DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2006, 03:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Steen's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 04:20 PM
iTrader: (12)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,883
DNF$: 1,808
Location: White Rock, BC
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to Steen

Has a Respondent ever won using a insant (Benelux) TM?

Has anyone ever read a UDRP case where the respondent cited their trademark in a unlikely jurisdiction (such as Benelux?)
__________________

Get an eNom resellers account free and instantly,
click here - Automated Signup!

Last edited by Steen; 12-22-2006 at 08:46 PM..
Steen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 12-22-2006, 11:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Philadelphia Lawyer
 
jberryhill's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2009 01:17 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,987
DNF$: 6,350

Send a message via ICQ to jberryhill

Re: Has a Respondent ever won using a insant (Benlux) TM?

http://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/d...2000-0847.html

Here, Respondent admits that the Tunisia registration was obtained merely to protect his interests in the domain name. Respondent is not located in Tunisia and the registration was not obtained for the purpose of making bona fide use of the mark in commerce in Tunisia. A Tunisian trademark registration is issued upon application without any substantive examination. Although recognized by certain treaties, registration in Tunisia does not prevent a finding of infringement in jurisdictions outside Tunisia. Under the circumstances, some might view Respondent’s Tunisian registration itself as evidence of bad faith because it appears to be a pretense to justify an abusive domain name registration. We find at a minimum that it does not evidence a legitimate interest in the disputed name under the circumstances of this case.
__________________
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
jberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Steen's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 04:20 PM
iTrader: (12)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,883
DNF$: 1,808
Location: White Rock, BC
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to Steen

Re: Has a Respondent ever won using a insant (Benlux) TM?

Thank you Mr. Berryhill.

I find this part particularly interesting: Respondent admits that the Tunisia registration was obtained merely to protect his interests in the domain name

I wonder if they would have drawn the same conclusion if there was no such admission? Probably.
__________________

Get an eNom resellers account free and instantly,
click here - Automated Signup!
Steen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 07:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
TheBest.com
 
GeorgeK's Avatar
 
Name: George Kirikos
Last Online: Today 08:47 AM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,206
DNF$: 866
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:


Re: Has a Respondent ever won using a insant (Benlux) TM?

Suppose one moved one's company offshore into Luxembourg (or Belgium or the Netherlands)?? Hmmmmmmmmmmm.......
__________________
George Kirikos
Home Page
GeorgeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Steen's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 04:20 PM
iTrader: (12)
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,883
DNF$: 1,808
Location: White Rock, BC
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to Steen

Re: Has a Respondent ever won using a insant (Benlux) TM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeK View Post
Suppose one moved one's company offshore into Luxembourg (or Belgium or the Netherlands)?? Hmmmmmmmmmmm.......
I wouldn't mind spending my time in The Antilles. I wonder if that counts.
__________________

Get an eNom resellers account free and instantly,
click here - Automated Signup!
Steen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Morgan Stanley vs Cat capblood Domain Name Legal Issues 3 06-27-2006 10:23 PM
Looks like Sex.com is trying to use Sex.xxx in commerce... izopod Adult Domain Appraisals and Adult Website Discussions 5 10-01-2003 09:56 AM
Bick.us and Biostat.us - Discussing TM issues hhunterjr Domain Name Legal Issues 7 02-28-2003 10:57 PM
TM infringement, TM dilution, Cybersquatting - Definition and General Discussion hhunterjr Domain Name Legal Issues 0 02-28-2003 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com