

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
|
Country: | A Few Legal Questions I have a few legal questions that have been disturbing me, so I hope some lawyers as well as the rest will join in here. Lawyers please try and make an effort to communicate in English, not lawyerese. 1. There are a few ways of going about TM domain issues. The most common one is the UDRP approach, and the other main one is civil legal action. Correct me if I'm wrong. Assuming that someone (or company) has violated someones TM, why should they lose their domain, if theoretically it would be possible to use it legally in the future? Here's an example: Someone owns domain Apple.ext, and either parks the domain, using computer ads, or sets up a similar web-site. The TM violator gets sued, pays damages, and declares he will now only use the domain for purposes of setting up a web-site relating to apples. Why is the culprit punished for future deeds, instead of only previous ones. 2. I have tried researching an old TM case, which I've heard about, but can't find it on the web. Any leads would be appreciated. Case: Coca Cola vrs. Pesi Cola. I will explain why I'm interested later. Input appreciated! |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #2 (permalink) | |
| Making Everything Click Name: Chris Last Online: Yesterday 01:19 PM iTrader: (112) Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9,415
DNF$: 15,390 Location: Dirty South
Country: | I think it's "KEGEL"..not KEGAL ![]() http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kegel_exercise All women need to do this...imo Quote:
__________________ Selling the tremendous domain name : FLUS dot com must see unbelievable price & opportunity! Hurry! Last edited by Focus; 01-22-2009 at 05:42 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost | |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| DNF Member Name: John Kane Last Online: Today 09:47 AM iTrader: (42) Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 424
DNF$: 2,749 Location: Augusta
Country: | actually been thinking of this for a while know...just waiting for the right case to fight for this...its good to have a family of lawyers and lots of money. ![]() |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) | |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | Quote:
That's one of the points that UDRP panelists regularly forget - in a court proceeding, an injunction can be issued againt certain types of use/content. In a UDRP, the only thing available is transfer of the domain name, so the panelists seem to reflexively order that in situations that would not necessarily result in transfer in a civil case. The effect is an expansion of the TM claimant's rights, in the sense they can obtain broader relief in the UDRP than they can in court.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. | |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) | |
|
Country: | Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | No. And one of my rules on forums is don't try to put anything I say into "other words". The UDRP, by design, is not intended to address any and all sorts of claims that might be made by a trademark owner against a domain registrant. The UDRP addresses a narrow claim of abusive domain registration. [/quote] Let me ask an opposite question. Has their been any cases of TM violation and UDRP did not order transfer of domain.[/QUOTE] Yes. Incidentally, Coke and Pepsi have sued each other a zillion times for all sorts of claims. You'd have to be a lot more specific than that.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. Last edited by jberryhill; 01-30-2009 at 01:01 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) | |||||
|
Country: | Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I am referring to I would assume the first TradeMark case brought up by CocaCola against pepsi Cola. I can't understand how Pepepsi is allowed to use a "confusingly similar product, with a confusingly similar name. Two cola softdrinks, both with the name cola! | |||||
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) | |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | Quote:
For that matter, "coca" is the generic name for a plant from which a flavor enhancing component of Coca-Cola is derived. Coca-Cola is, in fact, a good example of an initially descriptive term which long ago acquired distinctiveness. While Coca-Cola no longer uses the full coca leaf extract, they still use a component derived from it. As for your invitation to provide a free legal research project, I decline. You might want to check out some of the cases cited here: Guildline Instruments Limited v. Anthony Anderson Case No. D2006-0157 http://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/d...2006-0157.html However, the third requirement of the Policy is that the Domain Name has been registered and is being used in bad faith. It is evident from the terms of the Policy and confirmed in many decisions under it that these are cumulative conditions: see e.g. World Wrestling Federation Entertainment, Inc. v. Michael Bosman, WIPO Case No. D1999-0001, Telstra Computers Ltd v. Nuclear Marshmallows, WIPO Case No. D2000-0003. A long line of decisions has held that the first of these conditions requires that the original registration, or possibly a subsequent acquisition, of the Domain Name was in bad faith, and that the maintenance or renewal in bad faith of a registration originally made in good faith does not suffice: see Telaxis Communications Corp. v. William E. Minkle, WIPO Case No. D2000-0005, Teradyne Inc v. 4tel Technology, WIPO Case No. D2000-0026, Smart Design LLC v. Carolyn Hughes, WIPO Case No. D2000-0993, e- Duction, Inc. v. John Zuccarini, d/b/a The Cupcake Party & Cupcake Movies, WIPO Case No. D2000-1369, Weatherall Green & Smith v. Everymedia.com, WIPO Case No. D2000-1528, Village Resorts Ltd v. Steven Lieberman, WIPO Case No. D2001-0814, Substance Abuse Management, Inc. v. Screen Actors Modesl International, Inc., WIPO Case No. D2001-0782, Gamer.tv Limited v. Bestinfo, WIPO Case No. D2004-0320, PAA Laboratories GmbH v. Printing Arts America, WIPO Case No. D2004-0338, Green Tyre Company Plc. v. Shannon Group, WIPO Case No. D2005-0877. In The E.W. Scripps Company v. Sinologic Industries, WIPO Case No. D2003-0447, the panel expressed the view that “registered in bad faith” could cover maintaining a domain name on the register in bad faith, but found that the original registration had in any event been in bad faith. In WIPO Case No. D2004-0338, cited above, the panel considered that “Absent the consistency of approach which has found favour with numerous earlier panels, this Panel would have seen no good reason for a renewal not to be considered as equivalent to ‘registration’”. Having reviewed the cases, the Panel considers that the consensus view, that the original registration or subsequent acquisition must have been in bad faith, should be followed in the interest of clarity and certainty. ...but if you are looking for a case where Coca-Cola sued Pepsi for use of the word "cola", that's not something you are going to find, since there have long been many cola drinks which have used the word "cola" in their name.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. Last edited by jberryhill; 02-01-2009 at 09:46 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost | |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member
Country: | fab, John B is entitled to his opinions. But there are thousands of lawyers. Some good, some bad, and some just happen to be here. Some charge $500 an hour, and some charge $50 an hour, and some can do it pro bono - that's FREE! Oh yes, you should also run the xenophobia test. Chances are our friend here won't pass the smell test.
__________________ J✡Travel WhatName.com - DN Observer |
| | |
| | #11 (permalink) | ||||
|
Country: | Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
| ||||
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |