The Complainant has a guestbook at their website:
http://www.mess.net/
in case you wanted to share your feelings with them.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!This case exhibits one of the most egregious examples of reverse domain name hijacking that any of the Panelists has thus far ever seen.
Here, the Complainant filed its 78/023,371 trademark application, on an intent-to-use basis, on August 20, 2000. This date was some 2 1/2 years after the Respondent registered the domain name on March 14, 1998, and with clear knowledge of the Respondent’s prior registration (see e-mail from Complainant to Respondent dated August 20, 2000 - that date certainly being no mere coincidence with the exact same filing date of the Complainant’s trademark application). While the Complainant claimed a first use date of December 10, 1996, for its class 41 services, the record, including the prosecution file history for the Complainant’s “MESS.COM†Mark, is utterly devoid of any proof of use on that date. In fact, the only evidence of use which the Complainant has submitted is a December 10, 2001 press release. The Complainant also alleges a December 10, 1999 first use date for its class 42 services. This date too is after the date on which the Respondent registered the disputed domain name.
Accordingly, this Panel finds that the Complainant had no trademark rights at the time the Respondent registered the domain name, and knew it and, in spite of that knowledge, then proceeded to intentionally secure a trademark registration with an express purpose of fraudulently invoking the Policy as a means to wrest the disputed domain name from the Respondent, by an order of transfer from an administrative panel, if the Respondent’s sales price was too high (which at $25,000 it evidently was). To the Panel, this conduct constitutes a clear abuse of the Policy.
Hence, the Panel finds that the Complainant committed reverse domain name hijacking.
my comments - would have been nice if they would have commented on the use of a domain name to redirect to overture as a legitimate use.
Page Howe
BestGeos.com (See what we have for your city or area today!)
The Complainant has a guestbook at their website:
http://www.mess.net/
in case you wanted to share your feelings with them.
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2004_0964.html
If Steve Clinton is a lawyer, shouldn't he have known that this complaint had no merit?The Complainant is ... represented by Steve Clinton, United States of America.
Has he exceeded his scope of practice?
findlaw.com shows a Steve Clinton in San Jose, but not in San Francisco.
This is the lawyer for the Complainant:
http://www.svlg.com/attorneys_clinton.htm
His email address is on that web page. Perhaps interested members of the forum might direct your questions about the case to him, and then summarize his responses here.If Steve Clinton is a lawyer, shouldn't he have known that this complaint had no merit?
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
What a coincidence, John: in a way, this case answers what I just asked you
yesterday, although of course this is different.
Definitely one of the best UDRP decisions ever...
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
That wouldn't be particularly relevant to the case, given that it turned on the complete lack of valid basis for the complaint, rather than on any rights or legitimate interest the respondent may have had.Originally Posted by sitehq
Personally, I think all those "redirect to Overture" (or any other pseudo-portal-type sites squatting on various domains) sites are like cockroaches, serving no useful purpose other than being an annoying nuisance, so I have no desire to see anybody (including UDRP panels) support or defend them, but that doesn't mean that anybody has a right to yank their domains with completely bogus trademark claims.
For those interested in more details on this decision, we have just published A Fine Mess for California Company Caught in Reverse Hijacking Attempt with comments directly from winning attorney Ari Goldberger.
http://www.dnjournal.com/columns/mess.htm
DNJournal.com Fly Like an Igal: Lichtman Innovates Again With Dazzling Automatic Website Building Technology at TrafficMedia
NameNewbie.com
Their guestbook has a script error, won't let me post.Originally Posted by jberryhill
![]()
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
That's odd. It was working fine this morning.Their guestbook has a script error, won't let me post.
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
Here is what they posted on the sign-in page of the guestbookOriginally Posted by jberryhill
09-06-2004: We have turned off our guestbook since all we get here now
are porn advertisements. If you really want to post a comment, email
web@mess.net, and we will post up your comments. But not if you are
advertising or pushing porn, sheesh. -web
John, what kind of comments did you leave? :-D
-- and --Accordingly, this Panel finds that the Complainant had no trademark rights at the time the Respondent registered the domain name, and knew it and, in spite of that knowledge, then proceeded to intentionally secure a trademark registration with an express purpose of fraudulently invoking the Policy ...
The "mess.com" record at uspto.gov says:
Aren't people supposed to be truthful when they file UDRP complaints and when they apply for trademark registrations?First Use Date: 1996-12-10
First Use in Commerce Date: 1999-12-10
What can happen when they aren't truthful?
Some cases where companies successfully reverse-hijacked domains using alleged trademark rights over domains they didn't actually own:
ec.com: http://www.arbforum.com/domains/decisions/95344.htm
paint.biz: http://www.arbforum.com/domains/decisions/112596.htm
Dan, so you're saying that Elequa's successful Oxide engine is a roach motel?
It shows no new postings since 2003.Originally Posted by jberryhill
I don't know... does anybody check in but never check out?Originally Posted by RADiSTAR
Some of the exploitative sites out there are like the Hotel California: you can check out any time you like, but you can never leave, because it'll keep spawning more new popup windows on you. (Not for me though, since I use Mozilla and have it configured to refuse popups.)
18 USC 1001What can happen when they aren't truthful?
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, whoever, in any matter within the jurisdiction of the executive, legislative, or judicial branch of the Government of the United States, knowingly and willfully—
(1) falsifies, conceals, or covers up by any trick, scheme, or device a material fact;
(2) makes any materially false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation; or
(3) makes or uses any false writing or document knowing the same to contain any materially false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or entry;
shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 5 years, or both.
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
Okay, that makes sense.Originally Posted by jberryhill
I wouldn't mind seeing someone get their kundalini caught in the ringer.
Moderator, please delete (accidental post).
Bookmarks