DNforum.com - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals
 
Register Now! Welcome to Dnforum.com You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast and simple so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Legal Issues
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2008, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
JuniperPark's Avatar
 
Last Online: 07-11-2008 10:56 AM
iTrader: (51)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,663
DNF$: 496
Location: San Diego, CA
Country:


Heads Up: Looks like a scammer making the rounds

Got an email from a person interested in an SEO related domain name, from a throwaway @gmail.com account (clue #1).

In our email exchanges to the same address, his named a couple of times (clue #2)

preston rodriguez
charles preston
charlie j preston

When asked why his his name changed, and if he currently owned any domain names, he replied, "My identity not important at this point" (clue #3 - YOU'RE OUT!)

People who play identity games are usually going to pay you with stolen credit cards or phished PayPal accounts, and the seller gets burned. Beware of this guy or anyone else who can't seem to remember their own name.
__________________
The only domain reseller BRAVE enough to post prices: TheNameStore.com ][
JuniperPark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wordpress Design
 
tonyfloyd's Avatar
 
Name: Tony
Last Online: Today 04:59 PM
iTrader: (39)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,331
DNF$: 8,044
Location: New York
Country:


do these guys really think that we are that stupid???
tonyfloyd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 03:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
I'm KING.NET
 
TheWatcher's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 10:53 AM
iTrader: (96)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,440
DNF$: 10,965
Location: Hardworking.com
Country:


Not everyone are smart. This is why million of dollars wasted through fraud.
__________________

Become a Reseller $7.49
NeedName.com ETP | DN Conference & Events DNCon.com.
My blog KING.NET! Hiring for Michigan.TV & Jersey.TV pm me.
TheWatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
SEO Specialist
 
Last Online: 03-29-2008 09:32 AM
iTrader: (11)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 325
DNF$: 925
Location: Planet Google


That sounds oddly familiar. I had some chap email me asking about a media domain and stuff. The patten matches what your say and I knew it was a scam so I just deleted the emails.

Unfortunately some people really do think all us domainers are that stupid.

Sin
Sinfully Wicked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 PM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com

Learn Domains
Promote Domains
Research Domains
Buy Domains
Resell Domains
Park Domains
Sell Domains
Build Domains
Host Domains
Trademark Domains
Domain Domains
manage Domains
Appraise Domains