Talk to your credit/bank card provider and request their assistance with recovery of the funds.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!As I mentioned previously, I tried to register a .eu name at www.registereu.com without knowing that this could not be done.
The transaction kept saying that it could not be completed because apparently I'd entered some details incorrectly. So I kept trying, making sure that I had the exact name and address details as on my card. This failed.
So I tried a new card, and still it failed.
I then get emailed a week later saying that the transaction status had been set to "pending", and that it had now been approved. Which is ridiculous, because I never actually completed the transaction. But I thought, if worst comes to the worst, I get billed $70.
Now around 4 weeks later, I get more emails saying that EVERY ATTEMPT I made at refining my personal details counted as a purchase. So I find my way to their customer service site, and login with my email address.
I find that I have been billed around 25 times on 3 different credit cards for the same name, totalling around $3,000.
In addition to this, the transaction history shows something called "Rebill", around 10 times, that charge me between $60 and $150 a time.
Can anyone advise what I can do?
Registereu.com should be shut down.
Luke
Luke - 'Man from Lucania'
Talk to your credit/bank card provider and request their assistance with recovery of the funds.
I think Eurid themselves should take legal action against registereu. I doubt any names that this so-caled registrar submits for the landrush will ever get even near the queing system.
If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon
Given the news from a couple of weeks ago, I think it's highly unlikely that he'll be in a position to submit anything...
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2004/11...mer_goes_awol/
Hmm.
It says that Peter Francis-Macrae has been selling unavailable .eu names. Apparently he is from Cambridge.
But it also says that Nominet took an Australian company to court over a similar offence.
The "helpline" number in the billing emails I recieved is Australian. But the postal address on Registereu.com is in Cambridge. So I guess it's one of these two companies.
If I can't sort this out, I'm going to have to spend my student loan on paying this shit back and then probably have to drop out of university.
Luke - 'Man from Lucania'
The Cambridge-based company has been the subject of many complaints AND legal action - contact the Cambridge Trading Standards Office for further advice.
Your cc provider should be able to assist with recovery.
Thanks Mr. W.
Luke - 'Man from Lucania'
Bookmarks