

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #21 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Keyser Söze Last Online: 09-02-2009 11:56 PM iTrader: (8) Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 326
DNF$: 240 Location: United States
Country: | Be thankful it wasn't NSI. Network Solutions has violated court orders to return a 3-letter domain that was stolen from me.
__________________ My offers are void after 48 hours unless I've stated otherwise. free professional profile |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #23 (permalink) |
| Exclusive Senior Member Last Online: Yesterday 08:02 PM iTrader: (244) Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,264
DNF$: 331 Location: Canada
Country: | Those Iranian(s)! There is a bomb called The Joint Direct Attack Munition developed by the US Air Force and the US Navy which is the most accurate bomb in the world. After release, its location is continually monitored by seven different satellites and it can hit targets with an accuracy of within 6 ft. 7 in. I hope sometime it can be used against those "domainer(s)". ![]() Right, I was aware of it and always: 1. Phone the Sedo office main line asking to transfer ne to the direct local of a transfer agent who emailed me. 2. Check the email header. 3. Google the sender name.
__________________ *** List of Top 1 Million U.S. Web Sites (September 2009) *** Exclusive offer for DNForum members is back! Last edited by DNP; 09-07-2008 at 12:19 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost |
| | |
| | #24 (permalink) |
| Bloody lovely Last Online: Today 09:30 PM iTrader: (393) Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,752
DNF$: 3,487 Location: USA
Country: | Osama is 6ft 7in so apparently that's why they keep missing him ![]()
__________________ ![]() DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source Acroplex - Web & Graphics Acro.net - My Blog |
| | |
| | #25 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Yesterday 03:02 AM iTrader: (87) Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,378
DNF$: 145 Location: san carlos, CA | Thank you; it is great advice to login to Sedo to check status, instead of just reacting to emails. So what that means is any email from Sedo should be regarded as a notice more than anything. Kevin
__________________ Seeking: Hybrid, ClimateChange, Tablet, Exercise Selling: Gins.eu, HostDomains.org Listen to FREE music MusicStreaming.org ‹(•¿•)› |
| | |
| | #26 (permalink) |
| Bloody lovely Last Online: Today 09:30 PM iTrader: (393) Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,752
DNF$: 3,487 Location: USA
Country: | Sedo's emails are another link in the chain of social engineering. They contain info that can be replicated, forged and emulated. They are *predictable*, just like their implementation of predictable, sequential numbering of customer id's and auctions. These "hackers" have very limited cracking skills. They base their success on their social engineering skills, they use a human's approach to a situation - not a computer's cold ON/OFF - ZERO/ONE approach. To safeguard oneself against this approach, you basically have to treat each communication as a potential fraud.
__________________ ![]() DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source Acroplex - Web & Graphics Acro.net - My Blog |
| | |
| | #27 (permalink) |
| Never Sleep™ Name: Stian Last Online: Today 03:25 PM iTrader: (131) Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5,809
DNF$: 3,807 Location: EHOT.net
Country: | Wow. I would've fallen for that one myself. I get lots of those push requests from Sedo every week and I don't exactly analyze them before I push the domain. I will do that from now on. I'm glad to hear that you have things under control and that you will get your domain back. Btw, this 'j p' guy (he used the email: originalprogz@gmail.com) also made me a €7,000 offer for 4-4.com a couple of weeks ago, but thankfully I had already sent the name to Sedo auction by then. Damn I'm tired of all these scammers. I hope we can catch just one of them some day and have a public execution! |
| | |
| | #28 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 10-15-2009 11:34 PM iTrader: (12) Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 370
DNF$: 1,150 Location: On the moon
Country: | Glad to hear you got your domain back. and glad to hear that Moniker has never loosed a customers domain so far =)
__________________ Business announcements |
| | |
| | #29 (permalink) | |
| Last Online: Today 08:54 PM iTrader: (15) Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,094
DNF$: 3,663 Location: USA
Country: | Quote:
you pushed the domain nobody hijacked it and why should moniker prevent you from pushing? the title should rather contain the words "Sedo" and "scam" - - - more data to "Colin": Received: from localhost.seproductions.co.uk (localhost.seproductions.co.uk [213.171.222.208]) X-COMPLAINTS: abuse@sharpmail.co.uk Message-Id: <20080906193456.E4E4F272FA@localhost.seproductions .co.uk> | |
| | |
| | #30 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 08:48 PM iTrader: (32) Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,955
DNF$: 1,042 Location: Manhattan, NYC
Country: | Quote:
Also, the guy spelled "transfer services" incorrectly in the sedo email he gave: Email: transferserives@sedo.com
__________________ Lowell | |
| | |
| | #32 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 10-28-2009 02:56 AM iTrader: (6) Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 229
DNF$: 106 Location: Online
Country: | orginalprogz@gmail.com made offers of my 2 LLL.coms as well. Serial scammer on the loose. Also watch out if you get emails from moneyary@gmail.com. This scum needs to be caught. |
| | |
| | #33 (permalink) |
| Domain Magnate™ Name: Michael Last Online: Today 07:00 PM iTrader: (68) Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,631
DNF$: 6,433 Location: DnMagnate.com | so, on a more practical note. Most spoof emails have fake links which are easy to spot, but this is rather tricky. So what's the easiest way to be sure such an email is genuine? Calling sedo should do it, but is there a technical way? Suppose you could check headers and compare ips.. |
| | |
| | #35 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 10-28-2009 02:56 AM iTrader: (6) Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 229
DNF$: 106 Location: Online
Country: | http://www.microsoft.com/protect/you.../identify.mspx Looks like one tip is if you roll over the link and it shows a different link than shown in the email link then that should raise some flags. If there is software or other tips, please share... |
| | |
| | #36 (permalink) |
| Bloody lovely Last Online: Today 09:30 PM iTrader: (393) Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,752
DNF$: 3,487 Location: USA
Country: | Again, log into your account and review the latest status of the transaction.
__________________ ![]() DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source Acroplex - Web & Graphics Acro.net - My Blog |
| | |
| | #37 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict Name: Robert Last Online: 11-02-2009 12:00 AM iTrader: (58) Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,736
DNF$: 1,283 Location: Montreal
Country: | this was the email the guy used to make me offers on my domains: p4ymentor@gmail.com using the following subjects: about *domain* *domain* do you sell *domain* mass mailing domain owners, getting them into Sedo, and then somehow hacking/stealing |
| | |
| | #38 (permalink) |
| Bloody lovely Last Online: Today 09:30 PM iTrader: (393) Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,752
DNF$: 3,487 Location: USA
Country: | Read my blog for more info on this method.
__________________ ![]() DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source Acroplex - Web & Graphics Acro.net - My Blog |
| | |
| | #39 (permalink) |
| Exclusive Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 09:27 PM iTrader: (27) Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 268
DNF$: 16 Location: Melbourne
Country: | This guy tried to get me with my 3L.com domain too... We agreed on a price for the domain and he wanted to use Sedo Escrow. I refused and initiated an Escrow.com transaction instead. He never replied after that... Guess I can count myself lucky.
__________________ http://www.dnworld.com.au - Hundreds of domains for sale. |
| | |
| | #40 (permalink) |
| Bloody lovely Last Online: Today 09:30 PM iTrader: (393) Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,752
DNF$: 3,487 Location: USA
Country: | Could you post email header info here? We need to concentrate as much info as possible.
__________________ ![]() DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source Acroplex - Web & Graphics Acro.net - My Blog |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |