Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    PeterMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,627
    DNF$
    24,614
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    24,614
    Donate  

    got a letter from melbourneitdbs

    About a domain name I have, they say it violates their clients tm and they want me to transfer to them... How do I know if these guys are who they say they are? The domain is a .ca and I got the notice from cira.

    they say I have 3 days to comply...

  2. #2
    Exclusive Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,053
    DNF$
    198
    Bank
    546,546
    Total DNF$
    546,744
    Donate  
    depends on the domain. if it's actually a trademark, then settle for half or a bit less than lawyer fee+suing you to get the domain

  3. #3
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    PeterMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,627
    DNF$
    24,614
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    24,614
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by victornumber View Post
    depends on the domain. if it's actually a trademark, then settle for half or a bit less than lawyer fee+suing you to get the domain
    but how do I know if this company is legit? How do I know that they really represent who they say they represent?

  4. #4
    silentg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,276
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    7,795
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,795
    Donate  
    You should be asking them that question. You have 3 days so ask them to provide proof. It's funny how they don't have a contact # listed.

    http://www.melbourneitdbs.com/

  5. #5
    Exclusive Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    751
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    4,592
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,592
    Donate  
    you have 3 days to comply.... or what, exactly?
    They cannot just take it from you, they have to file for a UDRP or court proceeding.

  6. #6
    Country hopper
    katherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Free World
    Posts
    7,499
    Country

    Iceland
    DNF$
    30,536
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    30,536
    Donate  
    AFAIK they are legit.
    For example they work for Lego (a UDRP regular).
    NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
    ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists

  7. #7
    þórr mjǫlnir
    draggar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    12,874
    Country

    Czech Republic
    DNF$
    6,974
    Bank
    116,559
    Total DNF$
    123,533
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by katherine View Post
    AFAIK they are legit.
    For example they work for Lego (a UDRP regular).
    Lego is quite selective, though.
    Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
    Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.

  8. #8
    Da' Chef
    jaydub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    You know, that really really hot place at the core of the planet
    Posts
    4,767
    DNF$
    10,110
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    10,110
    Donate  
    Phone their US number and ask them...+1 866 907 3267

    I would be making sure this wasn't a hijacking attempt as well.
    Real character is doing the right thing when nobody is watching.
    Be sure brain is engaged before putting keyboard in gear.
    Sometimes I feel like I'm in a battle of wits with unarmed opponents

  9. #9
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    PeterMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,627
    DNF$
    24,614
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    24,614
    Donate  
    Thanks very much everyone for all the input, I really appreciate the help so far...

  10. #10
    Exclusive Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    751
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    4,592
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,592
    Donate  
    While there is no question they are a legitimate outfit, what you need to concern yourself with is are they being over reaching on their claim or not.

    Does the domain name obviously infringe on their client? If so, give it up. If not... well, that's another matter.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    italiandragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,769
    Country

    Australia
    DNF$
    1,506
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,506
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by silentg View Post
    You should be asking them that question. You have 3 days so ask them to provide proof. It's funny how they don't have a contact # listed.

    http://www.melbourneitdbs.com/
    Having no phone number in the digital era is not necessarily showing bad faith, just company's choice. I don't use phone either these days, it cut the costs and less wasted time on phone inquiries.
    www.mmcp.com
    Domain Brokerage - Website Development - eMarketing

  12. #12
    Da' Chef
    jaydub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    You know, that really really hot place at the core of the planet
    Posts
    4,767
    DNF$
    10,110
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    10,110
    Donate  
    I posted a phone number for them in my post above....which I got from their website
    Real character is doing the right thing when nobody is watching.
    Be sure brain is engaged before putting keyboard in gear.
    Sometimes I feel like I'm in a battle of wits with unarmed opponents

  13. #13
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    italiandragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,769
    Country

    Australia
    DNF$
    1,506
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,506
    Donate  
    However, they do have phones numbers:

    http://www.melbourneitdbs.com/about/...ions/index.php

    ---------- Post added at 07:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:39 PM ----------

    However, they do have phones numbers:

    http://www.melbourneitdbs.com/about/...ions/index.php
    www.mmcp.com
    Domain Brokerage - Website Development - eMarketing

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com