Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: ferrari.us

  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    149
    DNF$
    555
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    555
    Donate  

    ferrari.us

    I've just visted http://www.ferrari.us and it seems the owner is using to sell cars. Is this legal and why isn't Ferrari doing anything about it?

  2. #2
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    142
    DNF$
    575
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    575
    Donate  
    Need to know more facts. Perhaps, the person is an authorized dealer and is doing it with permission. Perhaps, Ferrari doesn't know about it. Perhaps, Ferrari has objected but the owner hasn't done anything.. Lots of possibilities.
    Ari Goldberger
    http://ESQwire.com

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    149
    DNF$
    555
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    555
    Donate  
    So what will happen if someone registers a country-coded Ferrari domain name such as Ferrari.tv or Ferrari.bz and tries to sell it on eBay?

  4. #4
    Account Terminated
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    2,605
    DNF$
    3,134
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,134
    Donate  
    ace,

    there is a well-documented case of Amazon.com vs Amazon.gr that ended with the surrender of the name to Amazon.com - the .GR variant was also an online bookstore; a violation of a 'famous' registered trademark.

  5. #5
    Account Terminated
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    3,898
    DNF$
    1,189
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,189
    Donate  

    Talking

    Originally posted by ace
    So what will happen if someone registers a country-coded Ferrari domain name such as Ferrari.tv or Ferrari.bz and tries to sell it on eBay?
    Two things, likely ... first, "offering it for sale" MAY provide any potential future claimant with evidence of bad faith, and two, considering the extensions, have a good laugh.
    IMHO.
    Good Luck.

  6. #6
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    360
    DNF$
    1,249
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,249
    Donate  
    Ferrari.us resolves to GoBoom.com, and is selling used car parts.

    A little diferent than new Ferraris.

    Ford.com, could be Ford Modeling, or Ford Motors? Depends on who got there first, both a valid use of TM.

  7. #7
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    149
    DNF$
    555
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    555
    Donate  
    So if you sold ferrari.us, would you get prosectuted for selling TM property?

  8. #8
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    360
    DNF$
    1,249
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,249
    Donate  
    Ferrari is a common Italian surname. It depends on how you use the DN.

    If a Ferrari family set up a personal web site, it would be a valid use.

    If you used the DN to profit from the products or TM of Ferrari motorcars, you would get nailed. I would guess that Ferrari has a TM / SM / copyright on the name as far as their automobiles and apparal go, it would be easy to check this at TESS.

  9. #9
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    149
    DNF$
    555
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    555
    Donate  
    Originally posted by DNS Kidd
    Ferrari is a common Italian surname. It depends on how you use the DN.

    If a Ferrari family set up a personal web site, it would be a valid use.

    If you used the DN to profit from the products or TM of Ferrari motorcars, you would get nailed. I would guess that Ferrari has a TM / SM / copyright on the name as far as their automobiles and apparal go, it would be easy to check this at TESS.
    What if you are a licensed Ferrari dealer and are using the DN to sell Ferrari cars? Then not only will you profit from the website, but so will Ferrari. It's a win/win situation IMO.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    White Rock, BC
    Posts
    4,892
    DNF$
    2,043
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,043
    Donate  
    Originally posted by ace


    What if you are a licensed Ferrari dealer and are using the DN to sell Ferrari cars? Then not only will you profit from the website, but so will Ferrari. It's a win/win situation IMO.
    Ace, your not a dealer so thats out.

    And if you were planning on selling it to a dealer, that shows bad faith and the name could be taken by the company (for free).

    I do not believe it will work.

    Get an eNom resellers account free and instantly,
    click here - Automated Signup!

  11. #11
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    194
    DNF$
    983
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    983
    Donate  

    no worries

    here is what one clever person did to avoid tm issues

    http://www.fordtraining.com/

    worth a laugh

  12. #12
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    149
    DNF$
    555
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    555
    Donate  

    MicrosoftTraining.com

    Originally posted by Validweb
    here is what one clever person did to avoid tm issues

    http://www.fordtraining.com/

    worth a laugh
    Well in that case I have a dog called Microsoft.

  13. #13
    Domain Buyer
    DaddyHalbucks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, USA
    Posts
    3,211
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    115,488
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    115,488
    Donate  
    I've just visted http://www.ferrari.us and it seems the owner is using to sell cars. Is this legal and why isn't Ferrari doing anything about it?

    POSSIBLE LEGITIMATE USE..


    So what will happen if someone registers a country-coded Ferrari domain name such as Ferrari.tv or Ferrari.bz and tries to sell it on eBay?

    TEXTBOOK 'BAD FAITH'

  14. #14
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    .biz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    1,063
    DNF$
    10,430
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    10,430
    Donate  
    Ferrari.us is an example of bad faith. they redirect it to goboom.com which sell used auto parts. it takes advantage of the well known brand. This name will be taken away if Ferrari disputes.

  15. #15
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    194
    DNF$
    983
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    983
    Donate  

    Juventus

    Its quite obvious to me.

    Juventus, the football team of Turin, where the ferrari/fiat empire is centred, have just won the Serie A Italian soccer championship, and are also in the european cup final in 2 weeks.

    They got to the final by defeating heavily favored Madrid in the semi-final.

    Their opponents for this game are there arch rivals,Milan, which marks the first time that 2 Italian teams have been in the final.



    Don't expect anyone in Turin to do any work for some time to come.
    Juventus


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com