nor do I force anyone to look at the contents. I am not even sure how someone FOUND the site to be honest, lol.

    However, regardless of the reason, I still thought it was against the law for someone to send, unsolicited, profanity laced email to me.

    Thank you for all of the suggestions so far. I guess if I am going to be a webmaster and develop sites, I just need to get used to people sending these types of email to me. Although, I was hoping it wouldn't start until I actually DEVELOPED something, lol.

    Thanks again!
    Last edited by 111media; 10-15-2004 at 09:35 AM. Reason: Spelling (as usual)

  7. #7
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    gph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    516
    DNF$
    1,593
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,593
    Donate  

    Re: EMAIL with Profanity

    The originator is no doubt spoofing michaelmoore.com - happens all the time.

    gph

Similar Threads

  1. Received this email?????
    By tommy1980 in forum Gold Cafe
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 12:30 PM
  2. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-01-2004, 11:39 AM
  3. PayPal scams came from P.Pal employees, I've the proof !!!
    By DomainEmpire.com in forum Gold Cafe
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-01-2003, 07:08 PM
  4. My problem with RegisterFly. Do you face the same issue?
    By Success in forum General Domain Name Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-12-2003, 06:47 AM
  5. Stop Spam Secrets Episode VII
    By mole in forum Gold Cafe
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-01-2002, 07:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com