

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Yesterday 08:29 PM iTrader: (1) Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 901
DNF$: 3,238 Location: Domain.Club.TW (Taiwan)
Country: | A hyphenated .net Infringement? I registered buy-it-now.net at July 2002, and today I received a Infringement letter from buyitnow.com as below. I do not use this domain for a living web but only use it for some of my email such as abc@buy-it-now.net, should I give it away to buyitnow.com? Do they have all the rights over anything contains buyitnow whatever? Thanks ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Hello We notice that you have this domain registered and are hosting it with two banners. BidChat Partners, L.L.C. ("BidChat") has recently acquired all ownership and goodwill rights associated with the federally registered trademark BUYITNOW® (Registration No. 2,281,435). The BUYITNOW® trademark has been commercially used since November 1997 in connection with on-line retail services in international class 35. The BUYITNOW® trademark, as you must appreciate, is of great value and importance to BidChat. The services offered at your web site make use of our BUYITNOW® trademark in connection with on-line retail services that are confusingly similar to the services offered at our web site (namely, www.buyitnow.com) relating to that for which the BUYITNOW® trademark has been commercially used since November 1997. Hence, the public is likely to be confused into believing that your company is affiliated with BidChat or that your services emanate from or are sponsored by BidChat. Furthermore, your unauthorized use of our BUYITNOW® trademark jeopardizes our ability to distinguish our services from the services of others. We are contacting you because BidChat prefers to resolve this matter without taking legal action and in a manner that does not interfere with the normal commerce of your business. Please be advised that while BidChat prefers to amicably resolve this matter, we will pursue any and all legal remedies available to us in view of your infringing activities regarding our BUYITNOW® trademark. We could take this matter before the courts and have the domain name transferred to us because it infringes our trademark. HOWEVER – We WISH TO RESOLVE THIS MATTER DIRECTLY and are therefore willing to make a small token payment to you in exchange for transferring the domain to us. Please let us know what you would be willing to accept so that we can avoid having to take legal action. Yours truly, ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________ MeaningfulURL.com meaningful URL redirection service |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict Last Online: 11-12-2009 08:18 AM iTrader: (11) Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 877
DNF$: 19,883 Location: Tokyo, Japan | I don't think that you should give it away. That is, I don't think that they can show your "bad faith" conduct. It might be better to remove banners on the site though. ![]() Good Luck! |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Yesterday 08:29 PM iTrader: (1) Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 901
DNF$: 3,238 Location: Domain.Club.TW (Taiwan)
Country: | Quote:
As the banners, I think most of the websites have banners, and the main page is "under construction" , I think I show nothing bad faith to their trademark nor business. And I want to see how buy-it-now.com going for this situation, I think buyitnow.com should take the same action on buy-it-now.com?
__________________ MeaningfulURL.com meaningful URL redirection service | |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) | |
| DNF Addict Last Online: 11-12-2009 08:18 AM iTrader: (11) Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 877
DNF$: 19,883 Location: Tokyo, Japan | Quote:
So, you and the owner of "buy-it-now.com" couldn't register these domains in bad faith because the registration dates of buy-it-now.* are earlier than this date. ![]() | |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Yesterday 08:29 PM iTrader: (1) Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 901
DNF$: 3,238 Location: Domain.Club.TW (Taiwan)
Country: | Quote:
__________________ MeaningfulURL.com meaningful URL redirection service | |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: 12-01-2005 11:02 PM iTrader: (0) Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 224
DNF$: 1,216 Location: Davie, Fl | Why would you use buy-it-now.net solely for your email? Do you have any development plans? If you have a legitimate business purpose for the domain, go forward with those plans and don't let them bully you into giving up the domain. On the other hand, if you have no real business plans, why even bother with this domain?
__________________ Howard Neu, Esq. |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Registered User - Must Upgrade To Post Last Online: 06-17-2003 09:02 PM iTrader: (0) Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 467
DNF$: 986 Location: Mexico | BuyItNow is a dotComBomb (check out FC). IIRC they have no assets left, apart from the TM, and I think what you're getting is a precursor of them attempting to sell the name to eBay (who have a TM on "buy it now"?? There was a similar thread to this one on ABestWeb recently. Was that you, or another buyitnow.* owner? Whoops... http://abw.infopop.cc/6/ubb.x?a=tpc&...9&m=6066078812 I tell a lie. It was someone who received a letter demanding they remove the eBay "butitnow" logos from their website. Chortle. |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Yesterday 08:29 PM iTrader: (1) Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 901
DNF$: 3,238 Location: Domain.Club.TW (Taiwan)
Country: | Quote:
![]()
__________________ MeaningfulURL.com meaningful URL redirection service | |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) | |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | Quote:
But this might be instructive in the continuing crusade to convince people that they might need to do some more homework before attempting to interpret things they find in the uspto.gov database. First of all, nobody registered "BuyItNow" on November 29, 2002. What you are seeing in *that*record is the *filing date* of an application for a stylized mark which is nowhere near being a registered trademark. The amazing thing is that you managed to entirely miss their earlier registered trademark for the words alone from September 1999, which recites use in commerce as early as 1997.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. | |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) | |
| DNF Addict Last Online: 11-12-2009 08:18 AM iTrader: (11) Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 877
DNF$: 19,883 Location: Tokyo, Japan | Quote:
Anyway, it looks that the owner of the domain "buyitnow.com" is different from the owner of the registered trademark "BUYITNOW". | |
| | |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | Changes in ownership data of registered trademarks is not updated on a continuous basis, and usually only enters the database at renewal time. I guess my question here is what makes you think you know the owner of the registered trademark? It may, or may not, be the party identified in the database at the time the mark was registered. The USPTO posts some very good information on what goes into the database, and what does not go into the database. That would be a good starting point for learning what conclusions may or may not be made on the basis of things that are found there. But getting back to the "how do you know the owner" question, you might chew on that a bit more. It is even easier to write completely bogus c&d letters than it is to file a bogus UDRP complaint, pretending to be the owner of some actual registered mark.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) | |
| DNF Addict Last Online: 11-12-2009 08:18 AM iTrader: (11) Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 877
DNF$: 19,883 Location: Tokyo, Japan | Quote:
![]() Thank you for the correction. Is there any better resource of searching trademarks ? Finally, I found the owner of "BuyItNow.com" was having the domain "CitySurf.com", CitySurf is stated as the registrant of "BuyItNow". Anyway, I believe that yesonline still can use "buy-it-now.net" unless violating their legal rights. ![]() | |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| Philadelphia Lawyer | "Is there any better resource of searching trademarks ?" That depends on what you mean by "better". I mean, I can dig a hole in the ground, look at a bunch of rocks and bones, and say, "There's a bunch of rocks and bones in that hole." But if a paleontologist or a geologist were looking in the same hole, I bet their interpretation of what is there would be more than "a bunch of rocks and bones". It's not as if the hole is any different, but geologists and paleontologists are used to looking at rocks and bones, and have learned a whole lot more about rocks and bones that I know, or care to know. But when faced with a situation in which I want to know something about a bunch of rocks and bones in a hole, then I would probably consult someone who knows something about it, rather than go looking for a more informative hole. In all probability, any other hole is still going to look like "a bunch of rocks and bones" to me.
__________________ John Berryhill Ph.d., esq. John-AT-johnberryhill.com Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly. |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |