DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2008, 05:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Selling
 
BLazeD's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:26 PM
iTrader: (60)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,732
DNF$: 665
Location: New Zealand
Country:


Angry Help Me Nail a Scamming Designer

I am looking for advice in nailing a scammer. Basically the story is as follows:

In November last year I commissioned a desginer to create a WordPress theme for $800 and paid $400 deposit through Paypal. Work was slow and he was crap and eventually he stopped communicating some time in January.

By the time I realised he'd done a runner it was too late to make a complaint via Paypal (45 day period). I have emailed him numerous times since and tried calling him (phone was disconnected or off) to no avail.

The sites he runs are www.26bits.com and www.twentysixmedia.com - both of which now have whois privacy (and I neglected to copy down his details earlier stupidly!). His name is Chris Wilson and he is from Idaho though. He is also involved with www.cssrockstars.com.

Anyway, around March I gave up and wrote off the money, but now I am pissed off again and want to get it back.

In the last day or so I have discovered he is indeed still "designing" and is just starting up the www.twentysixmedia.com site, apparently as 26 Media LLC or Twenty Six Media LLC (I am from New Zealand and don't know how to check company details, or if it is even legit). I have further found out that apparently this is a 4 person operation.

That he would rip me off and then go on to continue designing and probably ripping other people off has pissed me off even more and I really want to nail this prick, as I said living in New Zealand makes it hard though.

Any ideas?
__________________

Parked.com - The Number One Parking Provider
Sedo No Reserve Madness - On Now!

Last edited by FuseFX; 05-06-2008 at 05:42 AM.. Reason: Active URLs removed on the request of the Original Poster
BLazeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 05-06-2008, 05:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 04:29 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,361
DNF$: 123
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

Please tell us he gave you an invoice showing you proof of payment and/or your own proof of payment (Paypal statements?).
draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 05:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Selling
 
BLazeD's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:26 PM
iTrader: (60)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,732
DNF$: 665
Location: New Zealand
Country:


Of course I have Paypal and email records
__________________

Parked.com - The Number One Parking Provider
Sedo No Reserve Madness - On Now!
BLazeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 05:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Kate
Last Online: 02-04-2009 03:05 AM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
DNF$: 975
Location: Ukraine
Country:


You can check historic WHOIS records for any domain at www.domaintools.com (former whois.sc):
http://whois.domaintools.com/26bits.com
http://domain-history.domaintools.co...lts#nsmessages

You can also use their Registrant Search service to get all domains owned by this person.

These services cost money, but you can get 10-day free Gold membership trial and this is enough to see historic WHOIS records.

Good luck nailing this scammer. They ruin trust and make life harder for honest people.
accomatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 05:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
DNF Addict
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-19-2009 09:03 AM
iTrader: (34)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,636
DNF$: 5,995
Location: Jaipur
Country:

Send a message via AIM to FuseFX Send a message via MSN to FuseFX Send a message via Yahoo to FuseFX Send a message via Skype™ to FuseFX

To avoid automatic parsing of the links, uncheck the "Automatically Parse Links in Post" when creating a thread.

Thanks
FuseFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 06:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
aZooZa's Avatar
 
Name: Dale Hubbard
Last Online: Today 04:18 PM
iTrader: (45)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,881
DNF$: 5,893
Location: Exeter, UK
Country:

Send a message via MSN to aZooZa Send a message via Skype™ to aZooZa

Last time this happened to me, I registered the domain [scammername]sucks.com. I threw up a phpBB forum and started threads which were relevant to this person and his scamming. Once you have done this, you can use the contact form at cssrockstars.com and advise them of the new addition to the internet. I think you'll find you get your money back rather quickly or the guy goes out of business. As was the case with my offender.

Just take care with the obvious issues of libel, and state the facts that you know and the questions to which you require answers. Use "in my opinion" when assassinating his character

No edit button?

Anyway, you can also email him at his whois privacy email address and see what he thinks about the idea.
__________________
UK Drop Catching Services: Dropsystem.co.uk
New! Canada TBR Drop Catching: Dropping.ca
New! QUALITY MiniSites: NOTsoMINI.com

Last edited by aZooZa; 05-06-2008 at 07:21 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
aZooZa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 09:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
you heard me..
 
tres's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-13-2009 05:44 PM
iTrader: (9)
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 429
DNF$: 4,838
Location: AcmeDomains.com
Country:


You might be able to contact the company through one of the websites and settle the matter to your satisfaction. Sometimes shit just happens. No excuse but given the chance most people will try to make it right. If not, you could call him out on their forum, cssmates.com. It appears he or one of his partners also have an account on talkfreelance.com also, found via google.
__________________
Acme Domains
tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 03:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Selling
 
BLazeD's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:26 PM
iTrader: (60)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,732
DNF$: 665
Location: New Zealand
Country:


Thank you for the tips guys, I will take them into consideration!

And ^^^ I tried contacting lots of times but my emails were ignored.

I also found out that he had done something similar to another person... after all this went down - argh!
__________________

Parked.com - The Number One Parking Provider
Sedo No Reserve Madness - On Now!

Last edited by BLazeD; 05-06-2008 at 03:25 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
BLazeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 04:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
IBN
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 01:31 AM
iTrader: (25)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 270
DNF$: 1,165
Location: U.S.A.
Country:


If you like you can help get your story indexed at SSCommerce.Com Go toward the bottom in the domain names, web designers scammers section...
__________________
Look Out
IBN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 02:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Selling
 
BLazeD's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:26 PM
iTrader: (60)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,732
DNF$: 665
Location: New Zealand
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by IBN View Post
If you like you can help get your story indexed at SSCommerce.Com Go toward the bottom in the domain names, web designers scammers section...
Not at this stage thanks
__________________

Parked.com - The Number One Parking Provider
Sedo No Reserve Madness - On Now!
BLazeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
fab
 
fab's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:37 PM
iTrader: (26)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,454
DNF$: 414
Location: Elad
Country:

Send a message via MSN to fab

Happened to me once, with even more money. Someone from India. So I really feel for you. I would suggest getting more details about him from a people find http://www.intelius.com/searching.php?ReportType=8& check, which costs about $50, and trying to find someone here from Idaho.

Do you know if he's over 18?
fab is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com