If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!a email site callled http://www.broadcastemailgroup.com/
owned y some called pat davidson is using my domain name of my real name to send out emails promoting their "charitable email service".
When i reply to this email and say please do not use my domain name in your spam advertisement emails they just send notices that say
"simple...
email advertise like this to 8,000,000 people this week for free...
http://www.broadcastemailgroup.com/
the above non commercial offer is directed at non commercial
charities only. push charity info on site for details. this offer is
not a commercial service that is absolutely not at all available
for sale or lease or trade of any kind."
I am NOT a charity but I am wondering if by using this method and spamming people they are having people push into the junk/spam filter my domain name communications. is it legal for this company to use my domain name (my real birth name) this way?
I want to stop http://www.broadcastemailgroup.com/ from putting my domain name and my email addresses (when I email from webmaster@mydomainname.com) into theitr emails and perhaps even causing my personal emails to go into the spam bucket.
What do i have to do legally to get this person/company/organization to stop using my domain name in their email ads?
This is the whois:
Davidson, Pat
PO Box 444
Springfield, OR 97477
US
Domain Name: BROADCASTEMAILGROUP.COM
Administrative Contact , Technical Contact :
Davidson, Pat
patd2000@yahoo.com
PO Box 444
Springfield, OR 97477
US
Phone: 541-543-5661
Record expires on 12-Jul-2007
Record created on 12-Jul-2006
Database last updated on 12-Jul-2006
Domain servers in listed order: Manage DNS
NS1.BROADCASTEMAILWORLD.COM 218.57.8.93
NS2.BROADCASTEMAILWORLD.COM 211.155.132.228
NS3.BROADCASTEMAILWORLD.COM 222.76.212.175
NS4.BROADCASTEMAILWORLD.COM 208.2.150.150
Last edited by myst woman; 07-23-2006 at 04:34 AM.
Did you try calling the number on the whois technical contact?
Zombie Movie Bong of the Dead - Get it on DVD or via Digital Download Today! ~ "This is a sure winner." - Tommy Chong
Looks like these guys are in China. They are blacklisted everywhere. If you want to PM me a copy of any email you've received from them, I'll see if I can find out more. Include the headers.
http://www.domaintools.com/rbl/?ip=211.155.132.206
http://whois.domaintools.com/broadcastemailgroup.com
You could also email Netsol regarding their infringement of whois information rules.
Last edited by Dale Hubbard; 07-23-2006 at 05:18 AM.
Yes, no answer.Originally Posted by whitebark
I am worried people will think i am a spammer and worse, when i do use that popmail it will be blocked.
The new Hosting account is about a month old only. I don't even go in those pops. I used to go in my pop for this (it centers a rselling accoutn) and see miles of this stuff and then just got fed up.
(to 2ns poster)
I blocked and deleeted them all, But they will be back next week. i will check back then. Thanks for your code review offer.
Yes there must be a netsol complaint form or something. It's 3:22 am sunday morning, I'll see if there is a weekday number where maybe they will answer the phone.
is there a netsol abuse form or site url?
Contact Netsol here:
http://www.networksolutions.com/help...ge=contact.php
This is all automated .. I get them ALL the time ... usually just goes straight to junk folder ...
This guy must send 10million mails a day ( seriously ) , as I often get 100+ !
I would guess that you are the only person who has been sent the email that looks as if it has been sent from yourself to yourself. Automated spam. I received one of these a few years ago......really confused me at the time.
'Those who stand for nothing fall for anything' - Alexander Hamilton in 1978
There is a solution.
click on that link & goto their "contact us", there they have provided option to remove the emails , if you want.
happened to me and i tried and worked out.
I do not even reccommend that , the point that you have responded may put you on a list of "working" email addresses ... thats what spammers do .Originally Posted by safatweb
I really recommend just ignoring ...
Will using email authentication methods work? (e.g. SPF, Domain Keys, etc.)
Unfortunately that entails a little technical knowhow...
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Lets fight these spamming , identity theiving bastards!!
Do what aZooZa says. Contact the registrar of the URL that is being promoted.
Don't contact the spammers or just ignore them.
Make trouble for them
JOES.com.au Graduate of the DNF College
With the exception of GoDaddy, few registrars have any policy regarding spam.Contact the registrar of the URL that is being promoted.
So you are saying that I should be able to have your website shut down if I send out spam promoting your URL, eh?
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
No,Originally Posted by jberryhill
I am asking if I can do anything, if you( or anyone else of course) sends out spam using my name as the return address and sender, to promote your web site.
JOES.com.au Graduate of the DNF College
nope. i am getting a new name every day from my domain name.Originally Posted by safatweb
To add to that, I've found a few forum posts indicating that DirectI and EnomOriginally Posted by jberryhill
are also "proactive" against domain names allegedly used to spam. Not sure
about DirectNIC, I'll check.
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
John is right. A person of nefarious intent could probably get a site blacklisted and possibly shut down their email (at least temporarily) by either spoofing their names in the email headers or associating them with the return email address. Actually, I have seen it happen.
Picture a poor customer service representative in a windowless room in Arizona or India, slogging through hundreds or thousands of spam complaints per day. She is the decision-maker; the one who will decide to take the site off-line. It's actually not far-fetched at all.
I'm just glad that John is using his mind for good.
Brett E. Lewis, Esq.
www.lewishand.com
Brett E. Lewis, Esq.
brett@lewishand.com
I had the same issue + I was receiving a few hundreds of bounced emails some spammer sent using various addresses @my domain.
I stopped all these by just adding an SPF record - ask your host.
Bookmarks