Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2006, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 12-30-2006 07:13 AM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 392
DNF$: 1,278


GotDiamonds.com - need advice

I've owned gotdiamonds.com since 2003.

Found out GOT DIAMONDS? is a Word Mark/SERVICE MARK since 96/97 (?)
(didn't know about this when I registered gotdiamonds.com).

Got an e-mail from trademark owner (of GOT DIAMONDS?) and I'm waiting to hear from his attorney.

Is mark on GOT DIAMONDS? legit claim for gotdiamonds.com ?

Advice on what I should do? Give up the name if asked or fight to retain?

Thanks.

PS Other "gotdiamonds" extensions are taken and websites are up and running including a diamond seller at gotdiamonds.net . Does GOT DIAMONDS? trademark owner have rights to these extensions as well?
__________________
HOT Deals on Mobile Phones at Go Phones! GoPhones.com.
smonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 06-24-2006, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-15-2009 01:44 PM
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 353
DNF$: 428
Location: England
Country:


Re: GotDiamonds.com - need advice

Maybe try contacting the owners of the other sites, find out if the same thing has happened to them and see if you's could group together to take them on if thats the route you want to take. Personally I would maybe give it up if its not making too much as its not worth the hassle.
__________________
Newcastle United NUFC
hunnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 02:21 PM
iTrader: (87)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,413
DNF$: 6,593
Location: Washington,DC


Re: GotDiamonds.com - need advice

I would suggest you contact one of the lawyers that specialize in TMs and domains.

It might be a case of reverse hi-jacking.

The first thing the lawyers will suggest, is that, do not discuss the topic on the domain forums.

I would suggest you contact John Berryhill or Stevan Lieberman tonight.
They will acknowledge your email within 24 hours.

John (at) JohnBerryhill.com

Stevan (at) APLegal.com

Good luck.
__________________
Act Now


Twitter - dotcomgroup
actnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 12:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User - Must Upgrade To Post
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 05-16-2007 02:17 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
DNF$: 171


Re: GotDiamonds.com - need advice

Tell them 'Got' isn't a word, it's an acronym for 'BLAH BLAH BLAH'. Nothing they can do about it.
Epidemic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 01:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
DNF Member
 
Salient's Avatar
 
Name: Stuart Wood
Last Online: 11-18-2009 11:52 AM
iTrader: (21)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 607
DNF$: 5,729
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to Salient Send a message via AIM to Salient Send a message via Yahoo to Salient Send a message via Skype™ to Salient

Re: GotDiamonds.com - need advice

If it is the trademark holder of "Got Diamonds?" it appears to me the question mark kills the claim to the domain, imo.

I got diamonds and Im not asking you if you got diamonds.
__________________
|Salient Properties, LLC. - Virtual & Real Estate| See Our Domain List|
|BuildsOut.com - We Develop Domains, Content, SEO: Higher Revenue|
Salient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 02:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
aZooZa's Avatar
 
Name: Dale Hubbard
Last Online: Today 08:32 AM
iTrader: (45)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,878
DNF$: 5,881
Location: Exeter, UK
Country:

Send a message via MSN to aZooZa Send a message via Skype™ to aZooZa

Re: GotDiamonds.com - need advice

Yeah -- ask the lawyers. IMHO it's a SM not a TM so I don't think their claim is valid in the context of a domain name unless you have a site which uses a promotional phrase with the words "Got Diamonds?". I wouldn't be quaking in my boots on this one.
__________________
UK Drop Catching Services: Dropsystem.co.uk
New! Canada TBR Drop Catching: Dropping.ca
New! QUALITY MiniSites: NOTsoMINI.com
aZooZa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 03:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 01:29 AM
iTrader: (22)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,137
DNF$: 9,091


Re: GotDiamonds.com - need advice

Don't cave in. You made a good faith purchase. Tell them $12,500 within the next week or future emails will be deleted.
WhoDatDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 04:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
ColdGin's Avatar
 
Name: Daniel
Last Online: 09-08-2009 09:26 AM
iTrader: (23)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,657
DNF$: 2,568
Location: NoWayOut
Country:

Send a message via MSN to ColdGin Send a message via Skype™ to ColdGin

Re: GotDiamonds.com - need advice

One of the things that the lawyers maybe will look if GotDiamonds its a public recognized trade mark or not.

I never heard about that name...but I live outside the US.

I think its not like buying CocaCola.com-.----

I had a similar problem a few years ago....I buyed a domain...that expired....and was part of a company...as a company name...but also...my surname...they call me...trying to scared me...and I ask them for a good offer...they never called me again. I still have this domain.
__________________
Baby Wipes Israel Maps
"It´s better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than open it and remove all doubt" Mark Twain
ColdGin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 12:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
DNQuest.com's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-23-2008 04:35 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,100
DNF$: 4,835
Location: Columbia, MD

Send a message via Yahoo to DNQuest.com

Re: GotDiamonds.com - need advice

interesting one here.... but none-the-less, if they have a TM/SM, since 1996 (filing date), and they can prove "similiar or confusingly similar" and bad faith, then you could be in trouble... and if you ask for $12,500... that only adds to the fire. Then again, you have a for sale sign up (inquire about this domain) and links, so you are showing no vested interest in the domain.

Sometimes, its not about justice, it's about who can put up the better showing.... so do your best to protect yourself.
__________________
Track emails that you send, PM me to find out how....
DNQuest.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Value in Naïve Appraisal Advice DomainMart Gold Cafe 7 07-01-2006 11:56 PM
Used a copyrighted image :-( advice needed if possible laskos Domain Name Legal Issues 21 04-03-2004 09:16 AM
need legal advice. non domain related. all alone here Kid Kool Domain Name Legal Issues 17 03-11-2004 11:13 AM
Advice concerning free/low-cost hosting? DomeBase Gold Cafe 3 08-25-2002 05:48 AM
Advice Sought: How to set up your own PPC web site? izopod Website Development and Design Discussion 1 08-20-2002 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com