Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Help needed

  1. #1
    DNF Addict
    stuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    away
    Posts
    4,357
    DNF$
    6,874
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,874
    Donate  

    Help needed

    Hello

    I registere some days ago domain that is trademarked, I cheked today taht is two words name:

    Now today someone contacted me:
    "Dear_Sir(s)
    It_seems_you_have_registered_a_domain_name_that_in fringes_on_our_trade_mark_grime_eater
    We_will_begin_legal_action_unless_we_receive_your_ response.
    Without_Prejudice"

    I responded

    " I will ask my attorneys and asked what they wan`t to do"

    They respended:
    "
    Please_provide_
    domain_registrar
    usernsame_and_password_so_we_may_regain_control_of _domain_name
    Otherwise_our_legal_fee_to_you_will_be_$2000.00_US _for_infringement.
    Without_Prejudice"



    My question is, how will I know that this are the same people who own the trademark, they use aol.com free email service!
    And do I have to pay the fee $2000?
    Zero Accomplisher and .mobi millionaire

  2. #2
    TheBest.com
    GeorgeK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,264
    DNF$
    1,512
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,512
    Donate  
    There are a lot of scammers out there that will send out phony letters like that, to try to get names they lost on a drop.

    If they don't have a website, telephone number, or other simple facts in their email to legitimize their requests and prove identity, I'd delete it, or ask for which TM they have, etc.
    George Kirikos
    Home Page

  3. #3
    DNF Addict
    stuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    away
    Posts
    4,357
    DNF$
    6,874
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,874
    Donate  
    No they sent me

    "You_can_see_our_registered_trademark

    http://www.nameprotect.com/cgi-bin/F...il_id=74577709

    Your_reply_to_our_previus_email_must_reach_us_befo re_3:00_PM_Canadian_time,_otherwise_we_will_file_l egal_action"



    PS! The name is grimeeater.com
    What should I do?
    Last edited by stuff; 04-09-2003 at 01:07 PM.
    Zero Accomplisher and .mobi millionaire

  4. #4
    TheBest.com
    GeorgeK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,264
    DNF$
    1,512
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,512
    Donate  
    According to Overture, it seems to not get much traffic, and they do have a TM on it.......so probably not something worth fighting for. Perhaps ask to be reimbursed for your costs associated with the domain, and then forget about it?
    George Kirikos
    Home Page

  5. #5
    DNF Addict
    stuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    away
    Posts
    4,357
    DNF$
    6,874
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,874
    Donate  
    Originally posted by GeorgeK
    According to Overture, it seems to not get much traffic, and they do have a TM on it.......so probably not something worth fighting for. Perhaps ask to be reimbursed for your costs associated with the domain, and then forget about it?
    Yes I think also so, but how will I know that this is the same guy who has trademark?
    Zero Accomplisher and .mobi millionaire

  6. #6
    Philadelphia Lawyer
    jberryhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    3,020
    DNF$
    6,642
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,642
    Donate  
    Yeah, and you can see my website at www.yahoo.com, since I own Yahoo.

    Last week, I bought Microsoft, too. You can see that website at www.microsoft.com.

    "3 PM Canadian Time"? Ummm.... Canada spans several time zones. You are corresponding with an idiot.

    You have absolutely no idea with whom you are corresponding.
    John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
    John-AT-johnberryhill.com
    Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.

  7. #7
    TheBest.com
    GeorgeK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,264
    DNF$
    1,512
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,512
    Donate  
    Are they typing those emails with all those underscores, too? Very odd.
    George Kirikos
    Home Page

  8. #8
    DNF Addict
    stuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    away
    Posts
    4,357
    DNF$
    6,874
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,874
    Donate  
    Originally posted by GeorgeK
    Are they typing those emails with all those underscores, too? Very odd.
    No, Thats some kind error, if I copy from my mail program

    But I would not have any problem giving it back, if I would know thats the real trademark owner, I really don`t know what to do? But If they sue me, do I have to pay anything? If I will not defend myself, ?
    Zero Accomplisher and .mobi millionaire

  9. #9
    DNF Addict
    Zoobar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,857
    DNF$
    1,982
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,982
    Donate  
    Personally, I think they are full of shite.

    A real attorney knows he can't bill you for taking action against you.

    I don't understand why anyone would respond to anything "legal" that arrives by email.

  10. #10
    DNF Addict
    stuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    away
    Posts
    4,357
    DNF$
    6,874
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,874
    Donate  
    Originally posted by Zoobar
    Personally, I think they are full of shite.

    A real attorney knows he can't bill you for taking action against you.

    I don't understand why anyone would respond to anything "legal" that arrives by email.
    Ok, I think I will not replay to his email`s anymore, will see what happens.
    Zero Accomplisher and .mobi millionaire

  11. #11
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    71
    DNF$
    116
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    116
    Donate  
    The trademark is

    "GRIME EATER" not "GRIMEEATER"

    note the space....

    stuff are you Canadian as mark is registered in Canada....

  12. #12
    DNF Addict
    stuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    away
    Posts
    4,357
    DNF$
    6,874
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,874
    Donate  
    And it`S getting really weird, someone from another email contatced me

    "Att: Gunther. You have a domain name that was ours. Please email me in regards to selling it.


    Mel H...... "


    What? I don`t get it anymore,?
    Zero Accomplisher and .mobi millionaire

  13. #13
    DNF Addict
    stuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    away
    Posts
    4,357
    DNF$
    6,874
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    6,874
    Donate  
    Originally posted by doughhead

    stuff are you Canadian as mark is registered in Canada....
    No
    Zero Accomplisher and .mobi millionaire

  14. #14
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    756
    DNF$
    1,343
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,343
    Donate  
    Originally posted by doughhead
    The trademark is
    "GRIME EATER" not "GRIMEEATER"
    note the space....


    Time for a badly-needed pop quiz:

    The trademark having no space makes absolutely no difference, because:
    A) Space or no space, dash or no dash, it's still confusingly similar to the trademark.
    B) Domain names CAN'T HAVE SPACES so the lack of space is functionally equivalent to having a space.
    C) You can't reasonably parse GRIMEEATER into meaningful words or phrases that end up as anything but GRIME EATER.
    D) All of the above.

    stuff are you Canadian as mark is registered in Canada....

    Which also isn't all that important when it comes to domain name disputes by itself.

    Basically if I were "stuff" I'd ask what these people were willing to pay. If they want to talk trademarks I'd ask their lawyer to send a written notice to the address in the whois record with whatever real legal proof they have of a trademark and that they are the owners of the trademark, and calmly explain that any real lawyer would know that this is the only rational thing to do in a legitimate case. If someone isn't willing to do so, he obviously has no legal legs to stand on.
    Dan Norder
    Werewolves.com, Inklings.com, OtherWoman.com and more

  15. #15
    Registered User - Must Upgrade To Post
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    34
    DNF$
    143
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    143
    Donate  
    I'd say identical rather than Confusingly Similar

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com