Valuate Domain Names
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2008, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
DNF Newbie
 
cyberorg's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-29-2009 08:00 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
DNF$: 114
Location: CYPRUS


Help for hijacked domain manicman com

I need your guidance for my stolen domain name.

I wanted to transfer my domain name "manicman com" from Register to Godaddy and I requested the transfer code of it from Register.
Register sent me the code, but Godaddy said the transfer code of my domain name was invalid. I asked Register again on the same day and they reconfirmed that the code was correct. I decided to wait. Today, I've tried again with the same code but Godaddy says my domain name is locked.

I asked help from Register and they told me that it was transferred to
Moniker by another person. This domain name was registered on me and I never gave the transfer code to anybody, so the only explanation is that it is
stolen.

Can anyone tell me what I should do in this situation and whether there is a
legal authority to explain the situation and inform the theft of my domain
name to get it back?

Thanks for your help in advance.
cyberorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 09-29-2008, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 07:31 PM
iTrader: (392)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,625
DNF$: 4,991
Location: USA
Country:




Are you Cyber Consulting Services Inc?
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 01:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Success Is My Only Option
 
Carter's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 08:36 AM
iTrader: (43)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,228
DNF$: 27,091
Location: Italy
Country:


Hello welcome to DNForum
Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
DNF Newbie
 
cyberorg's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-29-2009 08:00 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
DNF$: 114
Location: CYPRUS


Yes Acro, I am Cyber Consulting Services Inc.

Thank you, Carter. It is nice to be here.

Last edited by cyberorg; 09-29-2008 at 01:59 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
cyberorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 07:31 PM
iTrader: (392)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,625
DNF$: 4,991
Location: USA
Country:




The domain apparently was moved to Moniker yesterday. Contact them to indicate that the domain was wrongfully moved.
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 03:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
DNF Newbie
 
cyberorg's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-29-2009 08:00 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
DNF$: 114
Location: CYPRUS


Thank you for the information Acro. I' ve already informed to Moniker, Register and present whois contact of the domain. The present whois contact just replied my email as below.

"I bought the name when it expired. You failed to renew it and it
became available. Your accusations are 100% false."

I am sure that the expiration date is 7/17/2009. If he says the truth then Register made a mistake or if it is not then what should I do? How can I know that He bought that domain as an expired?
cyberorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 03:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 07:31 PM
iTrader: (392)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,625
DNF$: 4,991
Location: USA
Country:




Could you please tell us since when you've owned the domain?
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 03:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
DNF Newbie
 
cyberorg's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-29-2009 08:00 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
DNF$: 114
Location: CYPRUS


I' ve bought it from Snapnames on 8/24/2008 and transfer completed date was 8/25/2008 on Register.
cyberorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 03:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 07:31 PM
iTrader: (392)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,625
DNF$: 4,991
Location: USA
Country:




Looks correct. And yes, it was expiring in 2009. But all the time under your possession, the Technical contact has been "domainregistrar@register.com"

Somehow, it ended up in the hands of the other person. If you have a payment receipt from Snapnames and the transfer request payment to Register, that should help you to settle your case at Moniker.
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 03:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
DNF Newbie
 
cyberorg's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-29-2009 08:00 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
DNF$: 114
Location: CYPRUS


I have payment mail from snapnames and the payment made by my credit card. I did not pay to register anything, they never requested for it. I think snapnames arranged the payment for it to register.

I want to write some interesting information (I've just realized) on that subject.

Before I phone to register (to request the auth code) I received an email from register. It was about the domain transfer request (written below).

"Register.com received notification on 9/22/2008 that you have requested a transfer of manicman.com to another domain name registrar."

I thought that the message sent me because I started the transfer process on godaddy, then godaddy informed the register about transfer process. I thought, it was the reason of the mail I received from register. Because I did not know the exact process.

I called to register, they made some security things on phone for my identity. I asked my inquiry. 4 hours later, I have the auth code mail. I tried that code but it was invalid.

Now I realize that the mail I received from register means somebody enter the auth code and transfer process has just began. I did not know before, because there was nothing about it in the mail.

How Register made the transfer before I called and ask for the auth code?
That is interesting.

Last edited by cyberorg; 09-29-2008 at 04:40 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
cyberorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 03:25 AM   #11 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
domaingenius's Avatar
 
Last Online: 04-11-2009 07:28 AM
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,027
DNF$: 148
Location: United Kingdom
Country:


Register.com would sell their grandmothers if they could make money from them !!. It
never ceases to amaze me how scummy all these Registrars have become in their rush to auction off clients domain names. Where is ICANN in all this ?? Nowhere to be seen or heard and ICANN is totally and utterly useless organisation who just milk money
from people.

DG
domaingenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com